Today: $157.49
Free Shipping
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Black 5-tier 2-piece Leaning Ladder Shelf with Laptop Desk Set

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Ok, serves its purpose
    Verified Purchase

    Doesn't look that great, seems kinda flimsy but will actually hold quite a bit of weight

    Read More
    Shane M. April 4, 2017
  • Apparent product defect takes away from its style
    Verified Purchase

    I bought the 3-piece version of this back in 2011 and loved it. Tossed it while moving and wanted it again for a new apartment a few years later. This time I purchased this 2-piece version, and expected something similar to what I previously owned. Here's the problem: the top two shelves of the 5-shelf piece and the laptop-desk/shelf piece are not level, as depicted in the pictures. Obviously the manufacturer drilled the holes where you bolt in the shelves during assembly in the wrong place on the supporting 'ladder' pieces: either too high on the laptop piece or too low on the 5-shelf piece. This wasn't a fluke for me, either, as Overstock sent out a replacement 5-shelf piece and it was the same issue all over again. I have to say, it really takes away from the aesthetic. Having displayed the 3-piece shelf in my living room for a number of pieces, I still really liked how it looked. What I ended up doing was ordering standalone laptop shelf and placing it adjacent to another laptop shelf and taking my two 5-tier pieces and placing those adjacent to one another. At least that way, the two different shelves are flush.

    Read More
    Masoud Shafaee May 19, 2016
  • desk
    Verified Purchase

    this desk is great but.... one of the top shelves is kind of tilted.

    Read More
    Michelle S. February 3, 2016
  • As Expected
    Verified Purchase

    Nothing special. Does it's job.

    Read More
    Aric W. January 11, 2016
  • rickety
    Verified Purchase

    I wouldn't feel comfortable putting a book on the desk, let alone a laptop or writing on it. I'm pretty sure it would break.

    Read More
    revlala June 13, 2013
  • Good but sent broken
    Verified Purchase

    Nice not as sturdy as i thought it was going to be.

    Read More
    dahan421 April 30, 2013
  • Shelves not sturdy, screw hole missing.
    Verified Purchase

    One screw hole that was necessary for the product's assembly was not even there, making a top shelf impossible to install (without having to drill a hole myself). The glue provided was completely dried up & therefore could not be used. The desk itself is wobbly, the shelves are very loose & they do not sit firmly. The picture on the site is very deceiving, and it should be emphasized that the desk is two separate pieces that DO NOT connect/interlock. Also in the photo, the top two shelves of each piece are at the same height, but after installing & realizing the wobbliness & lack of stability in the desk, they do not sit at the same height. Also the supporting beams from the two separate pieces that are in contact with one another in the picture do not match up & sit evenly beside each other.

    Read More
    noochi March 29, 2013
  • Ladder bookcase and laptop desk
    Verified Purchase

    I am very happy with the appearance of my shelves. They seem structurally sound. And are a functional and attractive addition to my home.

    Read More
    chris6709 January 23, 2013
  • Great shelf for the money!
    Verified Purchase

    For the money, this is an excellent purchase. I have a 21.5" iMac on the laptop shelf and many books/other items on the other shelves. Though it will wobble side-to-side if you nudge it on purpose, it is absolutely sturdy enough for all practical purposes and isn't going anywhere. I have the shelves on hardwood floors -- to further prevent any sliding or shifting, I slipped a tiny piece of area rug padding under each leg of the shelf. This wasn't really necessary, but makes me feel better about having my computer on the shelf. Would highly recommend this to others, especially in comparison to more expensive options at other stores. Set-up was easy and I was able to assemble the shelves quickly by myself.

    Read More
    hannahk111 August 8, 2012
  • Looks great but a little wobbly
    Verified Purchase

    Pros: - Easy to set up - Stylish - Cheaper in price than Container Store, Crate and Barrel, BBB, etc - 5 tier shelf has a 3rd leg for support Cons: - Does not feel sturdy...some of the shelves wobble a little. - One of the t-nut that attaches the frame to the shelf does not work. Home Depot doesn't carry them. Hard to find. - Only the 5 tier shelve comes with wall mounting hardware to prevent shelf from tumbling over. The desk one does not. Overall, I am pleased with my purchase. While I am scared to put anything TOO heavy on the shelves, I believe other alternatives are the same in quality.

    Read More
    ninjamyst April 28, 2012
  • positive review and very satisfied
    Verified Purchase

    Affordable, functional and easy to wipe clean, suited my needs exactly and much less money than traditional display shelving and easier to view items

    Read More
    rebeckie7 April 5, 2012
  • Nice sleek shelving with the computer space
    Verified Purchase

    This shelving unit is awesome and can really be used even if you don't want to use the larger shelve for a computer. The only thing I would say is be sure to glue the screw holes before putting the screws in it will make everything much more stable otherwise the shelves want to move a little back and forth. The glue that was sent with our unit was dried up but we had some wood glue around and it worked perfect, however in comparison anything would of been better.

    Read More
    kasteidl March 17, 2012
  • Overall, pleased.
    Verified Purchase

    I am very happy with my purchase. I first saw this model at the Container Store for a LOT more money. And then at Crate & Barrel for even more money. I shopped around for a while (including Amazon.com) and finally gave in to this Overstock.com model. The price (which ended up being **** for both pieces including shipping) was unbeatable. It arrived quickly and in great shape. Even though it says it takes 2 people to build, I took my time and built it myself and was happy with the result. ONE complaint: There was one screw and one bolt thing that I guess are defect so one of the screws for the bookshelf is sticking out. I tried every possible way to fix it and it just - is a defect. You cannot see it because of where it is placed in my room but - I know it is there. This would have gotten 5 stars if that defect piece wasn't an issue. I have not bolted either the desk or the shelf into the wall and so far it has been sturdy. Fit my Macbook Pro on the desk with speakers on the upper shelf and my printer is on the bottom shelf of the bookcase and other misc. things.

    Read More
    mmittler December 15, 2011
  • Sturdy and Easy to put Together
    Verified Purchase

    Very easy to put together. Looks great and sturdy construction. Was missing a bolt, but working with O.com to send out a replacement. Glue was kinda hard to use because it was a little mini tub. Overall great and exactly what I wanted and expected!

    Read More
    kleppy November 24, 2011
  • Great for price
    Verified Purchase

    These leaning shelves are sold at Container Store or Crate & Barrel for more than you'd buy them here. What annoyed me was not that they were more expensive elsewhere, but that they're always sold in NOT BLACK colors, ie white, Espresso, grey. Does anyone make anything just IN BLACK? Overstock was the only place where I found these shelves in just plain black, which matched my decor perfectly.

    Read More
    filipinegro November 10, 2011
  • Good Product!
    Verified Purchase

    This shelf is exactly what I expected it to be. The assembly of each shelf took me about thirty minutes which isn't too bad. It would have been a lot easier and faster to assemble the shelves if I had someone help me. The quality is fair for the price. I have a very small room and they fit great in my small space and add more style than regular shelves! I am happy with this purchase!

    Read More
    lcvbrgr October 3, 2011
  • Love it!
    Verified Purchase

    I love these shelves/desk! They are a great product for a great price. My only issued was that I wish the side long pieces were single pieces instead of 2 pieces attached in the middle. I was concerned that these pieces might not be sturdy; however, they are plenty sturdy for what they are intended for. Overall, I am very happy with my purchase and would recommend it to a friend.

    Read More
    maura6 September 14, 2011
  • NICE Piece!
    Verified Purchase

    Surprisingly Perfect... as nice as the "big name brand" one I almost bought for twice as much!

    Read More
    osovain April 1, 2011
  • Pretty good desk
    Verified Purchase

    Pretty good desk, great value. I saw the same desk and set-up at *****- each piece was sold separately - $129 each!! However, the desk pad on the Overstock model is a little small (won't quite hold a standard desk calendar).

    Read More
    drktel February 14, 2011
  • Great!
    Verified Purchase

    Great for apartment living! Love this desk and bookshelf.

    Read More
    kaceecape January 25, 2011
Sponsored Links