Read All Reviews for Clairol Natural Instincts 05 Champagne on Ice Non-Permanent Hair Color (Pack of 4)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews.

  • Natural instincts sells old coloring..........Exp
    Verified Purchase

    Something wrong with this solution. made my hair dark brown. I used this color before and was never like this. This is awful. JBHAVEN

    Read More
    jbhaven March 16, 2016
  • Very Displeased
    Verified Purchase

    My hair looked like the color on the box after one use my hair turned reddish brown very upset I have my daughters baby shower on sunday and now I have to go to a salon to get my hair back to where it was need to have it bleached, colored and a treatment so not to damage my hair I am so upset will never get this again

    Read More
    reallyangry155 April 9, 2014
  • Didn't work
    Reviewed at http://www.Clairol.com

    I bought it to cover my gray it didn't do this liked the color other wise but didn't cover the gray I wanted it to do this.

    Read More
    shelly1 August 1, 2011
  • shocked/unhappy
    Reviewed at http://www.Clairol.com

    I have used the Champagne - Medium Neutral Blonde - many times in the past and the color turns out great every time. So, imagine my suprise when I try the Champagne on Ice (05) - Medium Neutral Blonde - and my hair is now Dark Auburn. I do not want nor do I like my hair dark. I believe the wrong product color was put in the box. So now I wonder if this will happen again, should I trust this to only be a one time thing?

    Read More
    deb2gram March 15, 2011
  • BEWARE --Don't Buy This Color
    Reviewed at http://www.Clairol.com

    This color turned my hair BROWN. It isn't even close to what the picture on the box looks like. It's like a joke. And I used the "Ask Clairol Live Chat" feature on this site, and was told that I basically have to live with brown hair or go to a salon to have it fixed. I used this Clairol semi permanent hair color (Natural Instincts 05 Champagne on Ice) at home because I can't afford to go to a salon right now, and I'm looking for a new job, and my hair is ruined. It is a weird brown with a brassy gold color that comes out in bright light. I cannot believe how misleading the picture on the box is. Be warned. I don't want anyone else to have to go through this.

    Read More
    Stacey March 8, 2011
  • Not quite...
    Reviewed at http://www.Clairol.com

    I'm a natural really light blonde that experienced darkening hair as I went through my 20's and 30's. Now, in my late 40's, my hair is - well, I don't know what color it really is anymore because I started altering it about four years ago with Natural Instincts in the spring and summer and highlighting with bleach in Oct. and January. I've really loved Natural Instincts since I have never used permanent dye and have felt more comfortable knowing that whatever I do with Natural Instincts will be forgiving. (The moisturizer is the BEST!) However, I'm having difficulty finding a neutral shade that is darker than Sahara yet lighter than the darker shades of blonde. I had been using Sunflower (warm shade) but didn't like the grow-out (gray and warm don't mix, is what I understand, and this has been getting more problematic the grayer I get.) I thought that Champagne on Ice (neutral?) would fit the bill and looked all over for it - almost ordered it online until I found it in a large beauty supply place 45 minutes from home and bought two boxes, anticipating success in shade and subsequent difficulty in finding the same shade later. After coloring, I have to say that when I put the box up to my hair and look in the mirror, my hair is that color. But when I look only at my hair in the mirror, it is a.very drab color of dark blonde and has no shade variations - something I've not experienced with any of the Natural Instinct shades I've used before. I believe that this the natural color that my ultra light blonde evolved into as I aged - the same color that I wanted so desperately to be rid of when I first started using Natural Instincts and then started having hair highlighted in a salon (bleach, which gave great results but, again, the root grow out was not so beautiful.) So, I'm not sure what I'll do. It's probably time for me to go with Perfect 10 or Nice "N Easy so that I can get the shade I want. If you made a color between Sahara and Champagne on Ice, I would stick with you longer because I really do like the product, just not the limited shades.

    Read More
    nann January 29, 2011
  • Too Dark & RUDE Cust. Svc
    Reviewed at http://www.Clairol.com

    Well, after putting this color on and carefully following directions, my blonde hair turned brown. Yes, it was highlighted -- even the highlights are the same bland brown -- not sure how they managed to totally even out all tones -- even the grey, so if you do want blah grey coverage, this may work. But the worst is that when I called customer service, as suggested in many other reviews, the woman was extraordinarily rude. She told me that I should NOT HAVE USED ON HIGHLIGHTED hair and maybe a professional salon could help but they could do nothing. I guess that would be better than coming up with something green or really bad, but still. When I responded by saying that I had followed directions and perhaps she could pass along that they should improve the directions and put a warning not to use on highlighted hair, she got belligerent and just told me I shouldn't have and raised her voice so much that I asked to speak to a supervisor. Well, when she finally stopped talking loudly long enough and agreed to put me through, I was on hold for about 5 minutes before I hung up. Such a BAD experience -- here I am with horrid hair for the holidays and a VERY RUDE customer service rep. This company should be ashamed.

    Read More
    Unhappy December 14, 2010
  • Wow! What a surprise!
    Reviewed at http://www.Clairol.com

    My natural color is somewhere between a light brown and a dark blonde, for years now I've been getting it highlighted at the salon. But, every year around fall I try to go back to my natural color. Which never works out, in the past it has turned out black, purple and once even green. So, needless to say I decided to take matters in my on hands.I read up on Clairol Natural instincts and decided to go for it. I put it on my roots for 5 min and then on the rest for 5 min. Since my hair was highlighted I knew it would soak up the color pretty quick. The color did turn out a light brown,but it blended well with my roots. I love the way it made my hair feel. For once in a long time my hair looks healthy and so shiny.I'm saying goodbye to the salon for good. Thanks Clairol!

    Read More
    dixiechick77 November 12, 2010
  • Wrong bottle in the box?
    Reviewed at http://www.Clairol.com

    I came to this website to make sure that there was not another #5 color (perhaps in a Brown) out there for Natural Instincts thinking that the wrong bottle was put in the 05 Champagne on Ice box. The sample picture of this hair color online is a better comparison, yet mine is still darker. From what I've read of the above comments, it would serve Clairol best to change the picture on the box. It is a pretty color, as is all your products. However blonde; it is not. One upbeat note : I was flip flopping between blonde and brown (natural brownish red, well with some silver settling in) and with this surprised hair color change, I can say that I will be stepping back to enjoy my natural coloring again. So for that.... Many thanks!

    Read More
    NeverBetter October 27, 2010
  • Pleasantly Surprised
    Reviewed at http://www.Clairol.com

    I normally buy Miss Clairol from Sally's but couldn't get over there, so picked up Natural Instincts at Rite Aid. It covered well and left my hair baby soft without being flyaway. Thanx

    Read More
    grammaconnie October 14, 2010
  • Shouldn't say blonde!
    Reviewed at http://www.Clairol.com

    I chose this shade because it had the closest description to the color I had been using for 15+ years but was recently discontinued. Immediately prior to this, I tried Sahara, which I liked but it was just a bit lighter than I wanted. And Sahara wasn't on the shelf (nor was there a space for it) when I went to buy haircolor this time. I thought this would be a happy medium (after all, it does say "Medium neutral blonde", but there is NOTHING blonde about my hair. It's pure, plain old BROWN! It may be a nice shade of brown, but I didn't/don't want brown hair. This is the most unhappy I've ever been with a color! I may have to come back with before and after photos.

    Read More
    MPH1 September 25, 2010
  • Too Dark
    Reviewed at http://www.Clairol.com

    The color is several shades darker than what is shown on the box. I started with light blonde hair and wanted to go slightly darker. It turned out light brunetter.

    Read More
    ables September 19, 2010
  • disappointed
    Reviewed at http://www.Clairol.com

    This color was way too dark! It came out as a flat mid brown with no highlights. I have been using Natural Instincts for a long time (since Lasting Color was discontinued). I use it principally to cover my gray. My "natural " hair color was something close to the color pictured on the box , a mid to dark blond with blond highlights and that is what I aim to restore it to. I have had reasonable success using 04 Sunflower alternating with 06 linen when it gets to look brassy. I have been unable to get 06 Linen from my local drugstore for a few weeks and suspect that it is being discontinued so I looked for an alternative. This is not it! My hair looked so bad I was forced to use a color remover! Any suggestions as to what I use next?

    Read More
    sarahjane July 22, 2010
  • Great!
    Reviewed at http://www.Clairol.com

    Loved how it added subtle sun kissed blondehightlights to my brown greying hair...No reddish hues... Only complaint is I'm having a hard time finding in the stores!!!!

    Read More
    sunnygrl June 6, 2010
  • Champagne On Ice
    Reviewed at http://www.Clairol.com

    My hair came out a dark brown color after only 10 minutes. My hair has never been brown and I was so in shock over the color and result. My hair also turned out very dry and brittle.

    Read More
    Scentsy May 17, 2010
  • Surprise!
    Reviewed at http://www.Clairol.com

    I expected the color to wash out after 28 shampoos...NOT. I have roots showing and the color had orange spots in the grayest areas of my hair.

    Read More
    vamom April 15, 2010
  • Good
    Reviewed at http://www.Clairol.com

    I have very light blonde hair and wanted to tone it down without any yellow. This product was my choice and it worked great except I should have went a little lighter on the shade. The outcome was silky shiny hair texture and even though the color was darker than I would have liked It looked great.

    Read More
    tina March 16, 2010
Sponsored Links