Today: $304.99
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Axium Espresso Queen-size Bed

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews. Learn More

  • 7 years and still going
    Verified Purchase

    I've had this bed now for 7 years. It's made a few moves, taken apart, back together and very sturdy and still looks great. It's been moved from the master to an office as a guest bed and doesn't show a bad attitude about the demotion either, it's probably happy to just relax and look out the window now.

    Read More
    scottysbunny March 9, 2016
  • Great quality
    Verified Purchase

    This bed looks much more expensive than it was. We love this bed and plan on keeping it for years to come.

    Read More
    Kathleen M. February 18, 2016
  • Fine Rubberwood Bed - Terrible Design And Instruct
    Verified Purchase

    This Axium rubberwood bed is the second bed I bought from Overstock in the past three months. The first, the Kota Queen-size, went out of stock or I would have bought it again. The Kota was pretty easy to put together but tedious to screw in the slats. The Axxium is a whole other ball of wax, bad instructions and a terrible do-it-yourself construction procedure. The key detail in putting together this bed is to align the metal bolts to the metal screw in sleeves in headboard. That detail is put in a small box at the bottom of one instruction page. A whole page of the instructions just shows the slats on the bed frame. To screw in the bolts , I found that using a allen key hex driver in an extender that you have in a multi-head screwdriver is the best way to tighten the bolt until the very end, when the allen wrench with the bed works best to tighten the bolt. IMHO, Overstock is clearing out the Axium bed because there were too many customer complaints about the difficulty in putting the bed together. My Kota bed has the headboard in one piece, pre-assembled with legs. You have to attach the Axium legs to the headboard. With the Kota, front or back, the headboard looks fine, unlike the Axium with its holes in the back where you insert the bolts. The Kota Queen-size is now back in stock, its base price $** more than I paid for it over two months ago. Even at its higher price now, the Kota is a better buy than the Axium if you factor in aggravation and sweat. By the way, if the dowels you have wiggle in the slots where you attach the side railing, instead of glue you can use masking tape around the dowel and pressure fit the #10 dowel into the slot. The cam locks that come with the Axium are junk, so be care when tightening them. My bed came with one broken center rail and the CSR at Overstock did an fine job taking my replacement request down and arranging for a replacement center rail. From the other comments of most customers describing how putting this bed together was pretty easy, I now realize that Overstock must have many Mensa members with the construction abilities of master contractor Michael Holmes. I think this Axium bed has a terribly flawed design that makes it a very hard DIY assembly project. The Axium bed has good rubberwood components and bad everything else.

    Read More
    gerry02 September 15, 2014
  • Sturdy but cracked
    Verified Purchase

    This is a study bed, real wood. Two of us put it together an it took about 3 hours. The instructions were very straight forward but, as other reviewers have stated, some areas were really difficult to tighten the screws (the headboard). For the most part, the holes fit with the dowels... some were too tight, some were loose, but we made it work. The 2 legs beneath the slots of the bed were difficult to line up with the existing screw holes. In the end, we were able to force it. The major flaw is the crack in the headboard. It's a hairline crack and we didn't see it until we were finished building the bed. We didn't want to take the bed apart and wait for overstock to send a replacement so we just kept it. But with time (since july 2012) the crack looks to have grown.... slightly and slowly but it is indeed more noticeable.

    Read More
    waitforit November 3, 2012
  • Great looking bed
    Verified Purchase

    Love the bed once it was put together.....However, I have put together many pieces of furniture over the years and this was definitely the most challenging! It took me about 3 hours. I didn't think the instructions were as well written as they could be and there are about 16 screws that have to be placed using a hex wrench that does not actually conform to the place you are trying to get to. Very time consuming but worth it once the bed is put together.

    Read More
    bazinga2 March 17, 2012
  • All I could hope for
    Verified Purchase

    I was a bit nervous about the bed after reading some lower rated reviews but it looked to gorgeous and the positive reviews too good not to give the bed a try and I am so glad I did! Yep, assembly is a bit more complicated than an Ikea bed but really not less difficult to do. The bed itself is beautiful and sturdy and I love it! Yep, assembly isn't the most fun thing to do but I'm 5'4" and 110lbs and I put the whole thing together myself in about 4 lazy hours. Again, great looking and sturdy, I highly recommend it! One thing though - the mattress I bought has a warranty that's only good if slates are no more than 2" apart. The number of slates provided are for I think for a 3" gap between, thus I had to go to the local hardware store and get 2 extra slates made. Not an issue though. They were simple and easy to do.

    Read More
    lbsd October 28, 2010
  • Excellent value, great quality
    Verified Purchase

    As others have mentioned, this bed looks fantastic. I assembled it by myself (moving the boxes from outside my building to inside my bedroom was the hardest part), and that took about 2 hours. My biggest complaint, same as everyone else, is the very tight clearance for tightening the allen-head screws. The manufacturer has made narrow cut-outs in the wood material so you can insert the long screws and tighten with the provided allen-key. Naturally, if you try to use the ball head of the allen-key as they suggest in the instructions, you will begin stripping the screws. So instead, I used the other end of the allen-key, which required constantly re-inserting, rotating a couple of degrees to tighten, removing the allen-key, and repeating. It was pretty frustrating but if you had a ratcheted hex wrench you could do the job much faster. In the end, because I was patient, I did not strip any of the screws, and the bed assembled to a very solid finished product. I don't think two people are necessary to get this done because you can prop up the long side rails, etc. with small boxes or other things around your home. My bedroom doorway is really small and there's a tight corner when you leave the room, so I will have to disassemble the bed if/when I move. That shouldn't be a problem since loosening screws is a lot easier than tightening, assuming you insert the allen-key or ratcheted hex tool all the way so you don't strip them on the way out. I coupled the bed with an 8" memory foam mattress and the outcome is awesome! Just be patient and you will be very happy with your purchase.

    Read More
    oldmanonmountain August 31, 2010
  • Awesome (when finished)
    Verified Purchase

    I was in awe at the site of how many parts and pieces that required assembly. I live alone and it took me about three hours to put the entire bed together. Definitely recommend having someone help to speed things along. I don't understand why the individual boards that support the bed had to be individually (about 30 of them) screwed into the bed. That will make disassembly a nightmare if I move. It would have been much simpler to make the pieces like a ladder, stringed together and then you don't have to worry about screwing them into the frame. However, I'll tell you that the end result is a piece of quality furniture that looks awesome.

    Read More
    alphaone086 May 18, 2008
  • Axium Espresso Queen-size Bed
    Verified Purchase

    This is a very nice bed, shipping was incredible fast. Workmanship was nice. But assembly is a pain in the rear. They definitely could have given you a longer allen wrench. It took me about 2 hours to put it together. There a few steps where you do need a second set of hands to help, but most of it, you can do yourself. Once it is all put together, it is very sturdy and beautiful looking. The color is dark, almost black, but looks so nice against earth tones.

    Read More
    haile2066 December 20, 2007
  • Nice
    Verified Purchase

    Great looking bed! I did have a problem with a broken headboard when i received everything. Overstock got out a new one within a week though! I didnt think it was very hard to put together, but does take some time.

    Read More
    mrapplebee05 December 19, 2007
  • Love the Axium
    Verified Purchase

    My guest bedroom looks great considering I purchased the Axium queen size bed and matching nightstands. Clean lines and the rich dark color is what I was expecting and is definitely what I received. I wish we had more space for the dresser or armoire. Sure wish they made a bench to match. If you purchase the bed, just know that you will probably not be able to use the box spring because of the height. Obviously you still can but you will then cover up most of the headboard. Otherwise it was money well spent.

    Read More
    lilcmh November 26, 2007
  • Axiom Expresso Queen size bed
    Verified Purchase

    This bed is even more attractive than it looks in the pictures. It is very sturdy. The bed comes in three boxes and takes two people to assemble, but if you follow the directions carefully everything fits together nicely. The rails are screwed to the frame, so be sure you have the bed where you want it when assembling because it would have to be disassembled to move to another room. Overall, a beautiful product and a great value.

    Read More
    Anonymous May 31, 2007
  • a little difficult
    Verified Purchase

    This bed is beautiful and just what I was looking for. Be warned though it is a bear to put together. My husband is a proffesional carpenter and even he encountered some problems. Also don't plan on using a box spring with this bed as you will need a stepladder to get into it!

    Read More
    tilly59 May 12, 2007
  • Mary24
    Verified Purchase

    I was so surprised by the quality of this bed! It's solid and well made. It took some time to assemble, but was well worth it.

    Read More
    Anonymous January 14, 2007
  • Not too mobile
    Verified Purchase

    This product is excellent. Solid construction. Quality materials and finish. It takes a while to assemble, but assembly is not that difficult. The only major problem I had with this product is that if I were to move. It's near impossible to disassemble. It's seemed like it was designed to be assembled in your room of choice and left in that room.

    Read More
    vash1234 December 24, 2006
  • Axium platform bed
    Verified Purchase

    I was really pleased with this bed. The quality is very good for the price as is the construction. It came within 3 days with no damage. It took a little while to put together, but it was worth it. The color and sturdiness are very good.

    Read More
    Anonymous December 17, 2006
  • Absolutely Beautiful!
    Verified Purchase

    This was my first furniture purchase from Overstock and I'm more than pleased. This bed is exactly what I was looking for. The color is a deep, rich, black/brown. It looks wonderful with almost any color bedding and adds a touch of class to any room! Assembly is a bit of a pain, but it was all worth it in the end.

    Read More
    soontobesingle December 16, 2006
  • Good looking, good quality
    Verified Purchase

    I saw this bed on verstock.com and went to a local modern furniture store and found a bed there with exactly same look for about $800. I decided to get one from overstock.com and I'm happy with it, very good quality. The assembly is reasonable. There are screws that you need to screw in an awkward position but the hex wrench that come with the bed is design for this awkward screwing (look at the long end of the wrench). I'm actually impressed with the design. I like the look, like the quality. So, overall, I'm very happy with it.

    Read More
    kraiwut December 15, 2006
  • Sent the wrong leg
    Verified Purchase

    The bed is beautiful but very hard to put together. Overstock also sent two right legs, so we had to wait two weeks to receive the left leg and had the bed in pieces all over our bedroom. Besides that trouble, the bed is nice.

    Read More
    stephlee55 December 14, 2006
  • Solid bed
    Verified Purchase

    Very sturdy and simple. I put it together by myself.

    Read More
    Robin G. April 24, 2017
Sponsored Links