Today: $495.99
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Bello Walnut Cherry 7-drawer Chest

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews.

  • Good furniture - challenging build
    Verified Purchase

    Very sturdy, good-looking furniture. Definitely a good value dresser that presents a lot of room for clothing, large blankets/quilts, and photo frames on top. However, it was difficult to build (and I have a great deal of experience building this type of furniture and following close attention to instructions). I question the NY reviewer who stated that it took her husband two hours to complete this build. First, this furniture assembly requires two people -- there is no way that one person can properly assemble this. You need an extra set of hands for certain parts of the build (e.g., flipping the furniture from its side after attaching the inner framework together). Second, there is no way this can be properly built in two hours. It took me a minimum of 20 minutes per drawer (assembling the drawers, rails, handle, etc.). Therefore, putting the drawers together (seven in all) took over two hours. Finally, take note of the following assembly tips -- do NOT mix up screws labelled 2 and 3 (they appear similar but are of different lengths). The shorter screws labelled '2' are for the interior rails. Second, be careful assembling the outer rails on sides B and C. The illustration on the instructions are not very clear, and it is easy to screw the outer rails in the wrong direction. Just remember that the front of side C is on the right and side B on the left. All in all, this furniture is a great deal, but do not buy this if you do not have the patience or room to put together a hefty piece of furniture (weighs approx. 150+lbs) that will take 3 to 6 hours to build.

    Read More
    rockbuyer December 25, 2006
  • Love it!
    Verified Purchase

    I would not have purchased this without all the other reviews, so here's my two cents... This is a somewhat heavy piece of furniture that is good looking once assembled. The color is a deep, rich brown like a dark walnut. It blends beautifully with some darker chocolate colored furniture I have. The dresser was shipped via UPS ground in 3 boxes which were packed well- no dings at all. There are many pieces (mostly drawer parts) and it IS time consuming to put together. The instructions are well written and all parts are labeled. If you take your time and approach it in an organized manner it should not be a problem. The only tools I used were a heavy-duty cordless screwdriver, a large flathead screwdriver (to tighten the camlocks), and a hammer (softened with a baseball as I didn't have a rubber mallet). As another reviewer pointed out, the inside of the drawers are particle board or something similar, as well as the back. Even so, I think this piece is well worth the price even considering the assembly time. I usually use fabric drawer liners anyway for sweaters and socks, so no big deal to me. This dresser is taller than any other I've had in the past, but that works in my favor. I like this piece so much that I plan to order another soon... it does not look like the typical do-it-yourself furniture.

    Read More
    bluemermaid January 17, 2007
  • Nice but impossible
    Verified Purchase

    We ordered two of these dressers and 2 nightstands about 3 months ago and still haven't put the last piece together yet. The first 3 took over 6 days to find the time to build. 3 hours here, 4 hours there, all day one Saturday. There are hundreds and hundreds of pieces. I don't know when we will find the time to finish the second dresser! It looks very nice. We used the wrong screws in some places and the drawers get stuck. It's our fault but it's VERY confusing. Especially the diagrams on which way the drawer sliders attach. Good luck!

    Read More
    tpants February 4, 2011
  • Bella Beautiful with a slight flaw
    Verified Purchase

    Yes, I must admit, while standing at a distance this Bella chest/dresser is a Beauty. Solid wood construction, predrilled holes (which one may have to reconsider... was an 1/8 " off on one drawer), precision assembling... if you read and follow directions step by step it may take up to 4 hours of your time. Take a break in between, have a cup of coffee, a cig, or a snack. Try bringing a friend over to help out. The sucker is heavy duty, but slides easily on hard wood floors. Deep drawers x4 and nice size smaller drawers x3 for linens, T's, etc. I am a plus size gal... so my plus size sweaters fit wonderfully in this generous sized chest of drawers. The width is a perfect fit in the sitting/dressing room. Yeppers, the guy who said it would work in a dinning room was right. It would look perfect in a dinning room. The style is just a conservative, traditional, basic style, which goes with a number of furnishings. I paid a friend of mine to put this together for me. He understood how to get the 1/8 off centered drawer to work. Now it slides wonderfully. I fold clothes in a militant fashion... very organized... and I was able to get 15 tanks, and 10 camisoles in one small drawer, then I was able to fold 7 plus size hooded acrylic sweaters in a larger drawer. The only reason I give this a 4 overall rating was because buying from overstock I find there products are flawed in almost everything I purchase. I expect it actually. This is the reason for discontinued items and mark downs. I have enjoyed my purchases tho. I like to save money and instead of buying a similiar product (chest) for almost 2000 dollars I opted for this one. GLAD I DID!! The same was when I purchased a bed and mattress set. A little flaw, no problem to solve. I love those pieces too. The camera tho... no flaw at all. If you love beauty with a small price tag, and have patience... GO FOR IT!

    Read More
    Anonymous January 30, 2008
  • Inferior Quality Wood
    Verified Purchase

    The difficulty in assembling this chest of drawers was that some of the pieces were warped, some of the dowel posts were too big or too long for the pre-drilled holes, some of the pieces of wood actually had cracks in them. I really struggled to assemble them -- I bought two to put side by side -- and unfortunately there was no way I could make the pieces fit snuggly together, no matter how hard I pounded with a rubber mallet. As a result the top of the chest does not rest flat on on the rest of the chest. Fortunately the drawers still slide in. I was too exhausted to take it apart and send it back for a refund. It was a great looking chest in the picture, perfect size, but in reality a big disappointment.

    Read More
    Anonymous December 17, 2007
  • Shoddiest construction in the whole collection
    Verified Purchase

    I have been a big fan of the Bello collection ever since I found it on Overstock. I've purchased several items in the collection over the years, including two nightstands and the tall 6-drawer chest. We needed more storage space and I looked to the 7-drawer dresser to round things out.The pieces are delivered in three separate boxes, with all items packed well. Assembly is much like the other pieces in the collection. Instructions are pretty good, although labeling of the drawer runners would make things easier. The sides and supports are thick, and the drawer bottoms and dresser back are sturdy, which makes for a solid-looking piece of furniture.Unfortunately, we had a lot of problems with assembling this particular piece of furniture. We ran out of screws to hold the drawer runners in place, something that has never happened with any item I've received from Overstock. The drawer handles aren't drilled deeply enough to accept the screws, so they are loose, and one of the handles isn't drilled at all, so we need a replacement.I could chalk it up to a lemon in the bunch; however, I also recently received another piece of very shoddy furniture to assemble, so my positive experience with Overstock is starting to sour. I hope that this trend does not continue.

    Read More
    dpt1 January 27, 2009
  • Very nice dresser
    Verified Purchase

    Looks great and well put together. It is a little taller than I imagined. I have read reviews saying this was very difficult to put together, but I had no problem. I did it by myself within 2 hrs. If I had no breaks I could have it done within 1 hr to 1.5 hrs.

    Read More
    fdthree November 9, 2007
  • Hard build, but good solid piece
    Verified Purchase

    We bought a second bello walnut chest to match one bought 3 years ago. Still a tedious build, but with care and time, and two people at certain points, it is worth it. We would not have bought a second had the first not stood the test of time. Our first delivery had broken prices, but after some explanation, replacements were shipped. All we would say is that for some reason the drawers did not fit in th carcass well. Thankfully for us, moving drawers between our original and new pieces we were able to get both to work well. Beautiful and solid, and having already had one for 3+ years, we know they stand up to daily use. Glad we have our bedroom complete ( own 2 nightstands and bed as well as the 2 chests).

    Read More
    cannyshopper April 15, 2012
  • Scratches super easily--drawer rollers not smooth.
    Verified Purchase

    Not very high quality. Item arrived in fair condition--top was scuffed and some finish blemished on facing pieces (like stain hadn't completely soaked in). Disappointing, since other reviews were very good. Piece is sizable and looks OK for a place-holder in a room, but I have a big feeling that the unit will not stand the test of time. Can store things--but probably not very much or very heavy--because the rollers are all crummy and the drawers are so thinly constructed.

    Read More
    citasunchild January 24, 2013
  • Matched other bedroom set oerfectly!
    Verified Purchase

    This isn't any easier to put together than any other furniture, but i can tell you that it is worth it! Its sturdy and beautiful. The assembly was.nt too bad. The directions are clear and concise. This product is like many others iI have purchased from O..co and I think it easily competes with regular furniture stores.

    Read More
    abiggar August 8, 2012
  • Dresser
    Verified Purchase

    This was a *** to put together. It took two of us, five hours. I will never order another dresser that has to be put together. I have another negative comment is that the drawers will fall out, if pulled halfway out. I've never had any complaints about any other Overstock furniture that I've purchased. This, while it looks nice and is sturdy, is far from my favorite. I wouldn't recommend it.

    Read More
    rescuelynn March 27, 2011
  • Great Furniture

    We purchased the whole bedroom suite (2 dressers, 2 nightstands and headboard) over a year ago and LOVE IT! it is extremely durable, looks beautiful and we consistently get compliments that our bedroom looks like it is a spa or hotel suite. Would highly recommend!

    Read More
    dclife July 21, 2010
  • my kids dresser
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this dresser for my kids room two weeks ago, and its the best piece i've ever seen. Very time comsuming, but worth it. I love and would recommend this piece to anyone.

    Read More
    monbo November 15, 2008
  • nice piece
    Verified Purchase

    i bought this as a matching set to the high dresser and two side tables...once they are together they are impressive and look high quality. however, they are not 100% wood so be aware of that. the insides of the drawers and backs of piece(s) are all pressed board...which is really disappointing. Still a good value and they look great. there are way too many pieces when putting together which makes it a litte confusing ... and it take a while to put together.

    Read More
    kasheedy June 18, 2008
  • Nice and sturdy
    Verified Purchase

    This is a nice and sturdy piece of furniture. As others have noted, it takes a while to put together. A few better pictures on the instruction sheet would go a long way in avoiding any rail issues. Took about 5 hours overall with a good helper that brought me beer and food.

    Read More
    lewlewbird June 9, 2008
  • Perfect for the Spare Room
    Verified Purchase

    I felt the assembly Instructions were quite sufficient compared to some stuff I've assembled over the years. The quality of the assembly hardware was perfect for this product...even the anodized aluminum pulls. The only complaint I had was a lack of pre-drilling certain internal components, making a framing square or clamps a necessity for proper alignment of the drawers. Overall this is a very good, well packaged, well identified product...just not quite 5 stars.

    Read More
    rcbiii December 28, 2007
  • jason
    Verified Purchase

    Nice looking - but took 6 hours to put together. Not worth the time.

    Read More
    jasony December 23, 2007
  • Beautiful, We Love Our New Bedroom Set
    Verified Purchase

    We purchased both the Queen Bed and 7 drawer chest. They both arrived without a scratch or dent. My husband put both together without assitance. The bed took him 3 hours and the chest of drawers 5 +. Would have taken less time if his battery operated screwdriver had not ran out. (Tip: have a 2nd one charged and ready to take over) The instructions were ok but could have been more detailed. After installing all the drawer slides and putting a drawer in place, he found they were all upside down. The walnut cherry color and contemporary style mixes well with a few antique bedroom pieces we have. Excellent value!

    Read More
    cmgg October 31, 2007
  • Not So Hard, But it Takes Time
    Verified Purchase

    There's nothing really difficult about the assembly, particularly if you're not new to this sort of thing and you go slow. There are a *lot* of screws as other commentators have noticed. Obviously, read the directions. I did have help, but I think one man can put it together. I'd say 5-6 hours, but it depends on your experience and the equipment (like a cordless screwdriver).

    Read More
    arleneandjoe October 27, 2007
  • Beautiful dresser
    Verified Purchase

    Love it! Loveit! Love it! Nice quality. Stunning contemporary design.

    Read More
    funinutah October 25, 2007
Sponsored Links