Today $479.99

At other retailer: $568.54

Save $88.55 (16%)

Free Shipping*
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Alsa Queen Platform Bed

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Zen Vibe, Sturdy, Beautiful Wood
    Verified Purchase

    This is a great find on Overstock.com. I'm redoing my bedroom and didn't want to spend a fortune on a new bed, but definitely wanted something simple and really nice. I feel like I hit the jackpot. This bed looks so much more expensive than it is. It sits very low to the ground and has a very cool zen vibe about it. The wood is a dark, rich, beautiful color and is shockingly sturdy. I couldn't believe that something that came to me in 3 boxes is as rock solid as it is. As a moderately handy girl, I was able to put this bed together in about an hour. People that really know what they're doing will probably have it together in about half that time. I did buy a bunky board to support my mattress. The planks are very sturdy and solid, but I personally just wanted the extra support for my bed. The only downside is that the top piece of the footboard was broken off from the main piece when I opened the box. It's the same complaint that a lot of other people have mentioned in their reviews, so it must be a problem in the original packing. In the meantime, I've attached it to the bed as-is, but customer support was on top of the situation immediately and are sending me a replacement footboard that will take about 5 minutes to swap out. No biggie. LOVE my bed and have been incredibly impressed with Overstock's customer service department.

    Read More
    td128 April 15, 2011
  • Overall great, some problems
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this bed, nightstands and dresser. Overall it is a great set and it looks much better than it does in the picture. The bed was easy to assemble, the only problem is that the bed needs a lower mattress because the headboard is not very high. With a mattress more than 8 inches there is really not much of the headboard that you can see. Otherwise it is a comfortable and stylish looking bed, especially if you prefer low beds. The dresser and nightstand also look great, but are a pain to put together and the instructions are really bad. I made a mistake putting a nightstand together but once I got the hang of it, the other one and the dresser were not a problem even thought the dresser required a lot of energy to assemble. After all the work, it looks like a great set and I'm very pleased with it. Also, the delivery was quick and efficient.

    Read More
    recentbuyersept10 September 24, 2010
  • Nice, affordable platform bed
    Verified Purchase

    My husband and I had been searching for the perfect platform bed for a long time. Everything we found was either too expensive, not the right color, too boring, to embellished, etc. This bed was the perfect balance for us - a nice dark color (but not black or espresso), simple & clean lines (but not boring), and a great price. We also wanted a bed where the mattress sat "in" the frame as opposed to just "on" the frame. Our only negative comment - the assembly was a little difficult as the instructions were vague and there were no pre-drilled holes for the slats that go under the mattress. We had to measure and mark them all out, and it would have been impossible to screw them in without a drill.

    Read More
    dandelion195 May 24, 2011
  • Excellent product and service
    Verified Purchase

    This bed is just what we were looking for. We use it as a platform bed (no box spring). With our new mattress (14 inches high), the bed is a perfect height and very comfortable. Overstock provided excellent and fast service - we couldn't be more satisfied.

    Read More
    coalregiongal April 21, 2011
  • Nice
    Verified Purchase

    Love the bed frame. Easy to assemble. Looks great. Feels sturdy. However the wood trim on the top foot of the board was separated (on the end) from the main plank of wood when I opened it. I had a friend fix it for me instead of dealing with the hassel of sending it back... I knocked off a star on the review because of this defect...

    Read More
    nikole0384 February 24, 2011
  • Love it - beautiful and sturdy!

    I bought the Alsa because it was a Zen-looking platform bed. It looks as good in person as it does on the site. We have a very heavy TempurPedic mattress on it, and it bears the weight just fine. My only caution: check the height of your mattress. Ours is 13" high, and a lot of the headboard is concealed - only about 2-3" showing at the top. Still looks great though! Also bought the matching nightstands, which I definitely reccommend because the bed is so low - might look odd with taller nightstands. Super easy to assemble - my husband did the bed by himself in about an hour. An electric drill is helpful for securing the slats, since there aren't pre-drilled holes. Wasn't an issue for us at all though, would just take longer with a manual one. It did arrive damaged, but Overstock was great and shipped us a replacement free of charge and very quickly. Overall very pleased with the set and overall experience shopping with Overstock.

    Read More
    sboles1286 March 18, 2012
  • Solid wood bed
    Verified Purchase

    The bed is solid and well made. The packaging was substantial. The only problem was that the hardware kit was missing. I contacted customer support and was supposed to receive replacement hardware, but it still has yet to show up. After about a week I just went to the hardware store and bought the bolts (8 short metric bolts and some wood screws for the slats) necessary to assemble the bed. Missing hardware is the cardinal sin of mail-order furniture. Shame, shame. The slats (12) are especially high-quality and were pre-drilled. This was very nice. I'm very happy with the bed. I just can't tell you how much it drives a consumer crazy when the hardware is missing! For the love of all that is good in this world, please pay more attention to that.

    Read More
    circuitsanddaisies August 25, 2011
  • Very good
    Verified Purchase

    The bed is very easy to assemble. It took my wife and me only about 20 minutes to do it - in fact, the nightstands take a lot longer to assemble than the bed. Of course, this is assuming you have a power drill. If not, it can take a lot longer, since the holes for the slat-screws are not pre-drilled. One thing to keep in mind is that the bed looks a lot smaller than a conventional queen size bed after it has been assembled. Probably because it is so low to the ground (in reality, it is the same size as a regular queen bed). If we had realized this earlier, we might have gone for the king size, just to fill out our room. But other than that, it is a very good product.

    Read More
    hank1980 March 15, 2013
  • Very happy with my bed
    Verified Purchase

    It was on my doorstep in 3 days!! I ordered it on a Saturday and I had it on Tuesday. Fastest shipping ever!! And I was prepared to wait three weeks. I think the bed is beautiful and I'm so happy with it. The "rim" around the edge is a nice touch, but I'm still getting used to it and I bang my shin on it. I have a mattress pad on my bed and it makes the sleeping surface just high enough that the headboard isn't comfortable to lean my head back on. I love it!!

    Read More
    rosemadoze August 23, 2011
  • Solid platform bed
    Verified Purchase

    Overall this bed is great if you're looking for a good platform bed. Mine arrived undamaged and I have already moved it 3 times without any problems. The slats are pretty good for a regular spring coiled mattress but I have a tempurpedic so I put a piece of thin piece of plywood down to support the mattress as well. I would highly recommend if you're looking for a low platform bed that has a nice dark brown color.

    Read More
    Chris W. November 27, 2015
  • Low bed I was looking for.
    Verified Purchase

    Wanted a bed that would go under the window and this one fit the bill nicely. Was easy to assemble, took about 30 mins. We have been using this bed for over 3months now and it was a good buy.

    Read More
    Suparna M. August 20, 2015
  • "Best Purchase Ever"!!!
    Verified Purchase

    All I can say is this bed is terrific! It was easy to put together and fits perfectly in my home. It was a great value for the price.

    Read More
    nycadel7 April 24, 2014
  • Awesome bed!
    Verified Purchase

    I love this bed! I'm very happy with it. In fact, I'm almost angry at how awesome it is. I ordered this for a new memory foam mattress that I purchased. However, the bed came in before the mattress and we had to use our old mattress on it. I don't know how, but it made the old mattress more comfortable! Anyways, my boyfriend put this together in about an hour and he hand screwed all the slats in. The directions were good and easy to follow. It looks really good in my room. The low height of it definitely makes the room feel more open. It is also very sturdy! I jumped onto the bed and it didn't make a single noise. My pillows hide the headboard, but that's okay! If you have an 8" mattress, you will be able to see the headboard fine. It is really low to the ground so be prepared.

    Read More
    jasminecara October 31, 2013
  • Great shipping. Nice bed without surprises.
    Verified Purchase

    Nice bed. Not incredible quality but definitely a good value. Attractive. I do wish the headboard was taller because it limits your choice in mattresses significantly. Still: nice bed, decent quality, appropriately advertised.

    Read More
    pattimeh October 9, 2013
  • Excellent bed!
    Verified Purchase

    I just got this bed and I love it. One of my biggest fears in buying a bed online is having it arrive to find it has a weak structure; I'm a solid 250 lbs and I've had more than one bed completely give out just from flopping down on it! This bed feels heavy and sturdy, and comes with plenty of slats. This bed is LOW, which I wanted and am happy with, but some people might be surprised by how low it is.

    Read More
    ufjocknerd September 21, 2013
  • Happy with this bed
    Verified Purchase

    I have had this bed for a month now, and I am very happy with it. It came in three packages, and arrived on good condition. It is very solid and nice looking. It took two of us about an hour to put it together without any power tools...that would have saved some time. I just threw a bunky board on it with an 8" memory foam mattress, and it is solid as a rock and looks great!

    Read More
    ryansmom03 July 5, 2013
  • positive Review
    Verified Purchase

    My son LOOOOOOOVES his new bed. Very contemporary, clean looks, SUPER easy to install but most importantly very very sturdy.

    Read More
    runnerg February 23, 2013
  • Great Bed
    Verified Purchase

    Great bed as described in the product description and reviews. The only bad thing I can say is that you need some extra tools to assemble the slats on the bottom. I had to measure it out myself and use a screwdriver to get it them all secure. But honestly excluding a little extra work the quality and look of this bed is awesome. Plus we my wife and i have been sleeping on it for several weeks now...not one problem. Beats anything we found in numerous stores by price and quality. West elm, pottery barn, local furniture store, etc....this bed has them all beat if you are looking for this style. And again its half the price they wanted to charge us!

    Read More
    captain06 February 12, 2013
  • Very happy with this bed
    Verified Purchase

    I spent a lot of time looking for a quality platform bed. I based my decision mostly on the reviews of other customers. Overall this bed frame got the best reviews I could find. Once I got it unpacked I could see why. It is made of heavy, sturdy materials. The instructions were simple and it took me about an hour to put it together. If you don't have an extension piece for your drill, I would recommend getting one before the bed comes. I ended up putting all of the screws in by hand; which wasn't difficult, just time consuming. Shipping was so fast. I was actually shocked and not really ready for it as I was still painting my room. I love the way the bed looks. It's low to the ground and gives a simple and clean look to my attic room. Very Zen. I love that the mattress sits down inside the frame. No slipping off or moving around here. I'm using it with a fairly old mattress, so my next big purchase will be a quality one.

    Read More
    greenllh42 February 6, 2013
  • Love this bed!
    Verified Purchase

    The bed is easy to assemble, although a drill or electrical screw driver and a tape measure come in handy, because, as other reviews pointed out, there are no markings where the slats should go. Once assembled, the bed feels very sturdy. According to the Q&A, it supports only 220 lbs, but my husband and I plus a memory foam mattress (definitely more than 400 lbs altogether) seem to be fine on it. Finally, I really love the way the bed looks. The wood is beautiful. We have a 10" mattress, and the headboard i quite small, but it still looks great, especially considering the price!

    Read More
    furnishingnewhome December 17, 2012
Sponsored Links