Free Shipping* & 5% Rewards On Every Order* With Club O
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Altra Dark Walnut Writing Desk with Hutch

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Elegance
    Verified Purchase

    All I can say is wow! The entire order and experience with Overstock has been phenomenal! Shipping was expedited and fast! Not to mention, Leslie in the oversize delivery department at Overstock was extremely professional and helpful. When the boxes arrived, I found my desk to be securely packed with styrofoam. There are no scratches or knicks! Now onto the desk itself. One word describes it! Elegance! This is real wood and not veneers or cheap looking plywood. The desk itself is quite heavy. It has a rich walnut color to it. The styling of this writing desk is reminiscent of a Chippendale piece of furniture from the 18th century. One thing I do not care for is the hardware on the drawers. I would have preferred rustic looking brass knobs rather than the modern looking ones in nickel or stainless steel. There are features to discreetly tuck away your computer and router box wires so that they remain hidden. One nifty thing is that included in the box is a pen to do periodic touchups to the wood. I am absolutely convinced that this is the finest piece of furniture on Overstock. This could easily sell for thousands of dollars and it looks expensive too!

    Read More
    kildruf April 25, 2014
  • Altra Dark Walnut Writing Desk - Beautiful
    Verified Purchase

    This product was easy to put together; was packaged well. Once put together, it reallly is a beautiful piece. Very large; all drawers work beautifully. Functions and really looks great in the office.

    Read More
    squirrel2012 April 29, 2013
  • desk w hutch
    Verified Purchase

    Looks like its 3x its value. Its beautiful. On the back left leg it has a special attachment that holds all the wires! And two places to put your items to charge with all the wires out of the way . Has a pull out tray for the keyboard, and if you dont want to use it as such it has a flap that goes up with strong magnets turning it into a drawer. Very well designed. Im glad I ordered it because at the time mine was the last one they had! I love it.

    Read More
    table4 April 20, 2013
  • Outstanding
    Verified Purchase

    This is an outstanding desk, with solid wood throughout. No particle board or plywood at all! No veneers, just good quality solid wood. Came almost entirely assembled, just attached the legs with the included allen wrench, hand-screw the metal tabs into the top and put the hutch down. Legs are very solid and do not wobble, hutch is well made. Saw the same product on furniture websites for double or even triple the price. Great value, great product.

    Read More
    austinsgt November 15, 2012
  • Beautiful and well made.
    Verified Purchase

    I was a little worried about purchasing this desk since I could not find any reviews on it anywhere. I am not in the least disappointed with it. There is no veneer or particle board on it at all. It's made out of all hardwood. The stain is beautiful, and it is a very well constructed desk.

    Read More
    gbishop81 November 6, 2012
  • My work station
    Verified Purchase

    It's a nice big size table that fits perfectly in our study corner.. Sometime my husband and I both sit side by side and have enough space to work on our laptops. It's a good looking table with nice finishing and looks expensive. It was very heavy but easy to assemble. We love using our desk. I wish it has slightly more storage space.

    Read More
    alizehsyed March 4, 2014
  • Amazing beautiful piece of furniture
    Verified Purchase

    This is a great solid quality piece for your home office. I'm extremely happy about my purchase and how quick they delivered. Very reasonable price for what you get. Highly recommended.

    Read More
    dannyiel February 26, 2014
  • Love, Love, Love my new desk!!!
    Verified Purchase

    I have been looking for a desk for quite some time and stumbled on this desk. I love the look and style of the desk and it literally took me and my sister 15 minutes to put the desk together. The desk is solid wood and for they price it was perfect. Everything I have bought from Overstock.com never seems to surprise me. I love everything I get from this website!!!

    Read More
    mary2114 November 30, 2013
  • STUNNING!
    Verified Purchase

    This desk is simply beautiful! It comes almost completely assembled - I spent about 20 minutes screwing in the legs and inserting the pegs for the hutch to sit upon, all with two kids jumping around the room (it was VERY easy). It is completely solid - no cheap wood here! It came absolutely flaw free and perfect in every way. Thanks again, overstock, for another piece of beautiful furniture!!!

    Read More
    lorieschu September 30, 2013
  • Beautiful
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered this desk, along with another desk and a bedroom set from Overstock. So far, I've received the two desks. Before that, I'd never ordered furniture from Overstock, so I was a little skeptical. I was afraid the prices were too good to be true. This desk was delivered in 2 boxes. The hutch in one and the desk top and legs in another. Assembly was ridiculously simple. This desk is absolutely gorgeous, and exactly what I was looking for. Nobody would ever believe it wasn't closer to $1,000, like all the similar writing desks I came across while shopping for one. Although the description clearly states the dimensions on the piece, I was blown away at the size of it in my room. It is one sturdy, expensive-looking piece of furniture. If you're in the market for a writing desk, do not hesitate to purchase this. You won't be disappointed!

    Read More
    toni1020 September 20, 2013
  • Awesome Desk and Experience
    Verified Purchase

    Received the desk last night - it looks even better than the picture, solid wood, great features and fits beautifully in our office. I was looking for a desk that didn't look so heavy but fit into our transitional room and its just right. Plenty of working space and storage for small things. Very intuitive and easy to put together, just the legs that need attaching and attaching the hutch. And on top of all that, the shipper was great, delivered on time and was extremely helpful.

    Read More
    mynala September 5, 2013
  • GORGEOUS DESK
    Verified Purchase

    THIS DESK IS A BEAUTIFUL PIECE OF FURNITURE. IT WAS WELL PACKAGED AND ARRIVED QUICKLY AND IN EXCELLENT CONDITION. IT IS SOLID WOOD AND VERY HANDSOME. ASSEMBLY WAS EASY. IT HAS SOME FEATURES NOT MENTIONED ON LINE. THERE IS A DOOR RUNNING ALONG THE RIGHT REAR BACK SIDE OF THE LEG WHERE YOU CAN RUN AND CONCEAL YOUR ELECTRIC CORDS. ALSO THERE IS ANOTHER HINGED DOOR ON THE BACK BEHIND THE CUBICALS TO OPEN AND EASILY MOVE CORDS OUT OF SIGHT. COMPUTER DRAWER CAN BE USED AS A REGULAR DRAWER OR CAN FOLD DOWN FOR COMPUTER. THIS IS CHARMING, HANDSOME AND CLASSY. I RECOMMEND THIS DESK AND HUTCH.

    Read More
    soapinista August 19, 2013
  • Attractive with good work space.
    Verified Purchase

    It is a good looking, solid desk & attached hutch ( if you want the hutch). I do & find that I have plenty of work space. I like the cable management feature. It delivered with plenty of packaging around it, so there were no dings in the wood.

    Read More
    nani58 August 10, 2013
  • Poor quality, not solid wood, veneer.
    Verified Purchase

    This is not solid wood, it is wood veneer over solid wood. You can tell because the veneer is flaking off is certain places. I had to glue parts of it back down. Also, the drawer in the middle was broken and I had to fix it with glue and some paper clips to fix the sliding mechanism. Also, this desk comes in 2 packages. Overstock only sent the 2nd box, the desk. Took another 2 weeks for them to send the hutch. This table looks nice, but is poor quality. I would have returned it if it was lighter and easier to return.

    Read More
    jusenlin December 25, 2012
  • Beautiful Desk
    Verified Purchase

    The desk itself was beautiful. However it arrived without the hutch, and when the replacement hutch arrived, it came damaged and without the drawers.

    Read More
    mstrawn2 December 12, 2012
  • writing desk with hutch
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered and recieved the desk but not the hutch.so i called overstock and they contacted the company that makes the desk and i had the hutch within a week.great job overstock!!

    Read More
    hairdressers December 12, 2012
  • Beautiful Desk
    Verified Purchase

    I love this desk, only problem was it came without the hutch and they were unable to send the hutch.that is why I couldn't recommend it to a friend! I kept the desk and they gave me a partial refund which was a fair amount, however, I really was disappointed that I didn't receive the hutch. The desk is large and made of real wood. Very good quality. I am hoping I can find another hutch to use with this desk.

    Read More
    peggy1966 December 11, 2012
  • Altra Dark Walnut Writing Desk w/hutch
    Verified Purchase

    The desk is well=made, heavy, nicely finished. Went together is 30 minutes, all parts included in the packaging. A second person is needed to stabilize the legs when screwing them in place. The hutch is not the same quality construction or finish. However, when totally assembled, it looks very nice, and certainly fits our needs as a computer and writing area in a guest bedroom.

    Read More
    mklg December 4, 2012
  • Quality craftsmanship. Dovetailed drawers.
    Verified Purchase

    Downside was the inept shipping department which was compounded by the inept customer service. They only sent box 2 of 2, and trying to get them to send box 1 of 2 was impossible without resend both boxes again. Reason? They can't just send one of the set. I was confused by their reasoning as I was looking at one of the set as they were saying it. This puts the onus on me to sent the other box back, due to their error. Now I have a free shipping coupon for having purchased the desk. Free shipping? Shipping for this 130 pound desk was less than $3.00 so I'm really thrilled with the coupon. Bottom line, the desk was great once I recieved it all. Getting it here was another matter.

    Read More
    captmidnight53 November 23, 2012
  • FANTASTIC DESK
    Verified Purchase

    Had to assemble a few pieces - very simple. This is solid - super solid full wood. Heavy piece of furniture - a keeper and hand me down. Well crafted. Got a a great price.

    Read More
    bumscoop May 14, 2017
Sponsored Links