| Help relief efforts across the country by Donating Now ›
Today $294.99

Was: $359.99

Save $65.00 (18%)

Free Shipping*
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Allen 2-drawer Bookcase

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Nice
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $2.00 Club O Rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    The wood is nice. It is very very dark. The assembly was good except for the shelves - something was a bit off with some of the shelf rails where both rails did not click/snap into place for smooth operation but taking the time to reinsert several times made them all work just fine.

    Read More
    Cyn August 28, 2017
  • Sturdy Bookase
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $1.00 Club O Rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    Looks good. The only problem was making the draws fit. They were easy to install but I had to adjust them so that they fit securely in the bookcase. Took forever. For that reason I gave give the bookcase three stars.

    Read More
    Michelle D. August 2, 2017
  • Satisfied
    Verified Purchase

    Sturdy and good for books and photos

    Read More
    Paul N. July 4, 2017
  • Beautiful Bookcase!
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this bookshelf to organize my art studio. The drawers are perfect for organizing art supplies and the shelves (which are adjustable to different heights) are perfect for my art and reference books. It took me a while to put the bookcase together but I took my time, following the instructions, going step by step. The bookcase arrived without a scratch and was very well packed. It is very heavy so I added felt pads on the bottoms of the feet if I need to move it around. I like the fact that is off the floor and I can vacuum underneath it. Someone had posted that the tabs you place in the holes to set up the shelves were difficult to push in but I didn't find that to be the case. Everything came together perfectly and shipping was super fast! I highly recommend this bookcase. It looks great!

    Read More
    ZeeAviatrix May 17, 2017
  • Very nice
    Verified Purchase

    It wasn't that hard to put together just follow the directions. The quality is very nice .It goes well in our office

    Read More
    bandit February 4, 2017
  • Allen 2-drawer bookcase
    Verified Purchase

    We have two of the bookcases in the office with a copper pendant light! They really are classy and make the room more than just an office/ they make it look warm and inviting! Really happy with the bookcases and copper pendant!

    Read More
    Sherill L Z. January 23, 2017
  • GOOD QUALITY
    Verified Purchase

    Overall quality pretty good, and easy but time-consuming to put together. Only issue is the pegs that hold the shelves are extremely hard to place. The holes seem way too small. Other then that overall satisfied.

    Read More
    Gregory L. December 30, 2016
  • 0 for overstock customer service, 2 for quality
    Verified Purchase

    2 for quality because - legs of the bookcase not even, it is shaky and not stable. Need to put something under the legs to avoid falling. - The selves can slide out easy, no goove to hold the shelves in place. Worry about my little kids picking up items from the shelfs - Takes time to put together. Instructions little difficult to understand and some screw angles tough to reach with tools 0 for customer service becuase - They said i can return but it would cost me *** . Free return ship if something was damaged on shipment. Issues with defects are not covered - Its better to sell it locally than returning it. - So before buying you have to be 100% sure about it (without seeing the product), Not even close to Amazon's hassel free return policy My Take away - Online shopping is good but not with Overstock, I regret. Good - Wood seems to be good - Back cover is not like ikea or homedeport

    Read More
    D December 15, 2016
  • Great sturdy bookcase
    Verified Purchase

    Took a while to assemble but very sturdy and looks nice

    Read More
    OstkUser629199 December 7, 2016
  • Nice accent piece
    Verified Purchase

    I gave this as a gift so I cannot give a detailed review of assembling it. My nephew had no complaints, so I assume it was straight forward. I did warn him ahead of time to review the drawer assembly instructions as others suggested. I was attracted to it because of the simple yet unique details that set it apart. The color combination makes the piece subtly stand out and the legs finish the look. I think this bookcase would compliament any decor that includes black accents. It looks great in his living room.

    Read More
    chicago8848 December 6, 2016
  • Very nice bookcase
    Verified Purchase

    All the positive reviews I read were spot on. After purchasing one and putting it together, I got a second one. It is much better quality than some of the "put it together yourself" brands I've gotten in the past. It's very solid overall. The only improvements I would make design-wise, is that the drawers could be a little bigger and more solid. The book case also feels a little top heavy when it's not loaded. Assembly is a little tricky with the drawers. The instructions are not clear which way the drawer slides should face and which part of the slide attaches to the drawer vs attaching to the side of the bookcase. If you understand and pay attention to what is the front and the back during assembly, it helps. Also, be sure to note that the backer board has a finished side and unfinished side. I had to unscrew a few screws once I noticed that. (That is also one other thing about this bookcase: the back screws on vs. being nailed on. That, to me, is a nice improvement.) Overall, this is a good bookcase that I would recommend.

    Read More
    Craig R. August 31, 2016
  • Nice bookcase
    Verified Purchase

    Beautiful and real wood. What's not to like?

    Read More
    Dana S. August 14, 2016
  • Allen Bookshelf
    Verified Purchase

    Bookshelf came in in two large heavy boxes. It took awhile to unpack and sort all parts. Instructions were clear and it took me about 3 hours to assemble bookshelf. I have struggled a bit with drawers but in the end all worked. Bookshelf quality is awesome and a lot better than MDF made other brands. This one is made out of real wood. It looks beautiful and elegant.

    Read More
    Aleksandr K. July 28, 2016
  • Would be great if brackets fit!
    Verified Purchase

    I just finished putting these together (I bought two), and they are quite heavy. The piece is solid rubberwood. I made decent time by using a drill rather than just a screwdriver. You have to be careful not to over tighten as this wood can and will split! I got the entire thing together in no time. Finally, the easy part of just inserting the brackets into the desired pre-drilled holes and laying the shelves was here. Except the holes were way too tight and the brackets didn't fit into them at all. Not even close. I was at a dead end at this point, so I built the second unit and had the same problem. So it isn't just a defect in one. The brackets just don't fit. They can't even be forced in with some elbow grease. I eventually went and bought a rubber mallet to jam them into the holes, which was extremely difficult given that the bracket that I needed to hold in place while I swung a mallet at it is smaller than my pinky nail! If I knew the last step (which should have been the easiest) was going to cause me so much time and pain and frustration I never would have bought the damn things. In hindsight, and to future buyers of these, use a rubber mallet to hammer in the brackets before you assemble anything else. At least the board will be flat on the floor and not upright as you try not to smash your fingers!

    Read More
    melissa July 15, 2016
  • Sturdy shelf
    Verified Purchase

    Nice quality and everything went together perfectly, with extra parts given in case you lose one. Directions were less than easy to follow (pictures with no info) so a few places I had to really step back and figure out. Once all together looks nice. Mostly all black with the drawers the only lighter color.

    Read More
    Wiliam O. July 6, 2016
  • Very nice looking
    Verified Purchase

    I needed a bookcase for a very small hallway so I was looking for something that we did not have to walk around to pass it. This bookshelf is perfect. It also holds a lot of books. The shelves are wide so they can be pushed back and not sticking out. It has a very cheap back on it and it is more like pressed board but once it is together it looks expensive. I put this together by myself (first overstock item I had every bought), and it was not hard, but time consuming. There were some items that I was not familiar with using but I did use a hand screwdriver to do it all. The allen wrench was difficult to turn, but the drawers were easy. The bookcase is what took the longest. I worked on it for a couple of days on and off. Directions were clear. Its pretty and I am happy with it, especially since it can handle so many books.

    Read More
    Sherri R. June 22, 2016
  • Nice, little bookshelf
    Verified Purchase

    This is a nice, little bookshelf (not for someone with a huge book collection) with storage.

    Read More
    Charles C. May 28, 2016
  • Book case
    Verified Purchase

    went together easily looks good

    Read More
    Denise C. March 20, 2016
  • Well made and machined.
    Verified Purchase

    It is very difficult to find hardwood furniture that is affordable and well made. I was very pleased with the quality of this piece, worth the time and effort to assemble it. It was well machined, directions were clear and I couldn't be happier. I also purchased the complementary nightstand/side table and was made with the same attention to detail.

    Read More
    Pamela H. December 19, 2015
  • Great For Many Books
    Verified Purchase

    While I appreciate the electronic version of some books, nothing replaces a good old fashion hardback novel. Hench, the need for a nice size bookcase, and this one is a perfect fit.

    Read More
    Walter A H. August 25, 2015
Sponsored Links