Free Shipping* & 5% Rewards On Every Order* With Club O
Today $40.99
Out of Stock
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Medium Djembe Drum (Ghana)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Not what I expected!
    Verified Purchase

    I dyed the drum brown because I was totally disapointed with it. The bright red trim was awful!! Skin on drum not as pictured.

    Read More
    elisastarr April 12, 2011
  • Good Practice and Travel Drum
    Verified Purchase

    Dimensions on a drum are usually head size by height... I'm not sure how this was measured. That being said, these were bought as practice/travel drums and they work for kids... They do not get the tone of a full bodied Djembe.

    Read More
    eastbaylou April 6, 2011
  • Not what I ordered
    Verified Purchase

    There were many problems. The specs for the drum say it is 11 inches tall by 12 inches in diameter. It is not. It is 11 inches tall but only 91/2 inches in diameter. The head was very loose and I discovered that the end of the tension rope was not even tied, thus the loose head. Once I tightened the head, the sound was pretty good. The drum was not evenly stained. Parts of it were light unstained wood, and other parts had a dark stain. Once I stained the whole thing it looked pretty good. Am not going to return it because I'm having fun fixing it.. But it still isn't 11 by 12 inches. Not much I can do about that.

    Read More
    jerry012 March 3, 2011
  • Good buy
    Verified Purchase

    Good product all around, well made, good sound, arrived very quickly after purchase.

    Read More
    rrigg021 March 1, 2011
  • fun djembe
    Verified Purchase

    this djembe exceeded my expectations. it is fun, beautiful and light enough for an older woman to carry. The sound is delightful and i am having great fun learning on it. i appreciated the cover very much because i have a cat and do not want him practicing djembe! This djembe is so much fun it makes routine practice a pleasure i look forward to...i keep it next to my bed...for the first thing in the morning and the last thing at night! it is perfect for drum circles.

    Read More
    drumnewbie November 1, 2009
  • Decor only
    Verified Purchase

    This drum was initially shipped with a cut in the drum head. Overstock sent me a new one quickly and easily. However, the product is not a playing drum. The head is rather thin and has an uneven thickness impacting the sound. It is a good cultural example, but not an instrument. If you want an instrument, spend a little more and buy a second line tall jembe.

    Read More
    e5789 February 16, 2009
  • Fun Drum
    Verified Purchase

    I know nothing about drums, but wanted something I could drum on with my hands, sort of like drumming circle style. I had to play around a bit with how best to use my palm, hand and fingers to get the best sound, but it's all coming together now. Lots of fun! The price is right and the drum is attractive and quite a conversation piece.

    Read More
    suebujam November 12, 2008
  • djembe
    Verified Purchase

    Drum has a nice sound - The size is a little smaller than stated but overall I am happy with this drum. I would recommend it. My daughters & I will be using it for drumming circle. We also ordered the hand carved Djembe Drum - We are having a blast with these drums! Love them.

    Read More
    Anonymous July 21, 2008
  • Nice drum
    Verified Purchase

    Drum was smaller than description as some others have said. I bought this for my son for Christmas because the large djembe was sold out. He enjoys playing the djembe at his church and he sits and plays this one now at home. The skin still has some goat hair on it!

    Read More
    tcsand December 31, 2007
  • Nice drum!
    Verified Purchase

    Nice size--can put on table or lap. Has a pleasing sound and appears to be sturdily made. Glad I got it.

    Read More
    mks03 October 25, 2007
  • Djembe Drum
    Verified Purchase

    Excellent product arrived promptly and in good shape. An excellent buy if shopping around for a drum.

    Read More
    rhtownsend June 15, 2007
  • Sound makes up for size.
    Verified Purchase

    My drum is also smaller than the size listed in the description, however, the sound of this instrument is very good. Like the other reviewer, I was also disappointed by the smaller size...until I played it. I play this drum in a Drum Circle and everyone, especially the leader of the group, really, really love the sound of this drum. Now I will be able to tell them it is back in stock. Thanks, Overstock.

    Read More
    georgiagrace May 4, 2007
  • Not even close to 12" wide
    Verified Purchase

    Be careful. Description states 12 inch width but my drum only measures 9 inches. That's a HUGE difference and certainly not a "slight variation in size". The variation is so large in fact, it shouldn't even be listed as a "medium" djembe but probably a small. The drum itself however is great for the price but I may contact customer support for an exchange.

    Read More
    datus December 8, 2006
  • joem55 August 18, 2016
Sponsored Links