Free Shipping* & 5% Rewards On Every Order* With Club O
Today $164.99
Out of Stock
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Beckett Dark Walnut Buffet

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • THE COLOR IS DARK WALNUT
    Verified Purchase

    I received my buffet today and the first thing I noticed on the OUTSIDE of the box was the color description which is DARK WALNUT. Very bold and in plain sight for anyone to read. I watched this product for at least 2 months and even asked customer service, (at least 4 times) about the stain color. No one at OVERSTOCK could tell me what the stain color was, only that it was made from Rubberwood. I was purchasing it to go with a mahogany stained Greenwich table that I bought from OVERSTOCK about 2 years ago, so my main concern was whether or not the stain would match. Well it is here now, and though it isn't the exact same color I am still pleased with it. I hope this info will help someone else. THE COLOR IS DARK WALNUT. This should be listed in the product description. The buffet is very solid and would be an excellent purchase for the money for anyone looking for a DARK WALNUT Buffet!!!

    Read More
    kmc1958 February 14, 2009
  • Happy In Md
    Verified Purchase

    Purchased two for my kitchen. They arrived via UPS packaged very securely. Yes the doors were a bit to deal with (easier if you mount the door hardware) before putting on the back, the adjustments would be easier. I can honestly say that I "put my money" where my mouth was! This was an excellent purchase, beautiful, and I do mean a very beautiful addition to our kitchen. Beautiful dark color, beautiful solid wood. If I had to purchase this item again from Overstock, I would do it again without any hesitation.

    Read More
    legaleagles March 8, 2011
  • good purchase but...
    Verified Purchase

    Before purchasing this product, I did read the reviews and decided to proceed. First of all, it was the perfect color wood that I was hoping it would be, so that was true to the picture online. It takes 2 people to put it together; I don't know how others did it by themselves. It is a sturdy piece and it is worth the price paid. My only complaint is the smell that I continue to smell when opening the cabinet. The boxes smelled like smoke when I opened them and that is not quite what the smell is coming from the cabinets when I open them, but it is close. I have kept the doors open for days at a time hoping it will air out, but it hasn't yet. That is the truly the disappointment I have with the product and why it didn't get 5 stars.

    Read More
    drrriverbank October 12, 2010
  • just what I was looking for...again
    Verified Purchase

    In remodeling our house, we ended up with a large, vaulted blank wall - we had a great picture to hang there but needed a piece of furniture to anchor it. I wanted something sofa-height, dark wood, with glass-fronted storage for my antique Fiestaware - and like so many Overstock shoppers, couldn't find anything locally to match my vision. Found this piece, and the reviews sounded promising, so took a chance and ordered it - last summer! We didn't get to the point of remodeling where we could actually use this piece until a couple weeks ago - took it out of the boxes, and within an hour or so, had it put together, no pain at all. It fits perfectly in its designated spot, holds more in the storage area than I thought it would, and looks just beautiful. Everyone noticed it over the holidays and asked where we got it - they certainly were surprised to hear we got it in the "mail"! The only teensy thing I dislike about it is that the cabinet doors bang shut, but I think I can remedy that with a few strategically placed felt pads. Thanks for another excellent product! As part of our remodel, we also purchased counter-height barstools and a wonderful futon couch with an inner spring mattress from Overstock, and are still very pleased with everything.

    Read More
    pclewis January 6, 2009
  • Excellent piece of furniture
    Verified Purchase

    If you think it looks beautiful on the site, wait until you have it at home. It's utterly gorgeous. I'm delighted with it. My husband and I made it into a mixed cabinet, putting all the shelves on the right side and leaving the left shelveless. That way it's a liquor cabinet on the left (with decorative or older bottles and pretty cocktail apparatus etc. on the front so you can see them through the glass), and the right side is for decorative pans and pretty pots and other cute kitchen-related stuff (like ornate vintage porcelain soup bowls and crystal dessert ice-cream cups etc.) We have it in a room between the kitchen and the dining room, that way it's both handy and pretty. Our friends can see the bottles when we decide what cocktails to make, and the sight of the pretty cooking stuff next to it gets your mind traveling about what desserts and other delicious foodstuffs might be served later. :)

    Read More
    s8s8s5s5 September 12, 2012
  • Beckett Dark Walnut Buffet
    Verified Purchase

    We received this buffet back in July and really love it - the picture shown is true to what the actual piece looks like (color, etc) and it has plenty of storage space. I've given it an average rating (and really, I'm not sure if that's accurate or not) because of this: Just last month we noticed 3 small cracks on the top (which were not there when my husband put it together). The cracks have since started to spread, and if this continues, the top will eventually split apart into 3 long pieces. Obviously we're long past the point of being able to return the buffet, and it seems that we're sort of stuck, unless we can somehow fill in the cracks with wood putty, etc etc. We aren't sure what would cause something like this, but I just feel like this is something worth sharing so others can be aware of the possibility...

    Read More
    hilaryp February 10, 2012
  • Great Product
    Verified Purchase

    I have been watching the reviews on this product for about 2 months. I am so happy with my purchase! The buffet is great quality and beats anything I viewed in a variety of furniture stores. It took about 2-3 hours to put together, but it is perfect! The doors just require patience to make sure they are just right. My husband didn't find it a big deal. The storage area is huge- I have VERY large plates that fit! I would recommend this to anyone! It's perfect!

    Read More
    kalantrey February 19, 2011
  • Beautiful...but delivered with a cracked shelf
    Verified Purchase

    This buffet has a classic and elegant style and if not for opening the 2 large boxes, removing all of the pieces, and discovering that the middle shelf arrived with a crack in it, I would have given it a higher rating. I went ahead and put the furniture together because I'm hoping I can hide the crack. I spent 3 hours putting it together by myself and I decided to finish hanging the doors tomorrow so I won't know if I can hide the crack until I'm done with the doors. The instructions recommend having 2 adults to put this together and though I put it together by myself, a second set of hands would have made it go together much faster.

    Read More
    surfnnurse March 21, 2015
  • the top split
    Verified Purchase

    After just a few months, I moved the lamp to dust and discovered a large split in the wood. It's a beautiful piece but I question the quality of this rubber wood

    Read More
    Jacqueline D. January 29, 2015
  • Cracked!
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this buffet after months of debate, I was just so unsure of the quality of the product by reviews. Finally bit the bullet and bought it. If I had written this review on the week I purchased it, it would have gotten an excellent rating. Came as promised, delivered on time, in beautiful condition, and was simple to assemble. Not to mention it looks like a much more expensive piece of furniture than it actually cost and it worked perfectly as an entertainment center under my wall mounted TV. However after a couple of days we noticed that the cabinet holds in a ton of heat, but that was no problem we cut large openings in the back of the center to allow more heat to escape from the electronics. the holes were effective and not noticeable from the front of the cabinet. Everything was great for a couple of days, then I heard this loud crack sound while watching TV and noticed a large 4 in crack in the top of the cabinet! I was disappointed but with a little touch up marker the crack was barely noticeable, then a couple days later it happened again! this time, there was a new 4 in crack and the previous crack was now 6in long! touched this up again, but it is a bit more noticeable this time. hoping this doesn't happen again. really sad that the beauty of this cabinet will not endure.

    Read More
    Heather October 6, 2014
  • Cracked
    Verified Purchase

    This product comes in two packages. I received my second today and opened and inspected the product. Quality looks good except for the crack that runs through the entire length of the left side panel. I have yet to put it together as I have to wait another week for box 1 and return the damaged side panel. I'm beginning to suspect the reviews about the cracks to be accurate. I would stay clear and look elsewhere.

    Read More
    richdog69 February 5, 2014
  • needs replacing after a few months use!!!
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this almost a year ago as we were purchasing a new home and cupboard space was at a premium in the new house. We did some major renovations to accommodate my handicap and moved in in late July. In mid August we put together and set up the buffet. It looked great and held my good china and silverware, no problem. I thought I made a good purchase with my social security check and was content. Then in early November the top on the right side cracked. It now has a 10-12 inch split. I saved for months for this purchase and will not be able to replace it, so my china will sit and a plastic shelf unit from my garage. Save your money!!!!!

    Read More
    char1103 January 28, 2014
  • Pretty but....
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered this item and was SO pleased with it for the first year or so that we had it. After about a year, a crack started to develop on the top of the buffet. This is solid wood, so the fact that a crack started to run the length of it led me to believe that it was not as high quality as I thought. Can't replace it so I'm stuck with it until I can find a way to fix it or replace it.

    Read More
    ldlar December 2, 2013
  • Love it, only 1 problem

    I love this, the color, the size are perfect. About 1 year after I got it, a piece of the wood started splitting on the top of the buffet. I'm not sure how to fix it. I put a small lamp over it which covers the split in the wood partially. It hasn't kept splitting, it is about 5 or 6 inches long.

    Read More
    vacadreamer October 17, 2013
  • Great new buffet
    Verified Purchase

    I was a little nervous ordering something this expensive. I read the other reviews and decided to try it. It was very heavy. 88lbs for one box and 76lbs for the other box. I had to drag it up a flight of stairs because UPS wont deliver it up a flight of stairs. I couldn't do it myself, but with another person and sliding it up carpeted stairs, it worked fine. My daughter was able to put it together by herself. It took her 2-3 hours. I did the doors. That took me 1.5 hours. The pre-drilled holes didn't go as deep as we would have liked it because we only had a standard hand screwdriver. A hand held electric screwdriver with good torque would be much easier. Because of it's deep shelves, It can hold a great deal of dishes, platters and the like. I happened to have three baskets that fit perfectly under on the bottom shelf.

    Read More
    pattiozark March 30, 2013
  • Looks High End and does the job perfectly
    Verified Purchase

    This was purchased for use in our dining room. It holds a complete dinner setting of 10 plus extra room for bowls, serving dishes and glass wear. We are abolutely pleased with this purchase.

    Read More
    jromo March 7, 2013
  • not perfect but a great item for the price
    Verified Purchase

    I was skeptical of buying furniture over the internet but this item had so many positive reviews I figured it was worth the gamble. I assembled it by myself with the exception of putting on the top, the top is very heavy and takes two people to lift/place it perfectly. The assembly directions were not very explicit but no more confusing than any other piece of furniture I've had to assemble myself. Lots of extra screws were included, and they were all labelled clearly, which was nice. As some others have commented, the cams are cheap and soft, and do require special attention or you can break them. Assembly is a lot faster if you use an electric screwdriver; the back piece (which is thin chipboard, not wood) attaches with about 20 screws and no holes, you gotta make them yourself. It is a very nice piece of furniture for the price advertised, especially if you use an overstock coupon (I got another 15% off). It is NOT solid wood as some people describe, it is clearly veneers, however they are pretty nice veneers. The hinges do require a litte tweaking to get perfectly, and they are kind of clunky and slam the doors shut, however I didn't think this was a dealbreaker. You can't see the hinges when the doors are closed, and this is a primarily a storage item (the doors aren't going to be opened that often.) It is a good size, and almost waist high! I left out the inner shelving and we are going to use it as a temporary bar while my kitchen is being remodeled. Will probably eventually replace it with a more high-quality solid wood heirloom piece but I think we will enjoy this item for many years. Definitely worth the price.

    Read More
    bjstx December 2, 2012
  • Very good quality, great price but trick assembly
    Verified Purchase

    This buffet is sturdy, looks great and provides a lot of storage so I´m very pleased with this purchase. As many other reviewers mentioned, the assembly can be a little hard if you´re not careful. In my opinion, it requires two people and the instructions are pretty straight forward till the placement of the doors. The poor instructions after that made me take one star from this product rating. For the ones that want to give it a try, that´s what I found out... First of all, there are two pairs of doors, each one identified with a specific number. There are two sets of hinges, each one identified with a specific letter. The instructions show which door should be connect with each set of hinges. What is not entirely clear is where each pair of doors should go. I don´t remember the numbers now, but lets say that a pair of doors were identified by the number 9 and the other by the number 8. The instructions show that one door #9 should be placed on the right border of the buffet, but they don´t specify if the other door #9 should be placed on the same side, at the center of the buffet, or if it should go on the other extremity of the buffet. What I found out is that the doors #9 should be placed at the extremities of the buffet, and the doors #8 should be placed in the center. So each cabinet should have one door #9 and one door #8. Why is that so important, since both the doors and the hinges look exactly the same? The catch is that each set of hinges have a different start configuration. This configuration is established by two screws in each hinge (the screws that are not used to attach the door to the buffet) . They regulate the distance between the door and the hinge central axis. If you don´t know this, it´s almost certain that you won´t be able to align the doors properly. Even placing the doors in the correct position, I still had to loose or tight this screws to get a perfect alignment of the doors. It´s not very complicated once you know what to do. I hope this will be helpful for someone. I truly believe that once you manage to assemble this product correctly, you end up with a great piece of furniture.

    Read More
    cavalcanti December 1, 2012
  • Very nice
    Verified Purchase

    Luckily I'm mechanically inclined but if one is not, this would be a tough project to tackle as far as assembly. I thought that the instructions could have been a little clearer. When removing the doors from the packaging one of the glass panes fell out of the door and hit the floor on one of the styrofoam pieces of packing material which kept it from breaking. 4 plastic pieces hold the glass in and 2 of them were broken. After removing the other 3 doors from the package I found that 1 other plastic piece was also broken. I was able to make something to replace the broken items temporarily. It was the only reason I didn't give it an excellent rating. Spoke to a representaive from overstock.com about the problems and they were very helpful. I was told that replacement parts would be sent through the mail shortly. It'll will only take a few minutes to change when they arrive. Overall I'm very pleased with the purchase and the Beckett Buffet looks very nice in our dining room. We shopped for similar items but this one was the best price.

    Read More
    ray1462 December 15, 2011
  • Wonderful Buffet!
    Verified Purchase

    It took about two hours to put together. The doors can be a little tricky. I love it and it matches perfectly with my cherry walnut dining room table.

    Read More
    deenic December 13, 2011
Sponsored Links