Read All Reviews for Rokinon 85mm f/1.4 Portrait Lens for Nikon Cameras

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews. Learn More

  • Good Lens
    Verified Purchase

    It's pretty good lens. It doesn't fit the camera I bought it for but it fits my other camera so it's not a loss. It's my fault for not checking comparability. But overall it's good for the price.

    Read More
    freckledbling March 14, 2013
  • 5-Star Value!
    Verified Purchase

    I am a Nikon fan, own many of its film SLR's, DSLR's and Nikkor lenses. I am one of those dummies who made quips that Nikon E Series lenses are NOT truly Nikkor lenses. As a matter of fact, they are better built than some of today's Nikkor kit lenses. I refused to put anything other than Nikkor lenses on my Nikon cameras. That is until I crave for a Super wide angle 8mm prime fun lens and 85mm f/1.4 prime portrait lenses. Nikon version of those lenes are just soooo expensive. After careful research and consideration, I bought a Rokinon 8mm, f/3.5 Manuel focus fisheye lens two months ago from O.Co. I have been so impressed by the 8mm’s performance that I decided to look into the Rokinon 85mm, f/1.4. I did my products comparison: Nikon Telephoto AF Nikkor 85mm f/1.4G $1700.00; Sigma 320306 85 mm F/1.4 Telephoto Lens for Nikon $969.00; Rokinon 8mm, f/1.4 with two Aspherical and two LD elements, Manual focus $269.00. The decision is easy, I ordered it from O.co and have it in my hands 4 days ago! First impression is great, it is well built (Rubber/plastic and Metal barrel), it also spot a metal mount. It does not look cheap (except the gold label) nor feel cheap. I wish they did not use the gold metallic label sticker though. I mounted it on my D7000 , many people complained that it has no “bullet” to help you align the lens to the mount, but I found that the white focus distance indicator line up with the white dot at the mount very well. The Manual focusing ring is well dampen and smooth as silk, making accurate focusing easy. With my D7000, I retain control for Matrix metering, Focus Confirmation Green Light, Aperture Priority mode, Auto Bracketing and iTTL flash. EXIF data is also available . I bought the NON-CPU version, only the Nikon cameras that can adjust for Non-CPU lenses can have all these functions. If you own a Nikon D90 or below, you will have to get the Chipped version of this , it costs only $30.00 more. The lens is sharp and has GREAT bokeh (de-focused area), manual focus is easy once you have a little practice. Get one and you will not regret your decision! Have Fun!

    Read More
    ryiu September 20, 2011
  • I never did use it.
    Verified Purchase

    I'm pretty sure that I would have enjoyed the product if I could have gotten it to fit my camera.I have a D40x Nikon and I couldn't get it to latch on.

    Read More
    mircale1 June 14, 2011
  • Rokinon 85mm 1.4 lens
    Verified Purchase

    This lens is the best photographic purchase I have made in some time. It is extremely fast with excellent image quality and colors. The price is easily $1000 under anything comparable offered by Nikon, Canon or Sigma. I'm a freelance photographer and enjoy taking portraits. This lens does not offer automatic focus but once you overcome that, it will deliver beautiful results. Overstock.com delivered a well-priced product in a timely manner, well packaged. Thank you. Richard

    Read More
    bocapub January 1, 2011
  • 2 Stars only

    The lens did not have auto focus. The manual focus did not respond that well. Overall a bad lens. Cannot recommend!

    Read More
    sparty113 October 19, 2010
  • Rokinon 85mm f1.4 for Nikon
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this lens after reading as many reviews as possible. I was particularly interested in a fast portrait lens with smooth bokeh and this lens has exceeded my expectation. The built quality is very good and solid with smooth rotation of the focus ring. I have the non-cpu lens so I use aperture priority setting on my D300s which works like a charm. Manual focus is challenging at times, even when using the green range finder dot in the view finder. Therefore I have ordered the katz eye for Nikon D300s and I can't wait to give it a test run. Results so far are outstanding! I love this lens and I notice that it is becoming my prefered lens over the 18-55mm kit lens. Bokeh is smooth as butter and that comes at 1/5 of the price of a Nikon 85mm! A no brainer to me and if you are considering this lens, you can rest assured that you won't regret buying it. It takes some practice getting the focus spot on but that is to be expected with a dept of field that is as thin as a sheet of paper at f1.4. Two thumbs up! Cheers, Peter

    Read More
    peterjr August 23, 2010
  • Limited Close Focus, but a great lens!

    I recently rented a Nikon AF Nikor 85mm F1.4 and I have to say, I like the Rokinon better. Found I had to manually focus the Nikon AF version to get consistently sharp images, so decided I didn't need the AF feature. I also think the Rokinon is a bit sharper wide open. The only down side to this lens is its close focus limit of about 10ft. You won't be getting any tight head shots with this lens, but head and shoulder on out work just fine. I use this with my D70s, D200 and D700. It works great on all three, but on the D70s you can only use it in manual mode... no auto shutter or aperture. On the D200 and D700 it works great in Aperture priority mode. This is a great lens for what it is for... the plane of focus at f1.4 is razor thin so careful focusing is required to obtain the best results. I use the "lean in and out" method. Prefocus the lens and then lean in and out with your whole body to get the plane of focus just where you want it. At the minimum focus distance and set to f1.4 I can get the surface of a subject's eye in focus or the tips of their eye lashes, not both. That's thin! This is a great lens, and in the right hands, it will produce amazing results. But it will take practice.... Enjoy!

    Read More
    wood1955 May 28, 2010
  • Good Lense for the Price
    Verified Purchase

    I was hesitant of this product due to the significant price difference between it and the Nikon version. However, I have been plesantly surprised. It takes a bit of playing with it to get the focus right, but when you do the results are amazing. (I have D60). Overall a good lense for the price.

    Read More
    dogcrazy325 March 20, 2010
  • Great Lens - but MF is hard
    Verified Purchase

    Great image quality for the price, but the lack of AF makes it very hard to use for anything other than still life.Better to invest in a AF 1.8 or 1.4 lens.

    Read More
    novon December 31, 2009
  • so far so good
    Verified Purchase

    so far so good. sharp wide open and fast. seems to be solidly built, smooth focus...$1,000 cheaper than nikons autofocus version. have heard that the aperture mechanism can fail but it hasn't yet. would change my opinion if it did.

    Read More
    simonjon December 30, 2009
Sponsored Links