Today: $67.49
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Complete 4/4 Violin Kit

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Violin
    Verified Purchase

    Good looking material is cheap.

    Read More
    Linda s. March 14, 2016
  • Get what you pay for
    Verified Purchase

    It is a fine violin and perfect for my 9 year old granddaughters first violin to see if she likes it. But certainly is not the quality of an instrument you would use for a long period of time. Perfect for a beginner.

    Read More
    Mike S. February 19, 2016
  • Fair

    The Item once opened look great. But with further inspection you could tell the violin was stored but never treated.

    Read More
    ghamasfurniture January 19, 2016
  • Perfect first Violin
    Verified Purchase

    This is a great instrument if your just starting to learn to play. Looks great, my Daughter loves it.

    Read More
    Michael S. December 24, 2015
  • Rather disappointed
    Verified Purchase

    I understood from reading the reviews I'd have to buy a new bow and rosin. I was not anticipating the bow to come with already broken strings as though someone had already used it. My largest issues stems from the fact that it came quite loose and in trying to tighten it, the strings became dislodged and I'll need to take it to a music store. Fortunately, it turns out that this is the wrong size for my daughter so we are going to put off the added expense of fixing the violin so it actually plays.

    Read More
    tyrtyl September 16, 2014
  • Decent for Beginners
    Verified Purchase

    This is a good violin to learn on for the value. Ignore the people who complained about this instrument. They have no knowledge of musical instruments particularly of the violin. It is a difficult instrument to learn and takes years to master. As a noob, I sound horrible due to my technique. The only issue I had was tuning. The strings are brand new and need some time to stretch out before you can get a reliable sound. Overall its a good buy for what you get.

    Read More
    binosarus December 14, 2013
  • Not the best quality

    While I was teaching my violin student, the tail broke. I was able to fix it, but it is only good for beginners. She had it since 2010, and it has had quite a few problems. Please don't waste your money in this violin.

    Read More
    musicluver2013 September 9, 2013
  • I don't know yet. I have to wait for a bridge.
    Verified Purchase

    I got it in the mail and was so excited. I am a beginner so this instrument is perfect, but was sad that the bridge was missing. I contacted customer service though and they sent out a new one ASAP

    Read More
    kmk102585 July 19, 2013
  • Terrible Violin That's Worth the Price
    Verified Purchase

    Instead of spending months trying to find a decent used violin at a flea market/thrift store, I spent the $50 or so on a new one. Every component on this violin is cheap, including: soundboard, back/sides,fingerboard, and tuners. Bridge is decent. Tuners are of low quality and require a little persuasion to stay in turn (stick with fine tuners for most of your tuning). Got this violin as something for my kids to beat on when they grow up. If you get this violin for a beginner, learning will be more difficult. All that being said, however, this is a good buy. You are not going to find a cheaper price for an entire kit: violin, bow, rosin, and case. Is $50 worth all this frustration? The simple answer is yes. Beginners can practice on this for a couple years and then splurge on a several thousand dollar violin when they become competent. And because they've been playing on such poor quality, that high end model will feel and sound that much sweeter

    Read More
    jonathan33 April 12, 2013
  • Starter Violin
    Verified Purchase

    The girls love them! How inexpensive to let them try it out to see if they will follow learning violin. Maybe had the string been intact and the rosin...my review would have been excellent.

    Read More
    munkyme January 1, 2013
  • this is a fine quality item!!!!!!!!
    Verified Purchase

    overall i was still satisfied with my purchase and i would recommend this website to various friends

    Read More
    rabbitwolf November 12, 2012
  • Great for it's price
    Verified Purchase

    I got my Violin a few days ago. just the other day I brought it to a music store to make sure it was in good order and the man looked it over and tuned it for me. Over all it got a clean bill of health and I'm using it as a learning instrument. Of course there are better ones out there and if you have the money then more power to you but, on a low budget, I would recommend this violin.

    Read More
    novicewithabrain November 3, 2012
  • Violin is extremely disappointing!
    Verified Purchase

    You get what you pay for! As I write this, my violin is in the music shop being repaired. This is the second violin we've tried. The first one was even in worse shape. The bridge we received isn't the correct size for the violin and the neck has a raised piece (that shouldn't be raised at all) that keeps the strings from laying as they should. We knew nothing about violins when we ordered this, but got "schooled" right away after we received both violins. Save yourself some heartache and don't buy one of these violins. Even for a beginner, they aren't worth it. The repair being done on our violin right now is going to cost as much as we paid for the violin itself here on Overstock. Even then, we're not guaranteed that the violin is going to have a long life. Not a great buying experience at all!

    Read More
    dkjjlbehri March 21, 2012
  • Recommended
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this violin for my son, we had been renting a violin for a year until we found this Violin kit with everything he needed to continue playing all for less than the rental cost.

    Read More
    cachorro1 October 11, 2011
  • Duh! It's overstock.com newly minted .com

    Okay, the strings weren't good, but anybody would want to get the right strings for their style anyway, I bought "fiddle" strings for mine. The rosin was old, but duh it's overstock.com, not newly minted.com. The bow could easily be warped when you get it, mine wasn't, but that and the rosin is probably the first thing you should replace anyway, a better bow with high quality rosin, on better strings makes the entire instrument sound so much better, it's like a much higher cost instrument. People that expect such a low priced instrument to sound like a Stradivari original should think again, while looking at the price tag. Dollar for dollar, you get more than your money's worth. Of course some snooty violin teacher will tell you it's not too good, it isn't in the realm of violins, it's a basic beginner instrument. The changes needed like strings, bows and rosin will be needed on any lower end instrument, violin or otherwise. Think of it as an opportunity to tailor the instrument to the player, and their style. Any violin under a thousand dollars is going to have something or another to find fault with. The only question that need be answered is did you good value for what you paid. I'd have to say yes, and then some.

    Read More
    tootall1121 August 31, 2011
  • This voilin was better than expected
    Verified Purchase

    This was a suprise for someone that wanted to take up the violin. Perfect for 1st timers!

    Read More
    patio60 July 28, 2011
  • Everyones Mistaken

    The violin is perfectly fine, in the other posts, it is obvious that they do not know anything about orchestral instruments. of course the string will come unattached if shipped or if under stress from different temperatures. the bow isnt warped, you just have to adjust it, and why should you care more about the case than the object inside? its fine, i have one, it just required little assembly that others are too lazy to do

    Read More
    qwertydfg November 13, 2010
  • Not a good choice
    Verified Purchase

    Bow was horribly warped and needed to be replaced upon receiving violin kit. Violin sounds okay, needed to be fixed a little first. Rosin was old and dried out. Box it came shipped in was damaged but inside packaging was fine. Would not recommend buying a violin from overstock.

    Read More
    divinemsj July 21, 2010
  • Horrible!
    Verified Purchase

    DO NOT waste you time or money by buying this violin. It is pure junk! It can not be tuned no matter what, it showed up at my door with a broken string I might add.

    Read More
    april73 August 23, 2009
  • BAD MUSIC
    Verified Purchase

    If your thinking about a beginner violin think again here. Strings unattached, wooden pegs don't turn, and unattached bridge. You need a construction certificate to assemble. Turned off my once aspiring violinist.

    Read More
    sherry r. August 8, 2009
Sponsored Links