Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Alliyah Handmade Bluish-Grey New Zealand Blend Wool Rug (8' x 10')

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • LOVE IT!
    Verified Purchase

    This rug is gorgeous! Exceeded my expectations so much! I love how the pattern is larger on the 8 x 10 as it helps my room seem larger than it really is. If you want to see a better view of the rug, see it on my blog here: 346living.com/2011/06/01/my-rug-addiction-continues It's super soft and thick which is great and I also only noticed a small amount of shedding, nothing a good vacuum a week couldn't handle. The color is more blue, but I do see hints of slate gray under certain lighting, either way I love everything about it!

    Read More
    shortyx67 June 6, 2011
  • Good Quality Rugs

    I haven't purchased this rug yet, but was reading the reviews. I noticed so many people complaining about it shedding. Just in case you are reading those reviews and don't know or understand quality. You want a rug that sheds, this means its a natural fiber. Wool rugs will sheds for several months before they stop. So don't let that hinder you from your purchase, as I guess some people don't understand what a good quality product comes with.

    Read More
    ttq2424 July 5, 2011
  • Love! Click the link to see actual photos!
    Verified Purchase

    I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE this rug. I get so many compliments on it, and the rug is SO plush and soft, and feels MUCH more expensive than it actually is. It does shed a little bit, but the shedding does go down and let me tell you it's not that bad and it's definitely worth the $$! See the actual rug in my home here: http://decorgreat.blogspot.com/2011/11/my-favorite-space.html

    Read More
    brooketamisiea November 30, 2011
  • Design of the rug is beautiful but quality not so
    Verified Purchase

    On one end of the rug, there were very light light bluish white spots. It seems maybe the color wasn't saturated all the way through or maybe it was used by someone previously and sprayed some bleach on it--who knows. Anyways, it was bothering me enough to return it. Also, it shed like CRAZY. I had vacuumed twice a day for 2 weeks straight and it still filled up my dyson all the way. I know from past experience a good quality rug will not shed like that. Quality wools rugs have very small minor shedding, this rug was extreme shedding.

    Read More
    nancy993 September 27, 2011
  • I love this rug - and it does not shed
    Verified Purchase

    I poured over reviews of this rug for several days before purchasing because I was enamored with the design but fearful of all the horrible shedding stories I heard in the reviews. I took the leap, purchased the rug and it has been fantastic. We have had it for several weeks to a month now and I have had zero shedding problems, at least nothing noticeable. If you get down at eye level with the rug you can see a few miniscule fibers on the surface, but it is a very thick hand-tufted rug, so this is normal. And it is so minor I haven't even thought about vaccuuming every other day like some of the other reviewers. Great design, great price for the size, no massive shedding issues - don't be dissuaded by the bad reviews.

    Read More
    thegjertsens May 25, 2011
  • Do not buy this Carpet
    Verified Purchase

    DO NOT BUY THIS CARPET, it sheds like crazy. I read all the reviews before buying it and most of them said that it didn't shed that badly and that by a few vacuums it was done, however mine sheds terribly. I have had it out for two months now and have vacuumed it every day, sometimes twice a day and it's still shedding and filling up the vacuum. I have it over dark hardwoods and it's all over the hardwoods too. I have to dust my floors twice a day as well and the swifter is full every time. Sometimes i even have to use two swifter pads just for one cleaning. It's awful. It takes up half my day. I have a 7 month old baby, which is why i bought it in the first place, i wanted to have a carpet that i could see the dirt on and that she could crawl around on. But i can't even let her crawl on it. The fibers get into her eyes and all over her hands, not to mention all over our clothes (i would not recommend wearing black around this carpet.) We have to put a blanket down to cover up the carpet to let her crawl around, which defeats the purpose of having a nice carpet. I would never recommend anyone buy this carpet. Also, the fibers/yarn that it's made of easily come out. You can just pull them with your fingers. Not a good quality carpet at all, especially for the price. Furthermore, there are different colored fibers in the carpet as well. In some of the cream colored design i have black, yes black, fibers which ruins the design. If i hadn't opened it up and tested it out i would have returned it, but it's too late for me now. So I'm stuck with this carpet i hate, but it's not too late for you. :-)

    Read More
    bmcman37 January 3, 2013
  • Love this Rug!
    Verified Purchase

    I LOVE this rug. I have gotten so many compliments on it. Great price, beautiful clean lines for a more modern look. Very classy. Only thing- you need to vaccume a bit- but its worth it to me for the price!

    Read More
    happywith4 June 29, 2011
  • AWFUL
    Verified Purchase

    We don't own a dog/cat/furry pet because we hate having fibers and hairs getting in our noses all the time. We own a nice Dyson and for the first YEAR the Dyson bag was filling up with hairs! IT STILL IS! If you wear dark pants and sit down, you'll need a serious session with a lint roller. Don't buy this!!!

    Read More
    pickyrugs November 10, 2012
  • The rug is pretty, but I despise it.
    Verified Purchase

    I absolutely despise this rug!!! I even tried to send it back since it is within the 90 day period and even though I am still within 90 days, it says the item is returnable?! Really?!?!? While the rug looks pretty, it sheds non stop. I saw some reviews about this, but I had absolutely no idea how bad it would be. We have dark wood floors and they constantly look dirty despite the fact that I vacuum twice a day. The rug sheds all throughout the downstairs of our house (our house is over 1800 sq feet of wood downstairs) and it is an ABSOLUTE nightmare! This has clogged up my Dyson vacuum multiple times because it literally fills the entire cannister each time I vacuum. RUN from this rug!!! There are others out there that have the same look, but are hand hooked/ looped. The problem is that this is hand tufted where the fibers are glued to a base rather than knotted to a base.

    Read More
    kimberley910 October 19, 2012
  • Love it! However....
    Verified Purchase

    I love this rug! It's stylish, plush and is a true transitionl rug: brings together my vintage/rustic/modern decor. However, as other reviewers have mentioned it does in fact shed A LOT. I had been researching online for months on a patterned rug like this that is plush, and this is about the only one that exists for such a great price. So I'm going to deal with the shedding and hopefully it will lessen in time. We use this rug in ou family room where there is a lot of traffic and have small children, so were often sitting on the floor etc, so the wool fibers start to pill and cover our clothes. I've been vacuuming every other day and fill up my Dyson a couple times each day. The shedding issue is supposedly normal for wool rugs, and probably more often in ones at this good of a price, so u get what u pay for. But it's comfy to walk on with bare feet, and allow my kids to play safe on our hardwood floors. I'm overall very happy, and get lot of compliments on the style.

    Read More
    cmazeas1 February 14, 2012
  • very large scale pattern
    Verified Purchase

    This rug is beautiful and thick. definitely think blue, not gray. (I was hoping it would be blue, like other reviews say!) I bought one 5 x 8 and one 8 x 10, and the pattern is much bigger, thicker on the 8 x 10, due to the larger scale. I prefer the pattern on the 5 x 8. (The white pattern on the 8 x 10 is prob 3 inches wide, while on the 5 x 8, it is only maybe one inch wide). since I planned to use both rugs in the same room, I plan to return my 8 x 10, purchase another 5 x 8 and lay them both on 8 x 10 jute rugs so that the scale is the same. Just thought I would include all of that just in case anyone is choosing between these sizes. I wish, wish, wish, that the scale was the same on both rugs!

    Read More
    cecummings1 March 30, 2011
  • Rug is nice but sheds a lot
    Verified Purchase

    Rug buying to me, a 30-year old single male, is extremely frustrating. I normally get rugs from large hardware stores because they are accessible and reasonably priced. This time I was looking for something specific and found it on Overstock. The price was good and the delivery was excellent (UPS walked it up three flights of stairs to drop it off). I was unprepared for the shedding, though. I read the reviews carefully, and I only spotted a couple nonchalant mentions of the shedding so didn't think it was a big deal. The rug looks great and makes my apartment living room very homely, but I am vacuuming every other day (for 4+ months now and fibers still get all over clothes, bunch up in the corners, the rug sheds like a Collie! I guess now i understand why people spend $**** on these things.

    Read More
    aptidude January 8, 2013
  • Beautiful, soft rug
    Verified Purchase

    This is a beautiful rug and I'm absolutely thrilled with the quality. This is an amazing price for an 8x10 rug of this quality. It is thick and soft and the color and pattern are lovely. I was really looking for a gray-blue color and after reading the other reviews, I thought this one might be too blue. But it’s definitely a gray-blue, so it is just what I wanted! The color actually looks very accurate in the Overstock item images. You can see photos of mine in my living room at http://i1065.photobucket.com/albums/u398/snowe2/DSC02818_zps39d02a9f.jpg http://i1065.photobucket.com/albums/u398/snowe2/DSC02819_zps7ee8aca5.jpg Shredding is not an issue. In one month it has shed a little bit but I’ve only vacuumed it two or three times. I think some shedding is normal with any wool rug.

    Read More
    lucysnowe September 23, 2012
  • Great rug!
    Verified Purchase

    Great rug, especially for the price. The reviews speak for themselves-it's gorgeous and a very good quality. It's thick and plush and feels great to wak on. I've received many compliments on it. It is shedding some but every wool rug I've ever had does this and eventually stops. I would buy this again in a heartbeat.

    Read More
    jillian2x2 August 12, 2012
  • Very Touching

    I received this area rug within days after I ordered it. I'm an interior designer by trade and have used a lot of area rugs. This one has to be one of the more "eye-catching" rugs I have seen in a very long time! Very dimensional, and the price is unbelievable for the quality of this rug. One thing to note, if your sweeper has a rotating brush you may want to turn it off while sweeping as it’s not good for the rug......on a closing note horizon rug is the best company. I have bought many rugs from os that luckily have their name on it. I hope horizon can put their name on the web so people can identify easily.

    Read More
    charlydear May 16, 2012
  • World Classic Bluish grey rug
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this rug and it was a very odd blue color There was no grey in it The i rug itself is a very good quality and the sh[ment t was fast but i had to return it The criss cross pattern was to large for my floor and I wanted it to be more grey KInd of expensive to return

    Read More
    bbbbb12 July 7, 2011
  • LOVE this rug!
    Verified Purchase

    Great rug and terrific price! I have rec'd many compliments on it already. it does shed for awhile but that seems to be slowing down. It is a thick, soft rug!

    Read More
    minnesota88 May 18, 2011
  • Great Rug. . . a bit purple. . .
    Verified Purchase

    I love love love this rug! But, I will say, in dim lighting, the rug looks a bit purple. But in good light, it is definitely blue. This rug gives the perfect finishing touch to my dining room. It is eye catching, and I have received many compliments! I am thrilled with the rug, except that I do wish it was a bit more of a true blue, without the purple undertones.

    Read More
    joyalexa May 3, 2011
  • Excellent

    Very nice rug! Exactly the way it's shown in picture. I've gotten many compliments on this rug. The one problem I have with it is that it sheds A BIT! I've had it for 2 wks now and I'm trying to vacuum it nice every other day to see if the shedding will finally cease and it got minimize. Anyway, very rug but prepare to vacuum and dust for little bit

    Read More
    hilligal April 25, 2011
  • Gorgeous rug
    Verified Purchase

    This is a gorgeous and thick rug, although it does shed a bit. The color is more purple undertone-gray than blue-gray, which is perfect for my living room. I am very happy with my purchase overall.

    Read More
    sundaybride April 22, 2011
Sponsored Links