Today: $300.99
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Bedford Black Expand-a-Desk

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews.

  • Compact. Works. Complicated Assembly.
    Verified Purchase

    It works. A few minor scratches. Didn't bother replacing. Looks nice / is compact. Top two drawer shallow (but fine), second drawer deeper. Bottom file draw holds a lot! Side slide out gets slightly stuck for me. Drawers tricky to assemble. Instructions confusing, especially back panel. Nailing strip along back should be facing out for the back panels. Bought and put it together 6 months ago. Really started Using it (filled with files) last month. Still good and sturdy (just be sure that the back panel has something to nail to. That steadies it. As always, empty your furniture before moving it (keeps it sturdy).

    Read More
    Laurla December 27, 2015
  • nursecharly
    Verified Purchase

    What a perfect size, with an expansion for my computer and chair, This desk is beautifully thought out and beautifully made and just perfect in every way.

    Read More
    nursecharly December 3, 2015
  • Mary Jo
    Verified Purchase

    I love it. I have had 2 people ask me to sell it to them. Difficult to put together but great looking piece. Very sturdy

    Read More
    Mary M. November 4, 2015
  • should have known better
    Verified Purchase

    by the time all the parts were unpacked, we found cracks in the wood and damaged finish. way too much trouble to return. Also not very easy to assemble. never again.

    Read More
    Allan C. April 21, 2015
  • Bedford black expand-a-desk
    Verified Purchase

    The assembly directions are horrid. In some cases you need to drill screw holes to avoid wood splitting. I finished the desk and had to go back and reinforce some of the pieces. While it looks great and does all we expected, the assembly leaves a great deal to be desired!

    Read More
    dick1raye1 December 6, 2014
  • Nice piece of furniture.
    Verified Purchase

    A bit difficult to put together. Price was right. Quality is good, pretty sturdy considering all the pieces. Glad I bought it. Needed a black wood filing drawer, this was an excellent alternative.

    Read More
    5322debra August 26, 2014
  • Looks are deceiving
    Verified Purchase

    This was just was I was looking for. However the actual product is cheap and shoddy. I've had items made out of MDF before. If there was even 1 layer of MDF in this I would be surprised. It's more like compressed cardboard. The "metal" disks that hold pieces together actually shred when you turn them in holes. They looked more like compressed chewing gum wrappers. When the UPS guy took it back he said he usually has to pick it up for return every time he's delivered one. It also is labeled at 70 lbs-so they only have to send 1 driver but it's clearly over 100 lbs. Looks good but not worth the time and hassle of trying to put it together and then disassembling parts to return. Even if it would have stayed together I don't think it would have been strong enough to hold files.

    Read More
    chicago1thousand April 29, 2014
  • Functional and Pretty

    While this desk looks good, it was difficult to assemble, with screw holes not matching. The drawers do not fit well, even after taking them apart and sanding etc. to make them the right size. I have also been disappointed in the way it hangs on to fingerprints and shows dust. I guess black just isn't as practical for a desk as I thought.

    Read More
    hawkjo November 7, 2013
  • For the price, a very good product
    Verified Purchase

    Putting it together was a project, but I managed it by myself in about five hours. It looks nice in my living room and has good storage.

    Read More
    jeshk September 28, 2013
  • Don't Buy This Desk!
    Verified Purchase

    This desk is beautiful- but don't buy it UNLESS you want to pull your hair out. It is impossible to put together in a way that the drawers work well. We got it put together but the drawers would not work. Also the directions are ridiculous- no details and several steps left out. I will never buy from this company again.

    Read More
    cjazz6 July 28, 2013
  • Expand-a-desk
    Verified Purchase

    This is a nice piece of furniture... assembling the parts proved to be a bit tricky, but my husband is great at these things & did a wonderful job. I organized all the parts and had them all lined up and ready when he needed them..... almost like surgery!! lol I couldn't be happier!!!

    Read More
    grapevine711 June 4, 2013
  • Just ok, looks really nice
    Verified Purchase

    looks pretty, fairly functional- a bit of work to put together, but not too bad...it just doesn't fit together right, drawers are a little off...but it is only annoying at the time of opening- looks ok from the outside!

    Read More
    llefkow1 January 8, 2013
  • Definately NOT worth the money!
    Verified Purchase

    Don't bother - poor quality. You can find so much better quality product at a Walmart.

    Read More
    higgins362 December 15, 2012
Sponsored Links