Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Altra Astute Single Pedestal Desk and File Cabinet Set

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • mrs L.
    Verified Purchase

    first of all, no file cabinet.obtained a refund for that after so many calls. it is good looking but not durable. soft material, scratches at any bump. would not purchase it again.

    Read More
    Carmelle B. December 17, 2015
  • Desk and filing cabinet
    Verified Purchase

    Cabinet doesn't assemble well. Replacement parts were not good, but workable. Desk is good.

    Read More
    Marybeth C. May 9, 2015
  • Not worth the money or time
    Verified Purchase

    Awful piece. Holes did not line up correctly with dowels. Dowel was too long to fit tightly into holes so this file cabinet would not ever be able to be connected correctly. The pieces that were made of wood were sturdy and probably would look nice when assembled but because it would not stay together, i have to return it. There were many, many pieces with this file drawer and it will take a lot of patience to assemble. I do not believe it is worth your time or money.

    Read More
    ttravels December 20, 2013
  • Drawers do not fit hanging files!
    Verified Purchase

    1. My unit was damaged when I received it. - A small dent on the top surface of the desk, which I didn't mind too much. - One of the drawer slide rollers was cracked in half so it doesn't work properly. 2. The file drawers do not fit hanging files. I use file folders with tabs so I can label my files. I think just about everyone does this. Anyway, the file drawers do not have enough clearance for those tabs to be sticking up above the top of the hanging file. I cannot put any of my files in either the desk or the file cabinet because the drawers won't close. This product literally does not do what it is designed for.

    Read More
    arisingstar September 30, 2013
  • love it!
    Verified Purchase

    I was so hesitant to buy because of the other reviews, but I absolutely love this desk. Husband put it together and said it wasn't too difficult. It looks just like the picture...a lovely espresso finish. Very stylish. Great value. Highly recommend it!

    Read More
    laylarenee12 September 25, 2013
  • Didn't come in pristine shape
    Verified Purchase

    I liked this product and it's style. It came in fairly decent condition but one peice of the cart had a crack in it and there were scratches on multiple parts of the item. It is a great style and size but trouble with shipping. It also was very simple to put together. Took some time but not complicated as long as you read the directions.

    Read More
    traceydrob September 24, 2013
  • DO NOT BUY!!!!!
    Verified Purchase

    Do not buy this desk and filing cabinet set. I am so disappointed and wish I could get my money back. First of all, Overstock sent the desk without the filing cabinet so we had to wait for it to arrive separately. Secondly, the desk came damaged with a VERY noticeable dent/hole in the top. I could have gotten over these details if the product was even remotely worth the money. The bars in the drawers that are supposed to hold up the folders do not stay up. When you are finally able to line up the bars into the holes long enough to put in file folders then you can't shut the drawer. Its ridiculously poor quality and now i'm stuck with a non-functioning desk and filing cabinet. The ONLY saving grace is that they are decent looking pieces. DO NOT BUY!!!

    Read More
    brennaslp August 18, 2013
  • Elegant!
    Verified Purchase

    The furniture looks far more valuable than the purchase price would indicate. It arrived in very good condition and was very well packed. Assembly instructions were clear and easy to follow. It did take approximately 2.5 hours to assemble. We are completely satisfied.

    Read More
    graymacy July 28, 2013
  • This desk and file cabinet is AMAZING!!!
    Verified Purchase

    I LOVE THIS SET!!! I DID NOT BUY THIS BASED OFF PREVIOUS REVIEWS AND I AM THANKFUL FOR THAT!!! The desk and file cabinet arrived on seperate days. Both items are very easy to assemble. It does take a little bit of time, yet I did not mind. Great tip: open the box, seperate all parts and identify the parts in the instructions to make sure all parts are present BEFORE you start. Follow the directions exactly as described. There were no missing parts. Everything lined up perfectly as I assembled both items. You have to make sure to install the drawer bottoms the right way. When you slide the drawer bottom in as you are assembling the drawers together slide it all the way in on the thin track, then take it out and turn it 90 degrees, and slide it in again to see which way it fits better. Drawers were very easy to install and they open and close smoothly. On the slide out keyboard drawer of the desk, the front lip can be installed 2 different ways. The lip can join the drawer with a high ledge (kind of where your wrists set) or you can turn the lip 180 degrees to have a shallow lip. I chose the shallow way to feel more comfortable. The color is a true espresso; however, the front panel of the top drawer of the file cabinet is slightly lighter than everything else. This is a very nice looking contemporary office set. I am extremely pleased with it. The top of the desk is a perfect size. I have a 27" iMac that sets on top with plenty of workspace left. I am an online college student and this is the best set up for my needs. Plus I'm able to have all my inportant files at my fingers. One thing I forgot to mention is the metal mounts for hanging files in the file drawer of the file cabinet is mounted a little too high. So if you hang files in that drawer it becomes hard to close. I used the file drawer in the desk for all my files which works perfectly. Combined, this set gives you 3 nice size box drawers and 2 file drawers. The only reason I gave it 4 stars has to do with Overstock. When I purchased this set it stated that I would receive 2 seperate boxes but it never stated that I would received it on different days. So I received the desk and not the file cabinet. I contacted Overstock about the missing item. It took them several days to contact me back with an answer. Their answer was that the warehouse no longer had the file cabinet in stock and offered me a small discount. I had already assembled the desk and was patiently waiting for the matching file cabinet. Once I read that I would not be able to receive the matching item, I was really upset. I wanted everything to match. Low and behold, the file cabinet arrived at my door. I am one happy girl!!!

    Read More
    lorenln July 20, 2013
  • missing file cabinet
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered the set with file cabinet but only received the desk. The desk was easy to put together and the finish is nice. I want the file cabinet too!

    Read More
    rmc811 July 16, 2013
  • office furniture
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered three Desks for the office. The desks were in very bad shape, missing pieces like drawer bottom. The reassembled parts fell apart, and went loose. The paint was rough and some of the edges were damaged. This is extremely poorly made desks. The lack of ethics shows in every inch you touch this product. It is too bad they are heavy and hard to through through the window. I will never order again from Overstock... !

    Read More
    pennysaver2 July 12, 2013
  • nice looking but hard to put together
    Verified Purchase

    I have put may of this kind of furniture together. The desk was very difficult to put together, The back part broke and I had to screw in screws in the back for extra support. The file cabinet metal pieces are too short and keep falling off the track, so I taped them on. After all the tweeking I had to do, it actually looks very nice, and working well.

    Read More
    canuk57 July 7, 2013
  • Review of Desk and Cabinet
    Verified Purchase

    The item was difficult to put together and already in pretty bad shape upon arrival with scuffs and chips. The pre-assembled portions of the drawers fell apart and were difficult to put back together because there were no instructions for that portion of the assembly. Also, the screws for the different parts of the assembly were not clearly labeled. I would have returned the item if it was not so difficult to put back the way it came.

    Read More
    ecoletta July 4, 2013
  • Altra Astute Desk and File Cabinet
    Verified Purchase

    Product was packaged well, no damage upon arrival. There are some blemishes in the finish on the desk top, but nothing too bad. When assembling, take your time and pay attention to the drawings. Some drawer parts were mislabeled! Also, use a carpenters square when putting the units together. If the main parts aren't square, the drawers don't close properly....in this case, you get what you pay for!

    Read More
    tameezie June 27, 2013
  • Bad Buy
    Verified Purchase

    Instructions were wrong which made assembly doubly difficult. When finally assembled, the file drawer of the file cabinet is out of line and won't close when files are inserted. I have to just use it as a drawer.

    Read More
    revc1 June 21, 2013
  • Good quality furniture from an outstanding company
    Verified Purchase

    My furniture arrived with a couple minor issues...overstock.com took care of the problem and I am 100% satisfied. I highly recommend overstock.com

    Read More
    karen19861995 May 29, 2013
  • JUnk! Junk! Junk!
    Verified Purchase

    This desk came damaged- the drawer mechanism for the keyboard drawer was completely broken off- so that's not working. The rest of the desk came together and worked. Not so for the filing cabinet. I cannot believe this made it past any company's quality assurance department. Nothing fit. Neither drawer worked, nothing lined up to make the drawers work. None of the pieces fit together. I spent many hours of my holiday weekend putting this together just to find it completely useless!

    Read More
    rebscot May 27, 2013
  • not bad at all
    Verified Purchase

    the product was exactly what i thought it was going to be. lets be realistic, i only paid *** for a desk. for the price? it was amazing. some parts were mislabeled but you would have to be pretty uneducated to not know what is what. a couple dings here and there but nothing too bad. over all i am very happy with my purchase.

    Read More
    neilio12 May 14, 2013
  • Pain to assemble
    Verified Purchase

    This was an undertaking I was not prepared for. The good: Product is as pictured in size and scale. Looks great once together. The bad: Assembly was a nightmare. Back leg received was cracked. Decided to make due as this was the only really damaged piece. It would cost more to send it back than to repair/patch ourselves. Looked like someone had already tried to put this together, scratches in areas. Tons of pieces, if you are not adept in assembling things this is not a good project to start on. It took two of us several hours and alot of make up as you go along. The color is darker than appears on the website. Overall its up and it functions, but I will purchase assembled furniture from now on.

    Read More
    newhm13 May 13, 2013
  • Impossible Drawers
    Verified Purchase

    The desk looks nice aside from the drawers. They were impossible to assemble and are not functional. They are crooked and you can tell just by looking at them but I've taken so much time trying to figure out the problem that I've given up. Disappointed.

    Read More
    newhomey12 May 5, 2013
Sponsored Links