Today: $191.49

At other retailer: $289.99

Save $98.50 (34%)

Free Shipping
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Bayou Classic 8-gallon Brew Kettle

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • All grain brewer
    Verified Purchase

    Excellent quality and a great package deal-all components are high quality . 8 gal is perfect size for extract and smaller all grain batch brewing-you need the 10 gallon size for high gravity all grain If grain bill is more than 10 pounds. Wish I would have bought the 10 gallon size .

    Read More
    Donald C. July 7, 2016
  • Great for Making Cold Brew Coffee
    Verified Purchase

    Wonderful, exactly what i expected, Great Price!

    Read More
    Mitchel M. June 6, 2016
  • Assembly Required
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this for my husband whose new hobby is home brewing beer. This Kettle is excellent quality- thick stainless steel. The only issue was that the thermometer and spigot had to be inserted. I would recommend, after installing the thermometer and spigot, test for leaks with water in the pot. We started to brew only to have to empty the pot and reseal the spigot.

    Read More
    cheriillinois May 11, 2016
  • Larry R.
    Verified Purchase

    just right size for me to make homebrew

    Read More
    Larry R. March 2, 2016
  • Great Brew Kettle
    Verified Purchase

    Just right for a full 5 gal boil...

    Read More
    Don B. December 24, 2015
  • OK for the price, not all the pieces work
    Verified Purchase

    The pot is of decent construction. The metal is thinner than some of the competition out there, but this pot is also often sold much cheaper and includes more options. My pot arrived nicely double boxed. It had one small dent that did not alter the function in any way that did not bother me. But the false bottom does not fit the pot. The handles extend too far past the edge of the false bottom preventing it from sitting level in the pot. It will work if you remove the handles. It appears to be a bayou classic mfr problem as they attempted to send me a replacement false bottom and it suffered from the same problem. Other items to note that others mention. Yes everything is covered in a thick machining oil that needs to be removed. I cleaned this pot with oxyclean and a scrubbing pad and had no problem removing the grease. The handles are welded on, but it they did cut a grove into the handles so that the weld would penetrate better. So the handles may not be as strong as riveted handles, but they do have tried to make the weld strong. The thermometer, screen, valve are nice. The pot bend when opening and closing the valve. I would consider buying this again without the false bottom and a lower price. At the end of the day the quality is lower than much of the competition...but the price is also much lower. If you buy this pot expect to throw out the false bottom, or modify the handles or replace them with fishing line. I attempted to communicate with Bayou Classic and they were unresponsive. Overstock customer support was great through. It took about a week to resolve my issues, but they kept in contact. I ended up keeping the pot and I will eventually attempt to modify the handles of the false bottom or remove them.

    Read More
    Wesley E. November 18, 2015
  • Great brew kettle for grain-only brewing
    Verified Purchase

    Got this for my husband for his birthday. He loves it. The false bottom and integrated thermometer make this setup perfect for all-grain brewing. Good quality kettle at fifty dollars less than I could find it anywhere else. Highly recommend.

    Read More
    Jessica P. September 7, 2015
  • Best value for your $$$
    Verified Purchase

    I don't think you can find a better brew kettle for the money. I was expecting something a bit thinner, but this is a very nice quality pot, especially considering that it comes with the 1/2 ball valve, thermometer, bazooka screen, and false bottom. It feels sturdy, even when full. The description didn't mention it, but the bottom is also a welded on triclad which is perfectly flat, so it should work with induction stoves and should help prevent scorching. The weldless fittings worked well and I had it waterproof after a few minor adjustments to the seals. I recommend filling it to near the top with water to test and ensure you have them adjusted properly so you don't waste any wort. I know there are better kettles out there, but not for under $200 bucks. The ball valve does reek of some type of grease, but after a good soaking in hot water and then running two pots worth of hot water and soap through it with it cracked half way open, it seems to have gotten all of the machining/packing grease out of it (you must do this before cooking with it or your wort will get contaminated!!!!).

    Read More
    beerguy January 12, 2015
  • Problem with the ball valve and losuy assembly ins
    Verified Purchase

    Have to agree with james5786, the ball valve had to be replaced. Could not get the greasy smell out and was afraid to brew with it. The assembly instructions are just a sheet of pictures. Googled how to assemble the spigot, finally got it tight. Good product otherwise but as they say, "some assembly required". Bobby

    Read More
    bobbylonghare November 11, 2014
  • Great brew kettle for the money!
    Verified Purchase

    I have been upgrading my equipment since getting into home brewing. While I've done all grain, I am focusing on extract brewing. This pot allows me to keep everything in one place and eliminates all lifting or moving of the wort. Plus, the thermometer allows me to keep an eye on things easily. After dropping in the wort chiller and cooling, I can add the required water and use the spigot to drain to a fermenter. Simple as can be. The pot is much heavier than my prior one and has a solid, 5mm thick aluminum plate which helps distribute heat evenly. Very well made!

    Read More
    njbrewer June 13, 2014
  • Great brew Kettle
    Verified Purchase

    I finally got to brew some beer with it and it worked great

    Read More
    ricksettelmeyer November 30, 2013
  • Don't use the ball valve
    Verified Purchase

    DONT USE THE BALL VALVE included in this product. It has some sort of grease in it that will ruin your beer. No matter what I do i cannot get the valve to stop reeking of grease. The rest of the product seems to work fine, but you need to get yourselves a food grade valve on your own.

    Read More
    james5786 October 14, 2013
  • Love it so far
    Verified Purchase

    I had originally bought another brew kettle from a different vendor, but they didn't see fit to actually protect the kettle for shipping so it arrived damaged. Ordered this one instead. Firstly, it was double-boxed and arrived safe and sound. It was also much more strongly made than the other (non Overstock) item. Brewed my first all-grain batch 2 weeks ago. Worked great - my only complaint is that the thermometer did not seem to change when I added 200 degree water to increase the mash temp even though a second thermometer did. It worked fine during a test boil and the boiling of the wort. so we'll see. I just wish the box was big enough that I could store the pot in it, but once you install the spigot, it won't fit.

    Read More
    jman42 March 8, 2013
  • Verified Purchase

    Read More
    ERIC S. September 8, 2016
Sponsored Links