| Help relief efforts across the country by Donating Now ›
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Bear Heaters 1500-Watt Infrared Heater w/ Remote

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Chris
    Verified Purchase

    Worked for at least 5 years and had saved us a lot of money warming our 1700 sq ft. Home. Still looks great but doesn't heat like it used to. We'll worth the money.

    Read More
    bionichippychicken April 6, 2016
  • bad heater
    Verified Purchase

    stop working after 30 days

    Read More
    fred3 January 5, 2016
  • Bear Heater
    Verified Purchase

    Still running great Great buy!!!!!!!! I plan on getting another heater this year.

    Read More
    Tag October 4, 2014
  • Love it, makes the room nice & toasty quick!
    Verified Purchase

    I love this heater. It makes the room nice and toasty within minutes. I have not turned my furnace on yet. I would recommend this to anyone that wants to save on oil or gas. It also never gets really hot to touch. I would recommend this feature to anyone that has pets or children. It is also very quiet. It has a remote which is very nice and a built in thermostat so you can set the temperature. This heater is awesome!

    Read More
    kat49 October 14, 2013
  • Bear Heaters Infrared Heater
    Verified Purchase

    Use it as main heat in the winter. Usually on the lowest watt usage. Works great.

    Read More
    cabinhill August 8, 2013
  • radiant space heater
    Verified Purchase

    problem with the manufacturer and warranty. just over a year old and they want me to pay to ship it back,$$ and insure it $$ and that is almost what i paid for it. not happy with the service at all, weak... trying to trouble shoot it and fix it myself.

    Read More
    dbubbao April 26, 2013
  • company service to product is almost non-existant!

    I bought this heater one year ago. After just this one year the heat output started going WAY down - barely putting out any heat at all. I tried to contact the parent company FOUR TIMES because I have a complete 3 year parts and labor warranty. They NEVER answered my e-mails - AT ALL! When I called, they said the heater could only be fixed under warranty if I mailed it 25 lb. heater back to them AT MY COST, and they'd take a look at it. BUT, they said they'd have to get back to me before I attempted anything. They never got back and never answered any more e-mails. So, after I bought ANOTHER heater of a different brand, of course, I decided to take the damn thing apart myself, considering it a total loss anyway. When I took it apart, I found FOUR of the six infrared tubes were burned out (with a 40,000 hr life - each!). But they hadn't JUST burned out. They had actually melted the connecting wires that led to the tubes, telling me that it could have actually started a house fire. The manufacturer claimed that they are a great "American family business" and proud of what they build and sell - yet would not stand behind the heater when I had the problems. I've subsecuently given the heater to my brother who likes to dabble in electronics to see if he can fix it. But I'll NEVER, EVER buy one of these CRAPPY heaters OR deal with the Bear Heater Manufacturing Company EVER again!!!

    Read More
    jimijam53 April 9, 2013
  • Don't buy this
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this unit Jan 2012 used it a few nights. This year the weather in Chicago quite warm till last couple of weeks ago. I turned on the unit and it gave me error. When I called Bear, they told me to try some of the steps but none work. The unit is under warranty but they told me I have to ship the unit back to them on my own expense which will cost me another $50. I would think Bear will take responsibility on their defective unit. This turn out to be more expensive than I bought a heater from local store.

    Read More
    tippi1817 January 28, 2013
  • Heating elements went bad
    Verified Purchase

    We have had the heater for almost a year. Last week I noticed it was not heating as much as it used to. I took it apart and did an inspection. It is wired with three sets of two elements chained together. Two of the 6 heating elements had broken. This left the unit heating with only two elements. The case looks nice and everything else has worked fine, but our cheap little ceramic heaters produce just as much heat, are several years older and cost a lot less.

    Read More
    mrjamie January 1, 2013
  • Bear Heaters
    Verified Purchase

    Very happy with this heater. This is the third one I have bought! First one last year for Florida home where my daughter stays. Tile floors so is needed in winter months. I did a lot of research on these before ordering that one. I feel the Bear name is very trusted and made in the US. Other one for other daughter last year at Christmas. Both of those are in the black - which is a very nice looking piece of furniture.

    Read More
    sandysbabes November 23, 2012
  • Bear heater
    Verified Purchase

    Great looking cabinet and very quiet. Hasn't been too cold yet, but the few times we've used it it's worked as it should. Very satisfied.

    Read More
    luvtafish November 3, 2012
  • Poor performance
    Verified Purchase

    Either the instructions are wrong to set the thermostat or the unit will not meet the setting parameters. Tried to set the temperature at 76 degrees for a well insulated living area of about 800 square feet but for one, when the attempt was made to lock the unit in at the desired temperature and have it hold, the indicator would drop down to room temperature and starting at a 65 degree temp the room never exceeded 72 degrees. Additionally, the unit will not turn off by using the on/off switch; the unit must be unplugged. It is going to be banished to a small, downstairs bedroom for occasional use and another brand tried in the living area. Wasted money.

    Read More
    olwino2 May 25, 2012
  • Bear Heaters Infared Heater
    Verified Purchase

    Does a nice job heating the dining area which is on the north side of the house. Easy to move it to the adjacent family room. The two story townhome needed more heat downstairs since heat from the furnace rises to the second level.

    Read More
    terrier2 March 24, 2012
  • Love This Heater
    Verified Purchase

    I have been using this heater for a couple months. I love being able to heat just the room I'm in, instead of the whole house. It works great and looks like a piece of furniture.

    Read More
    becklynnb March 23, 2012
  • nice!!!
    Verified Purchase

    highly recommend this heater to any one looking to have a nice piece of furniture that is functional

    Read More
    housedawg911 March 13, 2012
  • Bear Infrared Heater
    Verified Purchase

    This little heater really keeps our back room and bathroom warm & cozy. We are using it to replace a natural gas heater. Our first gas nill and electric bill will be interesting.

    Read More
    galena130 January 25, 2012
  • Expeced more heat
    Verified Purchase

    With six heating elements inside, I really expeced more than luke warm air coming out even on high heat setting. I own other brands of these same kind of heaters, all with better heat output.

    Read More
    modemon January 21, 2012
  • Fantastic Heater, Buying a Second One!
    Verified Purchase

    Since our home is cement block with siding and drywall coverage, it tends to hold moisture and dampness, so this little heater, with its infrared technology is awesome for keeping specific areas incredibly cozy, since it takes the warm air from the interior walls and converts it to warmer air circulating it onto the exterior walls. Major Bonus: We have two very small children, 15 months and 3yrs, which bump it, lean on it and even push it without a single burn or any kind of damage to the product! I've yet to see a current electric bill, but I must say the furnace doesn't even budge when the heater is on, so if we come out on the positive end between the Electric bill and Gas, we have decided we're going to purchase a second unit, that's how much we adore this item! The only reason for 4 stars over 5 is the fact that for it to function the most efficiently, the directions state it should be backed to an interior wall facing an exterior wall. This of course is difficult to do without rearranging some things, so that it can be in a very central area of the home, at least for the layout of our home. However, That is so minimal in comparison to the benefits of this item!

    Read More
    chastine23 January 9, 2012
  • Works well

    Works well, and costs much less than the other big name brand. It's the same technology, just minus the big brand name. Seriously they are just infrared light bulbs wrapped in copper tubes with a thermostat and a fan. Not a huge technological miracle, they would lead you to believe it is however. I have it in a large "great room" if you will, large living room with vaulted ceilings and a dining room. It does keep the room warm, but I can't see turning the thermostat for the whole house down. I can see my electric bill going up so I think I will give this back to my mom. For use in a bedroom, or any small/medium sized room I think it will work great! Just in my particular application, I think I'll stick with my wood burning fireplace. Great product tho, don't buy the Schmeden Schmure, get the Bear!!!

    Read More
    squirrelmaster January 3, 2012
  • Comfortable and affordable heat!
    Verified Purchase

    We received the Bear Infrared Heater and used it to heat a single bedroom for our last daughter. This allows us to keep the other two bedrooms cold as all are on the same zone. Our daughter likes the heat from the infrared heater more than the central baseboard heat. We couldn't be happier!

    Read More
    a10jetjock January 3, 2012
Sponsored Links