Today $659.99
Free Shipping*
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Broan Elite 30-inch Chimney Wall Hood

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • A bit loud and burns up lights
    Reviewed at http://www.broan.com/

    This unit is a bit loud and repeatedly burns out the same light bulb!

    Read More
    EofVa April 6, 2017
  • Grossly overpriced for what you get
    Reviewed at http://www.broan.com/

    The chimney is flimsy, not well made at all. The fan is so horribly loud that you cannot hear someone in the kitchen. Each of settings sound exactly the same! The performance of the fan does not redeem itself either -- it's unimpressive. My Viking hood was far superior in performance. The light has only 1 setting which is disappointing considering how much this hood cost.

    Read More
    KimPatt April 6, 2017
  • Not fun to install!
    Verified Purchase

    Love the look, but we scratched the stainless trying to complete the vent-less install with a 9 foot ceiling. Took about 4 hours to get in!

    Read More
    akk November 4, 2015
  • smoke removal poor
    Reviewed at http://www.broan.com/

    It is rated to sufficiently remove smoke in my size kitchen w/my size cook top, but it DOESN'T. It doesn't matter if I am cooking a grilled cheese sandwich or a steak, the smoke alarm is going to go off and NOT because I burned something. VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!

    Read More
    Jan2QR February 6, 2015
  • looks and works fine once installed
    Verified Purchase

    it does look good . Quiet with a good fan. It is package poorly for shipment. I had some damage but not enough to return. Instructions for assemble are also poor. If it were packaged properly with better instructions I would recommend

    Read More
    don##@ January 2, 2015
  • This product has great features, and looks great too
    Reviewed at http://www.broan.com/

    We selected this fan to remove cooking odors before they spread throughout the house. I'd had enough of under performing fans that did nothing but make noise. This unit works very well. The design and appearance were also important in our choice. The highest setting can be noisy, but doesn't have to be on very long, as the fan works very well.

    Read More
    LmMS October 25, 2014
  • Great Product
    Reviewed at http://www.broan.com/

    The Broan hood fit our needs exactly! Great price, appearance and function!

    Read More
    BobS October 24, 2014
  • Very nice
    Verified Purchase

    So pretty in my kitchen. Very stylish and stream lined. Not boxy or bulky looking like most of the stainless hoods I've seen. Easy to put in. Good powerful air pull at all 3 settings. Some other reviews complained about it being loud. I don't think its any louder than any other vent hood I've used, actually probably quieter than my old hood. I love it. And the price was great.

    Read More
    =) happy at home October 4, 2014
  • Looks great in photos; cheaply made and inconsistent operation
    Reviewed at http://www.broan.com/

    We built a home to replace the one that burned down in 2011. I'd seen such hoods in other homes and asked my local appliance store for a recommendation. This is the one they recommended and sold to me. First, the contractor installed it incorrectly because of poor instructions. Then the appliance store technician took over and bent the flimsy chimney during assembly. So he ordered another and it was bent in the box. Finally, he installed the fourth unit. At about a year old, one light cover fell out into food I was cooking. Then that light began to flicker and act as if it had a short. When it quit working all together, the other light began the same process. Now I have no lights. It seems impossible to extract the light housing in order to replace it. The fan does only an average job of ridding the area of smoke and grease. Cleaning the flue is always risky because it feels as if it will dent or fall apart at any moment. I regret buying this and installing it in my "dream home" every day.

    Read More
    BarbaraSJ June 3, 2014
  • Looks good but….
    Reviewed at http://www.broan.com/

    My remodeling business specializes in kitchens. So we frequently install all types and qualities of range hoods. I rarely take time to write reviews, but I wasted so much time installing this hood for my customer, I figured why not invest some more time warning the next guy. 1. The instructions were full of all the usual warnings but very much lacking in useful advice to explain the intended methods of installation. 2. The design of the telescopic chimney was okay but something went wrong. It appears that the inner section should be just a little smaller than the outer section it slides inside of. This one was much smaller which caused gaps. It also appears that the inner section can only be held in place, within the outer section if the return legs on the back are trapped inside the return leg of the outer section. On this unit, there was a 3/8� difference so the two sections did not stay in alignment. I added blocks to the inner section to keep them in alignment. 3. The mounting bracket for the top of the chimney is flimsy and not at all forgiving of the inevitable imperfections of any drywall wall/ceiling corner. It includes a very poor description of how to assemble the 3-piece bracket and gives no dimension. Why? 4. Blocking requirements are not explained well in the information available on the website. Even if we had had the hood and instructions before drywall went in, understanding the blocking requirements would have been problematic. 5. Blocking should be called out for the lower set of holes as the position is fixed and thereby not suited to accommodate actual stud locations. 6. The attachment holes that do the bulk of the work are stamped (countersunk) to accept flat head screws but the instructions call out the provided pan head screws. Seems to me the best design would be flat holes and truss head screws so the final position and level can be tweaked before the protruding sheet metal holes bite into the wallboard. 7. And, as with EVERY manufacturer, the duct connection is ridiculous. How do you “Tape� metal duct to a hub that’s 5/8� long? Do these people EVER actually install anything? Put a shoulder and a tape hub on it so an installer can actually do as you ask. 8. The switches are crude and the switch plate slides every time you try to change speeds.

    Read More
    Bill55 April 5, 2014
  • Looks good but….
    Reviewed at http://www.broan.com/

    My remodeling business specializes in kitchens. So we frequently install all types and qualities of range hoods. I rarely take time to write reviews, but I wasted so much time installing this hood for my customer, I figured why not invest some more time warning the next guy. 1. The instructions were full of all the usual warnings but very much lacking in useful advice to explain the intended methods of installation. 2. The design of the telescopic chimney was okay but something went wrong. It appears that the inner section should be just a little smaller than the outer section it slides inside of. This one was much smaller which caused gaps. It also appears that the inner section can only be held in place, within the outer section if the return legs on the back are trapped inside the return leg of the outer section. On this unit, there was a 3/8" difference so the two sections did not stay in alignment. I added blocks to the inner section to keep them in alignment. 3. The mounting bracket for the top of the chimney is flimsy and not at all forgiving of the inevitable imperfections of any drywall wall/ceiling corner. It includes a very poor description of how to assemble the 3-piece bracket and gives no dimension. Why? 4. Blocking requirements are not explained well in the information available on the website. Even if we had had the hood and instructions before drywall went in, understanding the blocking requirements would have been problematic. 5. Blocking should be called out for the lower set of holes as the position is fixed and thereby not suited to accommodate actual stud locations. 6. The attachment holes that do the bulk of the work are stamped (countersunk) to accept flat head screws but the instructions call out the provided pan head screws. Seems to me the best design would be flat holes and truss head screws so the final position and level can be tweaked before the protruding sheet metal holes bite into the wallboard. 7. And, as with EVERY manufacturer, the duct connection is ridiculous. How do you "Tape" metal duct to a hub that's 5/8" long? Do these people EVER actually install anything? Put a shoulder and a tape hub on it so an installer can actually do as you ask. 8. The switches are crude and the switch plate slides every time you try to change speeds.

    Read More
    Bill55 April 5, 2014
  • It is elegant, quiet and powerful!
    Reviewed at http://www.broan.com/

    I bought this exhaust fan and installed it in my new kitchen in October. I love it! I cook every night and my house has no food smells when kitchen is clean. You wouldn't know it was on so it is nice to have conversations with quests while they sit in my kitchen. Light is bright over the stove and filters go right in the dishwasher to clean. I highly recommend it!

    Read More
    Marie98 March 10, 2014
  • Fantastic
    Reviewed at http://www.broan.com/

    We could not have made a better choice. It fits perfectly in our kitchen, and does exactly what we wanted it to do.

    Read More
    Dave52 August 21, 2013
  • Beautiful and works very well!
    Reviewed at http://www.broan.com/

    I love this vent hood; it completed the look of my kitchen and we also vented to the outside so it does a fantastic job of removing odors and smoke. The service from Broan was excellent - there was a small scratch on the stainless flu when it arrived and a replacement piece was sent immediately.

    Read More
    Beth April 3, 2013
  • Love this hood
    Verified Purchase

    I saved almost $200 by buying this hood on Overstock. I love this hood. It has a very strong fan with 3 speeds. The light only has 1 setting which is bright (no night light setting), so just be aware of that. Also, when mounting this, if you vent into the wall, make your vent higher than you may need. The chase goes up pretty high which will cover the venting. If you put it too low, it will limit how high you can mount it above your stove. Again, just something to be aware of. I am very happy with this hood.

    Read More
    julielt March 13, 2013
  • An excellent hood at excellent value
    Reviewed at http://www.broan.com/

    My contractor recommended this hood when I remodeled the kitchen. He installed it. It looks beautiful, has great power in removing smoke and odors, and has great features, like a light over the range.

    Read More
    Bonnie February 27, 2013
  • A beautiful contemporary complement to my kitchen!
    Reviewed at http://www.broan.com/

    This unit looks sleek and clean in my kitchen. I love it. It is quiet when in use...especially when cooking steaks, I like them well done!

    Read More
    Carol22 February 20, 2013
  • Looks Great
    Verified Purchase

    Remodeled the kitchen and order this hood fan 6 weeks prior to the install. All parts were in shipping. We have 9 ft. ceilings and the fan is for 8 or 9ft. However, the instructions state to put the vents down when installing for 9ft. The problem with that is the vents will show halfway in the middle of the stack vertically. So, we placed the vents on the other end to accommodate the height, since if we would have done it the other way, it would have shown the vents only partially and in the middle. We did call Broans' technical support to ask a question about the installation, and they were great. It looks great and only we know the vents are suppose to be hidden. Our recommendation is that if you don't want the side vents to show, order extra stainless steel for the venting for 9 ft. ceiling height. We direct vented the hood outside the wall so technically the side vents were suppose to be hidden. Looks great, and for the price vs. higher end, it was worth it.

    Read More
    scarletgray4ever May 30, 2011
  • OK for the money
    Verified Purchase

    Vent came bended and it made it look off-sided when installed. Fortunately we were able to fix that without having to send it back. Vent is a little loud in all settings but it works fine. Love the lighting, it makes cooking more joyful to me.

    Read More
    alexa07 September 18, 2009
  • good looks, performance
    Verified Purchase

    An eye catcher in our kitchen renovation, so far this hood works as promised. I read in CR that 370cfm was average and with only one elbow in the vent to outside it does the job well.Fan and some motor parts are plastic, though. but I didn't spend $1-2k on it either.

    Read More
    zgman July 15, 2009