Free Shipping* & 5% Rewards On Every Order* With Club O
Today $262.29
Out of Stock
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Bombe Antiqued Espresso Chest

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Looks nice
    Verified Purchase

    Hav this in my entryway so it is not used often to store things but the drawers seem to open fairly smoothly. It looks very nice and have been very happy with my purchase esp for the price

    Read More
    Margaret D. June 25, 2017
  • perfect fit for small entry hall
    Verified Purchase

    The chest was packed well and arrived in good conditions. It did not take long to assemble, helps to have 2 people to do the leg installation.

    Read More
    janyota June 10, 2013
  • Pleasant surprise!
    Verified Purchase

    After reading some of the reviews and looking at the online pic, I bought paint and stencils before my 2 nightstands arrived because I thought the finish was not going to be high quality. While not the densest wood, I am very happy with the quality based upon the $236 that I paid (they were on sale for 10% plus I had a 10% coupon). The drawers do not glide very easily and I had to balance one of the nightstands with an extra leg pad. But, I don't see this being an issue based upon the price that I paid for them. I paid twice this amount for a nightstand from a high end store 5 years ago and had the same problems. And, I'm not even going to have to paint them because the finish is actually pretty nice. It is mildly distressed with a glossy, mahogany finish. If I were rating the quality along, I'd give it 4 stars. But, I give it 5 stars based upon the quality at the price I paid. I would have rated it 4 stars if I'd pay over $300. I've been shopping for nightstands for over a year and you won't find this style at this price and quality.

    Read More
    credence4444 June 7, 2013
  • Loved the chest
    Verified Purchase

    the chest was grate for the six hours that I hade it . Latrer that evening my house burned and we lost everything

    Read More
    sottile63 November 30, 2012
  • Bombe Antiqued Espresso Chest
    Verified Purchase

    I like the looks of this chest - the drawers have wide spaces around them so that you can see light around them. I use it for my TV and it serves its purpose. I will say that it was packed very well although I had some mars on the top.

    Read More
    jazzysenior August 27, 2012
  • Pretty Piece Overall
    Verified Purchase

    I do love this piece of furniture and had it not been for the damage condition it arrived in (which sounds like a common problem) I would have give this 5 stars. The gaps in the drawer openings do not bother me as much and the size of the drawers were small but not an issue as I was using this as a decorative piece. Overstock customer service was top notch and gave me a small adjustment since I still wanted to keep it. My damage was on the back and side and can easily be hidden. I would overall recommend this piece of furniture since it is comparatively cheaper than the similar piece at pottery barn and crate and barrel.

    Read More
    deb7211 August 10, 2012
  • Disappointed.
    Verified Purchase

    Overstock easily accepted a full return (free shipping) of this item due to the scratch. The piece was packaged extremely well, so it was not a matter of shipping error. If the top would not have been noticeably, I may have considered keeping it. Once looking at the overall piece, I was not happy with the quality of the drawers and the gaps around them. Although similar chests are twice as much from high end furniture stores, I would rather pay more and receive a better quality product.

    Read More
    kbogart June 20, 2012
  • decent quallity and nice looking
    Verified Purchase

    This is a nice looking chest. Some parts are solid wood. We were disappointed by the small size of the drawers. This chest looks good, but it doesn't store a lot. It is good as a decorative piece.

    Read More
    kkelly5 April 23, 2012
  • this chest is perfect as my bedside table
    Verified Purchase

    very happy with the bombe chest. when i received the chest, i loved it so much i ordered a 2nd one.

    Read More
    linda0321 March 5, 2012
  • just perfect
    Verified Purchase

    Having bought furniture before at other sites with disastrous results, I was holding my breath when I ordered the Bombay chest from Overstock. I was therefore very pleasantly surprised when the chest arrived in perfect condition due to the careful way it had been packed. The chest itself rivals an almost - if not - identical Bombay chest which I saw on Pottery Barn's site (which I passed on due to the price - double O's). The chest arrived when they said it would and only the legs had to be attached. So easy! Great quality! I would not hesitate to order from Overstock again.

    Read More
    ermabebi March 2, 2012
  • The good the bad and the not so ugly
    Verified Purchase

    This is a great piece for a small entry way or as a nightstand next to a bed. One of the large popular specialty decor chain stores sells this exact same piece, absolutely identical to this, in three finishes (black, red and green) but it's $599!! I wanted the one from the specialty store but couldn't afford it so when I saw this I snapped it up. APPEARANCE: When I received the piece it was darker in color than expected. It was not as light as a chestnut brown, as the picture appeared to me. It might have just been my browser/computer settings. Nonetheless, when it arrived it was what I would describe as a mahogany brown. Not as deep as a blackish espresso brown... just a nice rich medium-dark brown. The finish was even and clean. QUALITY: It's made in China so temper your expectations. The piece is petite and light. When handling it, handle with care. Don't use in a space where it will be bumped around a lot. It's decorative. In my house it's in an entry way holding keys and driving gloves...and a house plant. When I received it, there were lots of loose small pieces of splintered wood inside with the packaging from the inside structure of the piece including the corner blocks for the legs and the back block intended to stabilize the drawer track. Rather than return it (ugh!), I fixed the issue with the drawer track with a small l bracket. None of the damage affected the appearance. It did affect the function but I was able to fix the issue myself with a screw and a drill. VALUE: Well, I'm glad I didn't pay $600 dollars for this exact same piece from the expense chain interior decor store. I'll keep it and enjoy it. I might recommend it as a great for now piece if you're not a budget but definitely not a long-term investment piece. If you're someone who likes to change your decor around a lot and you swap things in and out all the time, I say go for it. If you're expecting this to last 15 years...save your money and buy something that might cost more but last you longer.

    Read More
    lauranova March 1, 2012
  • Great FInd
    Verified Purchase

    This is a beautiful chest and a great value. I found almost an exact match of this chest at another site for double the price. The drawers don't glide but it adds to the design. The only assembly required are the legs and the drawer handles.

    Read More
    dsemi1 January 30, 2012
  • Great nighstand
    Verified Purchase

    I got this nightstand in quite quickly and my husband was able to assemble it within about a 1/2 hour. It's not a heavy wood and the creation of the piece isn't the most fantastic quality - HOWEVER the look of it is just fantastic. If you want a nice end table, entrance table, or oversized nighstand - this is perfect. It's got a great color and the curves are very very elegant. The drawers are slim, so you can't fit much, but the piece looks just fantastic with an nice lamp on it.

    Read More
    dallasdesign November 29, 2011
  • its nice.
    Verified Purchase

    i think its great. i put it together before my husband came home from work. took me about 45 minutes because i have two small kids that wanted to help! only complaint is the handle broke and i dont know where to get another one. :o/

    Read More
    isbisi October 20, 2011
  • Drawer fronts did not line up with chest.
    Verified Purchase

    the cuts were off on the top of the chest and the drawer faces were short and therefore you could see the wall behind the chest. not happy at all. Too bad, becauae I love ordering from O.com. It is put together and to disassemble it and pack it and pay to have it returned is not happening. it will make me think long and hard before i order furniture like this again. so sad :(

    Read More
    grammasp October 7, 2011
  • Pretty, but flawed
    Verified Purchase

    I am returning this product because the top drawer sticks and requires a major tug to get back out.

    Read More
    shoppinggirl98 September 7, 2011
  • Customer Service Saves the Day
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased two of these chests in June since they were priced so much lower than ***. I recently noticed that the top of one of the chests was starting to crack across the top and there is nothing heavy on top. I was pretty upset, but I chatted with customer service (Stacy M.) and she was great. She is sending me a new one and made the return process very easy. This could have been a disaster, but Stacy M. saved the day. Thanks Stacy M.

    Read More
    dave123456 August 9, 2011
  • Bombe chest
    Verified Purchase

    Simple lines but a little different shape than every other chest makes this a great piece of furniture. It is big enough to be noticed but small enough to fit in a variety of settings. I actually had one place in mind when I purchased this piece but now that it is in my home I have found a few different rooms and locations that it could find a home. I am glad I purchased this chest and highly recommend it to others.

    Read More
    lmazz August 4, 2011
  • Beautiful Chest!
    Verified Purchase

    I love this chest and so does everyone who has come to see it! It is a true espresso color, elegant style, and has nice pulls. Definitely worth the money!

    Read More
    decorator74 July 29, 2011
Sponsored Links