Today $40.99
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Bayou Classic Black Cast Iron 14-inch Skillet

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Relevant
  • Most Relevant
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Big, beautiful skillet
    Verified Purchase

    This cast iron skillet is a good buy for the price. It's dimensions are accurate to what is described on the website. It's weight confirms it is what it says it is: bare cast iron. The handle is sturdy and the pan is well-balanced, so it should be stable on a stove top. However, a couple of things prospective buyers need to know: firstly, this pan is not preseasoned. There are instructions in the box on how to season the pan before use. Secondly: the box comes emblazoned with the pan's picture and logo all across the front of it. So if you are trying to surprise someone with a gift, that's kind of an impediment. Overall though, still a very good buy.

    Read More
    el71 December 13, 2011
  • great skillet - big!
    Verified Purchase

    I use cast-iron pans all the time, and this size is exactly what I needed for four beef tenderloins or three NY strips. Gives a fabulous pan-sear and then goes right into a hot oven, no worries. I love it for so many things - from skillet cornbread, to pan-roasted potatoes, to steaks/chicken...pretty much anything that needs a good crust or requires even heat on the bottom.

    Read More
    decorfanatic January 18, 2013
  • Great big heavy pan
    Verified Purchase

    A 14 inch cast pan is really much larger and heavier than a 12 inch. I expected this, but was still surprised. The weight is excellent for keeping it in place on the stove as you move things around. The weight is also a very positive attribute because it holds heat much better than a smaller or lighter pan. The actual flat cooking surface is a bit rough, which is true of all new cast iron pans. I have started the seasoning process using lard and intend to cook bacon and other fatty items in it for awhile to build up a nice low stick surface.It is a nice flat bottom, so it does not wiggle on my gas range. One key to frying food, like chicken for example, is not letting the fat cool off too much when adding food. This pan can will really help with keeping the fat hot to avoid greasy food.

    Read More
    justicenow March 20, 2012
  • Big Daddy of a skillet
    Verified Purchase

    This is a nice, big, heavy 14 inch cast iron skillet. It IS cast iron, so be prepared for a heavy skillet. It is wonderful pan that cooks evenly, holds the heat--and enough food for an army. It does come unseasoned, but don't let that stop you. For *** bucks it cannot be beat!

    Read More
    kara123 July 31, 2012
  • Product Needs Preseasoning
    Verified Purchase

    I would only recommend this product to a friend who was aware of how to pre-season a cast iron skillet. First of all the cooking surface of this cast iron skillet is pitted & will take many years to get it smooth unless of course you own a sander. I have cast iron from another company that came pre seasoned & the surface is very smooth. With this said trying to cook anything needing a smooth surface such as pancakes will be a problem. This 14" cast iron skillet is quite heavy which is to be expected for cast iron & I would much rather cook on cast iron than nonstick for health reasons. I'm sure over time this skillet will find good use in my kitchen for large casseroles, bake sweeat potatoes w/onions & olive oil & will will become seasoned through use.

    Read More
    wifeofaswede May 13, 2014
  • This will definitely become an heirloom.
    Verified Purchase

    This is one of the best cast iron skillets I've ever owned! It's nice and heavy. It also seasoned very well. Some cast iron pans don't heat as evenly as it is claimed, but no problems with this one! Even though this pan is 14" across, the very edge heats just the same as the center. I really can't recommend this pan enough!! It's awesome!

    Read More
    rowoo10 October 10, 2013
  • Bayou Classic 14 inch skillet
    Verified Purchase

    I first bought the 16 inch and it was great for outdoor cooking. The 14 inch is more versatile in the aspect that I can use it outdoor and indoor. Great pan for the price. Love it.

    Read More
    fishinpo1 November 9, 2013
  • It's big
    Verified Purchase

    It's a rather large cast iron skillet, which in my humble opinion no kitchen is complete without. It's big and it's heavy and it's made of cast iron. It's a cast iron skillet. Seasoning it is no problem since instructions are included.

    Read More
    mklangelo1 February 24, 2014
  • love it
    Verified Purchase

    Great cast iron skillet.Big enough for a large meal and goes from stove to oven.

    Read More
    doogy262 August 23, 2012
  • Though heavy but wonderful item
    Verified Purchase

    The Cast Iron Skillet is wonderful thing but very very heavy.Initially it requires more heat means more use of Gas but when heated up remains hot for a long time. Handling of such utensil is a problem. Better options are use of Cast Aluminium utensils.

    Read More
    mukh February 24, 2012
  • good value
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this for my son who was in need of cast iron skillet. He loves it, said it is nice and heavy. He has used it several times and has even sent me pics of the food he has cooked. (he is in CA and I am in NJ) I know he uses the pan alot and he thanks his mom for her insistance that every cook needs a good cast iron skillet! would recommend this product.

    Read More
    kittyone November 1, 2012
  • Bayou Classic 14-inch Cast Iron Skillet
    Verified Purchase

    We use this daily - I love it! Wonderful cast iron pan.

    Read More
    val24 June 5, 2013
  • Great Skillet
    Verified Purchase

    We purchased this skillet because we needed one in this size which is a little larger than usual. My husband does the cooking and he prefers using cast iron. It is easy to clean and we don't have to worry about whether a non-stick coating is bad for our health. It is heavy so ladies should be aware. I cannot lift with one hand but since he does the cooking that is not a problem for us.

    Read More
    linbh August 3, 2012
  • Cast Iron
    Verified Purchase

    Heavy (as expected), cast iron (benefits of more iron in your food), great value

    Read More
    reader36 October 9, 2016
  • cast iron overhyped
    Verified Purchase

    This is a nice cast iron skillet. It has a rough finish but that helps it condition and hold oil which helps it be non stick. I got this for hightemp cooking because its thick and won't warp.but i learned that cast iron needs slots of oil to be non stick and at high temp it still sticks. Cast iron pans used to cheap and were great value but now that they are popular again they are overpriced. Teflon isway better at nonstick . Don't be fooled into the hype like i was... There is a reason people abandoned castiron for teflon. I still like my cast iron pan but not becauseof howitcooks.

    Read More
    philw2 March 7, 2013
  • Verified Purchase

    Excellent! This is my first cast iron pan and Bayou sent extensive cleaning and maintenance instructions. Making this extremely easy to use & maintain. I highly recommend.

    Read More
    Tricia S. June 2, 2018
  • I LOVE this cast iron frying pan.
    Verified Purchase

    What a deal. This cast iron skillet is SO heavy that you can hardly lift it!! Have been waiting a while to get something of this quality. I even looked on e-bay; no luck. Thanks for the belated Xmas present to me!

    Read More
    bluethehound January 24, 2013
  • LOVE THIS
    Verified Purchase

    Excellent, HEAVY cast iron skillet. I love preparing food in this. VERY LARGE.

    Read More
    congoroom February 6, 2015
  • Love these Skillet
    Verified Purchase

    I love cooking my cornbread in these Cast Iron.

    Read More
    linpolo1 January 23, 2018
  • Great skillet
    Verified Purchase

    The pan was exactly as described and perfect for my needs. The price was reasonable as well. I would definitely recommend purchasing this item as it is very heavy duty and of great quality. If you are looking for an affordable sturdy cast iron skillet then I suggest you buy this product.

    Read More
    doydee January 28, 2014