| Help relief efforts across the country by Donating Now ›
Today $304.99
Out of Stock
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Axium Espresso Queen-size Bed

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Beautiful
    Verified Purchase

    It took a few hours to put this bed together but the finished product is well worth the effort.

    Read More
    jurist November 27, 2010
  • difficult assembly, but great looking
    Verified Purchase

    I love this bed. The deep brown finish is gorgeous and the subtle grain texture of the rubberwood is just right. I read reviews about difficult assembly but, my word! The narrow spaces for tightening the ball/hex screws (and there are quite a few like this) had me ready to pull my hair out. If that weren't enough, while finishing up the last of these, I cracked the headboard slightly. I think the threading inside the hole somehow was pushed and split the wood since the screw wasn't even tightened flush to it yet. I was disappointed but after all the work I'd put into it, I wasn't about to ask Overstock for replacement parts and have to do it all over again! Nice sturdy bed, quite a headache to build. As always with diy furniture, have an electric screwdriver or drill!

    Read More
    skh4533 October 10, 2010
  • Enjoy
    Verified Purchase

    Ordered this item along with the 10inch memory foam mattress. Frame was shipped within one week of ordering. Came in 3 boxes: 31 lbs, 52 lbs, & 79lbs. I was alone in constructing the bed. In addition to what was provided I used a Phillips screwdriver as well as an electric drill. That all being said putting together the bed took about six hours with a few extended breaks in between. I was able use the boxes as support when putting together the side rails to the head/footboards. I also listened to previous posts in NOT applying glue to the wooden downs when connecting the siderails to the head/footboards as well. A little patience is required for some of the steps using the L-Key Ball End hex (comes with). However when it's all said and done, I'm extremely satisfied with the product and highly recommend this bed to anyone looking for an upgrade.

    Read More
    npatel October 6, 2010
  • beautiful
    Verified Purchase

    nice product. really gorgeous bed frame. heavy/solid, well made, very rich color... however, putting it together was 'intensive' to say the least. granted, i'm not the most mechanically inclined person but i felt like launching the space shuttle would be less effort. you definitely need 2 people to assemble. i love it... i just hope i never have to move!

    Read More
    zissou August 22, 2010
  • Great bed, Fantastic PRICE
    Verified Purchase

    Bought this bed for my son who has Arthritis. He's always wanted a platform bed but they where all too low.This bed was perfect. He's able to get out of bed with his feet firmly placed on the floor. Delivery was within wk and set up went smooth. He did read all the other reviews for set up problems that had occured. Great bed, Fantastic PRICE.

    Read More
    14rita August 21, 2010
  • Axium Expresso Bed
    Verified Purchase

    I am amazed at the quality of this bed, very Impressed with the Rubber wood, very tough hard wood. the stain on everything including the bed slats. The engineering that went into assembly made this bed fit together Like Norm Abrams made it. Took about two hours to put the bed together, the fits are perfect, all the fasteners and their spots are well thought out. this bed no doubt will be Heirloom, it can be around a long time, most sturdy bed I have ever owned. I used the box spring with the slats ? With the mattress and box spring I like the extra height. In my previous marriage we could afford upper cost furniture, this bed was very reasonably priced with the upper cost craftsmanship I actually bought a 3 drawer night stand and going to buy a dresser from overstock made of rubber wood. . Very Impressed

    Read More
    cpj22 May 26, 2010
  • Axium Expresso
    Verified Purchase

    The bed was delivered when promised and was not too hard to assemble. A rubber mallet is very helpful for some of the tight corners. My daughter and her husband love it.

    Read More
    queenie120 May 26, 2010
  • Love it!
    Verified Purchase

    I absolutely love my bed! I have had it for over a year now. We only use our mattress on the slats and it is so supportive and sturdy! The color is amazing too! This is a great bed, and I also have and love all of the matching pieces to go along with it...

    Read More
    katithecutie January 30, 2010
  • Nice Bed
    Verified Purchase

    Great looking. Sturdy. Was a bit difficult to put together due to the L wrench needed. I'm not a big fan, but got the job done in a couple of hours with a friend. Definitely a two person job. Overall I am very happy with the bed. I used a box spring and mattress and it looks great.

    Read More
    antodesigns January 17, 2010
  • Great Bed
    Verified Purchase

    Like most of the other reviewers said, this is a great piece of furniture. When I was researching this bed, I was concerned about the sturdiness of the slat design. After having slept on it for a month, I can say that I am really pleased with it. The combined weight of my husband and I is about 450 pounds, and the bed doesn't groan, squeak or sag at all when we're both on it. Although it was a bit tricky to put together (the instructions are easy to follow but the design requires some awkward maneuvers with a hex wrench), the fact that it's so beautiful and sturdy make it worth the extra effort. We would highly recommend this piece to anyone looking for a simple, beautiful, contemporary platform bed.

    Read More
    Mandy B. April 5, 2009
  • Beautiful, but you may need a box spring...
    Verified Purchase

    I echo the sentiments of most of the reviews on here. They are absolutely correct: The bed is beautiful - dark dark wood, clean lines, looks at least twice as expensive. Just fantastic looking. I have a modern-simple type of decor, and this bed matches perfectly. As reviews have said, there are plenty of slats. Most reviewers who talk about the box spring said they didn't need one. However, after one night with just my mattress on the slats, my back was killing me! I have a softer mattress, though one of moderate quality, so reading reviews on here, I thought I'd be fine. There is a clear difference though, and I think it's just the nature of the slats vs a box spring (box springs seem to spread the weight around the outside, slats throughout the whole mattress). I'll have to buy a low box spring now to be able to sleep. Just a warning, you might not be able to use just a mattress!!! However, that's just a box spring vs slats issue, not any fault of the bed itself. A fantastic bed all around!

    Read More
    criv227 February 19, 2009
  • Excellent Bed!
    Verified Purchase

    The bed is beautiful and you would think that it had come from a fine furniture store. My friend put it together in one night, but he had a few problems trying to tighten the screws through the holes with the wrench provided. I am very pleased and everyone who has seen it just loves it! Very sturdy material and beautiful finish.

    Read More
    alabamapickylady February 11, 2009
  • Great looking solid pieces
    Verified Purchase

    Got the bed, 6-drawer dresser and nightstand. Relatively easy for this novice to put together. A few "gaps" in the directions, but eventually figured out what to do. Definitely need two pairs of hands to assemble the bed. I ordered this set because most similar furniture I found in the same price range was constructed of particle board with veneer. This set is solid and heavy! That said, you need to be extremely careful during assemby--the wood surfaces are soft and scratch very easily! Several of the dresser drawer fronts scratched when I was attaching them to the drawer frames. I would suggest assembling on a rug/carpet and NOTstacking any of the pieces. Furniture arrived fast and was well packed. Even though some of the cartons were damaged during shipping, the contents were unharmed. Overall, a good purchase. I would consider more pieces from this line.

    Read More
    cmjri October 28, 2008
  • Love It!!!!!
    Verified Purchase

    I have bought a lot of items from overstock and once again I have been completely satisfied. The bed looks great, well made and not at all hard to put up. My friend and my niece put it together fo rme and it took about an hour. I do highly recommend that more than one person to assemble the bed.

    Read More
    ashleyarmani1 September 1, 2008
  • Nice piece for the price
    Verified Purchase

    The Axium Queen bed is the fourth piece of furniture we have bought in this line. My husband had assembled two of the other three pieces and found them to be reasonably easy to assemble. The bed was a bit harder due to some hardware malfunctions. He's a mechanical engineer, so I usually take his complaints with that in mind; however, this time some of the hardware actually broke off inside of the channels in the frame. He was able to fix the problems, and there is no visible evidence, but he was a bit frustrated. Overall, we really like this line of furniture for our guest room, and we wish the bed came in a Cal King because we'd buy it in a heartbeat.

    Read More
    suzyqwa August 1, 2008
  • An excellent buy.
    Verified Purchase

    After reading the reviews I took a chance and bought this. I wasn't disappointed at all. I'm very handy and have assembled alot of my furniture thus far. I did this alone but would recommend help for joining the 2nd half to the first half. This dresser is very heavy solid wood, so putting it upright was doable but challenging. Oh, and you will need that rubber mallet. I didn't glue the dowels (and actually would caution against it) unless you don't plan on moving it. All in all, it took me about 5 hours over 3 days. You do have to pay attention to detail. If you take the time in the beginning, you can sail through most of the assembly. I also bought, assembled and reviewed the 1 drawer nightstand. I did this one first so the nightstand was easy. I will do the bed next week...

    Read More
    bksandy July 25, 2008
  • Elegant, masculine, sturdy and modern.
    Verified Purchase

    This bed is wonderful. Much higher quality than the price would lead on. Be cautious of the soft finish and DO NOT use glue for the dowels to connect the side rails to the headboard (unless you plan to leave it in that room forever).

    Read More
    Anonymous July 9, 2008
  • beautiful!
    Verified Purchase

    Well made for "assemble at home" furniture. I've put together A LOT of furniture -- this bed came together to be quite a strong piece. It looks great with modern decor but is simple enough to compliment many styles (in my opinion). It's a true espresso finish, a very nice color. It took about three hours to assemble on my own. I would suggest getting someone to help or at least stand by for a few steps along the way. Be careful with power tools, they could damage it and there are some steps in which power tools will do you no good whatsoever! All in all, worth the work and pretty much 100% satisfied.

    Read More
    consumer#4 June 24, 2008
  • Great Bed Frame at Great Price
    Verified Purchase

    Good Value, but a little time consuming to put together. Be sure not to glue all of the sections together, or you will never be able to get it out of the Bedroom.

    Read More
    mword June 24, 2008
  • Love this bed
    Verified Purchase

    We bought the bedroom set. The bed was the hardest to put together. It took me and my husband around 2 hours to put together. It was so worth it, because this bed is solid and looks amazing. Worth it

    Read More
    hadil June 7, 2008
Sponsored Links