Today: $29.99

At other retailer: $42.03

Save $12.04 (29%)

Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for 12-inch Diamond Knife Sharpening Steel

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • decent for the price
    Verified Purchase

    decent quality, decent price

    Read More
    Kathleen H. March 7, 2017
  • Elie Z
    Verified Purchase

    Excellent sharpening steel. Works beautifully....managed to keep my knifes sharp as good as the professional job!!

    Read More
    Elie Z. February 10, 2017
  • Good For The Price!
    Verified Purchase

    I have been looking for this type of knife sharpening for a very long time. Very very happy with this purchase,

    Read More
    CDT928 January 6, 2017
  • If you know knives...
    Verified Purchase

    Then my husband says, you will get this sharpener and it will LAST as opposed to others. And he knows knives. Knife Show! lol

    Read More
    beartsmart July 12, 2016
  • Miss
    Verified Purchase

    This has been needed in our kitchen for some time.

    Read More
    Angoe P. May 2, 2016
  • nice product
    Verified Purchase

    good product compare to metal sharpener, diamonds make a difference

    Read More
    oleg p. March 16, 2016
  • Great Steel
    Verified Purchase

    Worth every penny especially after buying an electric sharpener. This adds the perfect final edge. As usual I am pleased with just about everything I buy at O.co.

    Read More
    Ronnie S. October 14, 2015
  • nice
    Verified Purchase

    works great, no problems, good price

    Read More
    wewer August 20, 2015
  • good sharpener, too long for my needs
    Verified Purchase

    I wish I had bought the 10-inch version. This does a good job sharpening my knives but it's several inches longer than the space in my knife block!

    Read More
    travelmad478 October 29, 2014
  • culinary sharpening
    Verified Purchase

    I use this principle (diamond embedded metal, to sharpen my wood turning and outdoors knives, It was expensive, but well worth it. Works well for food knives.

    Read More
    rswobtn February 13, 2013
  • Excellent knife sharpener
    Verified Purchase

    I use the sharpener for all kind of knifes in sizes and shapes. Though not used much, it seems to do the job.

    Read More
    shadfish December 7, 2012
  • Just what I was looking for.
    Verified Purchase

    Gave our old one away with out old knife set. Been looking for something to match the new one and this one fits the bill.

    Read More
    jeannie0108 August 16, 2011
  • Handy in the Kitchen
    Verified Purchase

    Real handy the kitchen, we like it. our friends like it too. it works good

    Read More
    bigred61 August 10, 2011
  • Lived up to previous reviews
    Verified Purchase

    Excellent product. My hard german steel knives were sharpened with a few light strokes on each side. Works better than my mechanized diamond sharpener. Can't beat it for the price.

    Read More
    jazzbo60 April 22, 2011
  • Does The Job
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this for my Dad. He says it does a very good job sharpening his kitchen knives. The price is pretty good

    Read More
    dts7409 July 3, 2010
  • Unique sharpening tool
    Verified Purchase

    The diamond specks interwoven with the steel make this implement a bit gritty. However, it provides a very sharp edge after passing the knife on this tool only about 5 times on each side, so I gave it a 5 star rating. After using this implement, I give the knife a final / fine edge by using my other rod sharpener. The only minor drawback is the12 inch lenghth (about 2 inches too long for me) and it does not fit in my wooden knife holder because of it's oval / flat shape, which I did not detect in the photo. I find this a must-have tool for my kitchen.

    Read More
    lnmaui April 12, 2010
  • Great Buy
    Verified Purchase

    I love it.... This was a very good bargain.

    Read More
    jab447 March 25, 2010
  • "Gotta Have It"
    Verified Purchase

    I love this product so well that I have one in each of two houses -- it's a "gotta have it" item for my kitchen. Sharpens scissors and knives perfectly and mistake free. This sharpening steel is well-made and its slim design stores easily in a knife block or drawer. "Gotta have it".

    Read More
    bjn2 February 18, 2010
  • Better Than Expected
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this for my husband who is a stickler for sharpening knives. This was his favorite Christmas gift. He was amazed that I could find what he was looking for. The longer length and diamond construction was especially important to him.

    Read More
    caffeinerush January 10, 2010
  • Just right
    Verified Purchase

    I'd been watching for a reasonably priced product just like this one for some time. So, I jumped on it when I saw it. Although the reviews I saw were all favorable, I wasn't certain honing with this "steel" would be better than, or even as good as, other methods. Having used it now on several knives, I can honestly say using it has become my honing method of choice.In my opinion, calling the product a "steel" is a misnomer. I don't believe it's designed to straighten a knife's edge, but to solely to hone it. Consequently, the process I now use is as follows: First, I use a regular steel to straighten my knives' edges. Next, I gently hone them with this product, first thinning the knives? edges at a more acute angle if needed and then, angling the blade more obtusely, running them over the surface for a few strokes to put the final angled edge on the blade. Next, I use ceramic rods to smooth the edge at that final angle. Then, lastly, if the final angle is an acute angle, I run the blade over a leather strop a few times.Honing has always been the most arduous step in my process. This product simplifies honing and makes the whole process more pleasurable. Consequently, my knives, which are normally kept moderately sharp, will now, on average, be kept even sharper.As for my numeric ratings: Although I haven't had the product for long, it appears to be well made. So, I gave it the benefit of the doubt with 5s for Durability and Workmanship. It is lighter than I expected and would actually prefer; but, it does its job well. Although I wouldn't call it attractive, it doesn?t need to win any beauty contests. It is what it is. So I gave it a 5 for appearance. I keep it in a drawer. If I wanted to keep it in my Wusthof knife block?s steel position, I couldn?t. Because of its elliptical cross-sectional shape, it won?t fit. Keeping my actual Wusthof steel there makes more sense anyway because it?s used much more frequently.As you can tell from my review, I'm pleased with the product. If you're on the fence, deciding whether or not to buy, my recommendation is to go for it.

    Read More
    significent December 17, 2009
Sponsored Links