Today $171.49
Free Shipping*
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Baxton Studio Wishbone Black Wood Y Dining Chair

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • You get what you pay for...
    Verified Purchase

    After reading other reviews I went ahead and purchased four of these chairs to compliment 4 original Hans Wegner Wishbone chairs we already had. At a quick glance they are a good approximation of the original but as with most knock offs the devil is in the details. Most importantly, the construction is far from the heirloom quality of original Wishbone chairs produced by the Carl Hansen company in Denmark. For starters the product description indicates the chair is made of wood. This may be technically correct, but wood "by products" would be a more accurate description as they seem to be made of something akin to particle board. The only reason I know this is that the front rung on one of the chairs broke right at the joint the first time it was sat on and looking at the break it was clearly not natural hardwood. This would also explain the smooth finish absent of any natural wood grain that is so beautiful on the originals, (I think a previous reviewer thought it was plastic - an understandable mistake). Other subtle difference include beefier legs which loose the elegant taper of the originals, a lower back and a straight "wishbone" back support vs. the slightly curved one on the original. All of these are subtle differences but together they amount to a chair that looks good but lacks the genius of the original - no surprises. All that said, the cost of this chair is less than a quarter of what we paid for the original and for that price it is a fair value assuming you don't expect it to last forever (like the originals will). By the way, Overstock was terrific when contacted and immediately replaced the broken chair. 5 stars to them for service!

    Read More
    Robert G. July 10, 2017
  • I love these chairs!
    Verified Purchase

    These are great chairs. Very well made. Would buy again!

    Read More
    Fiona B. June 28, 2017
  • Love
    Verified Purchase

    Perfect accent chairs for our dining room, quite comfortable.

    Read More
    Sara S. June 23, 2017
  • Great purchase!
    Verified Purchase

    Needed to fill a small space for additional seating and this chair has worked out perfectly. Well made, clean look. Love it.

    Read More
    Susan W. May 17, 2017
  • Awesome Chair
    Verified Purchase

    Great chair for the value, comfortable and well packaged.

    Read More
    Laura March 10, 2017
  • Chairs
    Verified Purchase

    Perfection. Beyond thrilled with these!

    Read More
    Katey F. February 14, 2017
  • Beautiful chairs!!
    Verified Purchase

    These chairs arrived on time, in excellent condition and we LOVE THEM!!

    Read More
    OstkUser666752 December 20, 2016
  • Great chairs!
    Verified Purchase

    Very happy with these chairs. The finish is good quality and they are pretty comfortable.

    Read More
    Brooke E. November 2, 2016
  • Great quality, great price!
    Verified Purchase

    We ordered these chairs since we love the design and the original ones from Design Within Reach are insanely expensive. These were just as good and for a fraction of the price. AND they arrived quickly!

    Read More
    Sara S. September 20, 2016
  • Chair is fine, package was a mess
    Verified Purchase

    I am grateful that this chair arrived safely. The legs had poked serious holes in the box and there was a rather loud rattle when the box was handled. The rattle turned out to be a vacuum cleaner attachment with the brush, of all things! The chair back and arm were carefully wrapped in a sheet of styrofoam type of material. The box was too large and the chair only had a bag of small scale bubble wrap loosely over the chair. I took pictures but I don't see a place to attach any file, so you'll just have to imagine at least two legs protruding through the side of the box and the flaps straining at very inadequate taping. There was nothing to prevent the box from collapsing, so it had, and there was nothing to prevent the chair from shifting inside the box and it obviously had. So I'll call this the miracle chair that looks just right at the bottom of my bed next to the really cute table I got last month from Overstock. I gave the chair five stars, but the box would only get one star. I hope they see this and do a better job next time.

    Read More
    Evelyn B. July 12, 2016
  • Extremely happy
    Verified Purchase

    Bought 6 chairs fir our beach condo. They arrived timely and very sturdily packed . Lots of compliments. Exactly as described. The only thing I will do is to put rubber base on each leg.

    Read More
    donna k. June 5, 2016
  • Very Pleased
    Verified Purchase

    We are decorating our new house and had been looking for simple yet interesting chairs for our office. I love the original chairs but couldn't bring myself to pay $800+ for chairs. We took a little bit of a risk ordering chairs offline (not being able to touch or see the quality) but are very pleased. It's good quality at a good value. Hard to beat stylish chairs that are sturdy without breaking the bank!

    Read More
    Kelly K. April 28, 2016
  • Accent Chair
    Verified Purchase

    Nicely constructed, black color has a nice sheen...using as an accent piece.

    Read More
    Ruth D. April 12, 2016
  • Wishbone chair
    Verified Purchase

    NIce looking chair but it's so super light weight that makes it feel cheap. I bet standing next to the real thing it would shout "fake"

    Read More
    Sarah L. February 10, 2016
  • Exactly as pictured
    Verified Purchase

    Great chair. exactly as pictured

    Read More
    Megan C. January 1, 2016
  • I'm not one to write reviews, but....
    Verified Purchase

    This chair is ultra cool. Comfortable (even though it looks like it might not be), and great-looking. It also seems to be really well made. I have them mismatched with a couple of other modern black chairs with a modern little table, and it all looks great together. I'm very, very happy with this purchase!

    Read More
    cflbf November 7, 2015
  • Love These Chairs But ....
    Verified Purchase

    These are great knockoffs of the Danish Wishbone chair, lightweight yet sturdy and comfortable. Be warned that the the seat height is about an inch lower than most set heights. Otherwise, beautiful!

    Read More
    pkat50 October 22, 2015
  • get a lot of compliments on them
    Verified Purchase

    great, simple, light small chairs. I live in a small apartment and they are perfect. Easy to move around as needed, very nice looking and simple. Not high-end quality, but still well constructed.

    Read More
    lisanyc1 May 30, 2015
  • Wish I had gotten the bar stools
    Verified Purchase

    Beautiful and mid century look.

    Read More
    lynardbeezard April 10, 2015
  • lost in transit
    Verified Purchase

    The chair is as expected. Looks like the 'real' one but to the trained eye it doesn't. Unfortunately my chair was lost in transit and it took a considerable amount of time ( 2 more weeks) to resolve the issue and finally get my chair. I had to contact Overstock regarding the issue 3 times , each time they assured me it would be taken care of and re -issued... But when I finally got it - I was happy.

    Read More
    Anna R. March 5, 2015
Sponsored Links