Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Bayou Classic Stainless Steel Brew Kettle

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Love it
    Verified Purchase

    Makes brewing so easy. The false bottom and thermometer are lifesavers.

    Read More
    Evan I. January 2, 2017
  • Happy Customer!
    Verified Purchase

    This brew kettle more than exceeded my expectations as to it's functionality. It's very sturdy and easy to keep clean. I love the drain valve and the thermometer is extremely useful for keeping the temperature steady during the saccharification rest. The only drawback...I don't use the screen as it tends to clog up with hops when draining the wort, but it's not a big deal at all.

    Read More
    Paul G. December 14, 2015
  • Awesome!!!
    Verified Purchase

    This is an Awesome pot; it has everything I need to brew a wonderful ale.

    Read More
    towercop July 18, 2014
  • Not a welded pot!

    I'm a bit disappointed. I went back and forth over whether or not to just buy the plain kettle vs the brew kettle with the thermometer and spigot. I decided to spend the extra money on the brew kettle because I wanted a solid non-leaking solution. I was upgrading from my current smaller kettles that use weldless after market spigot and accessories. Had I known this was a built it yourself kit I would have saved a lot of money by taking the higher quality parts off my old rig and move them over to these larger vessels. The instructions are incomplete. (i.e. more parts than there are in the picture, and no words) Also the heat shield is useless if you're using the Bayou burner as this pot has to sit on the heat shield to work since it doesn't have a clamp to hold it on the spigot. There is no flat surface on the KAB4/6 burners so this feature is useless on their own equipment. The handle has a locking feature that is a bit of a pain because you have to lift it before turning the handle to open the spigot. It's also very stiff and not easy to do quick bursts if you are trying to control output. Overall the construction seems ok from a thickness perspective just really disappointed that it's not welded and assembled before shipping.

    Read More
    brewguy January 7, 2014
  • Great Brew Kettle, but it was missing a vital part
    Verified Purchase

    Great Brew Kettle, but after unpacking the box I noticed that I was missing the thermometer. I contacted Overstock.com and they were very helpful and were in contact with me almost daily through e-mail until a replacement part was found and shipped. I was very satisfied with the purchase even if it delayed my brewing by a week. Thanks Overstock Customer Service.

    Read More
    rpl1960 August 11, 2013
  • No more boil overs and full hop utilization
    Verified Purchase

    If you want to do a 'full boil' brew this is the pot for you. I compared the thermometer against my thermopen and the temps are spot on. Great pot!

    Read More
    richiep777 March 1, 2013
  • Good overall, but false bottom is a waste
    Verified Purchase

    For a mash pot in the making of beer, the false bottom is not valuable. There is 2 gallons of space below the false bottom which inflates the amount of water needed for a grain mash considerably. I tried it, but my yields were very low. The bazooka screen would work fine. You could also get a domed false bottom that sits below the valve. The diameter in nice for a 10-11 pound grain bill. It works and you should have an adequate bed depth. I also have had a difficult time getting the thermometer connection to seal. I still get a drip every 5 minutes or so. I am purchasing an 8 gallon pot as well, and I am purchasing the one with just the valve and buying a separate domes false bottom. I may miss the installed thermometer, but for a few dollars I can use a long frying thermometer that clips to the rim of the pot. Overall, I really like the quality of the pot. The thick (3-ply) bottom worked well for me. I took a star off for the difficulty getting the thermometer to stop leaking. In other services (seafood boil), the false bottom may be adequate.

    Read More
    houstonbrew February 24, 2013
  • bayou stainless brew kettle (10 gal)
    Verified Purchase

    2 gal of dead space with false bottom in, makes it relatively useless, works great with out it though using just the bazooka tube.

    Read More
    ballinblazers November 28, 2012
  • Verified Purchase

    Read More
    Manuel V. March 1, 2017
Sponsored Links