Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for INSTEN External 2.5-Inch Black SATA HDD Enclosure

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Great product, Great price, fast delivery!
    Verified Purchase

    Needed this item to try to salvage my HD from a damaged laptop. Since it was questionable whether or not the HD would be functional I didn't want to spend too much money on a HD encloser. This item fit the bill! Shipped quicky from California to Virginia. Item worked perfectly, very easy set up, basically plug and play.

    Read More
    askeptical1 April 12, 2014
  • Black Sata Enclosure
    Verified Purchase

    After figuring out how to open the enclosure, it was easy to mount the drive and when I plugged it into the computer it worked fine. The screw drive was an nice touch. The price was right, I Would recommend to any one that needs one. would have given 5 stars if direction to open would have been better. Could use some better instructions on how to open it.

    Read More
    zipman39 October 29, 2013
  • Cheap and flimsy
    Verified Purchase

    It is a cheap case for creating an external storage unit with small hard drives. One has to be careful not to bend it because the aluminum is so thin. I bought it to save a few dollars over a good quality case from a company I have dealt with in the past. The savings was not worth it. I will now buy the good-quality one from someone I trust.. I won't risk putting a good drive in this product.

    Read More
    gdndoc October 27, 2012
  • Does the job
    Verified Purchase

    Poor choice of material used for the mounting plate in the middle but still intact enough to hold the drive and shell securely in place. Used to hold the original drive from my PS3 so computers cant really access the drive but it does recognize as a drive that needs to be formatted. So in all it works for what I need it for. Not sure I would trust it for valuable data that was going to be used for more than just on the shelf storage. So I won't be dragging this around town or anything. For what I paid for the product it is what I expected and does the job. Would I buy another one? Yes, if it was for shelf storage. But look elsewhere for something more durable for travel.

    Read More
    bboswell June 28, 2011
  • great
    Verified Purchase

    Just what I was looking for. Works great. Lets me get to my data on the hard drive from my unfixable laptop.

    Read More
    cottonmax January 25, 2011
  • bought 6
    Verified Purchase

    I had ordered 3 Black ones and all worked with 120, 250, and a 320gig SATA drives. I then came back and ordered 3 Silver enclosures and they worked great. These are nice inexpensive way to save SATA drives from busted, dead laptops. I have ordered many different versions of external enclosures for my customers but this has proved to be the most cost effective method of keeping my clients data files intact for them. Don't hesitate to order some of these. Great product. Thanks Overstock.com we need you keep up the good work

    Read More
    nolan1982 January 8, 2011
  • Hard Drive Enclosure
    Verified Purchase

    Product was received as advertised, and worked as advertised. Very pleased.

    Read More
    llmart December 21, 2010
  • It works!
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this to test out the hard disk from my in-law's laptop. It sure came in handy. The drive fit nicely without using any screws, and the device was recognized and usable right away after plugging it in via USB.

    Read More
    deadflepper November 18, 2010
  • Saved my life
    Verified Purchase

    We all "try" to back up our computers... However what happens when you but a new shiny netbook and your in-laws spill wine on it? Well I pulled out the Hard Drive and bought this and like magic it worked all my files and programs worked. I could even boot form it if i wanted to. This earns more than 5*.

    Read More
    caslerb November 11, 2010
  • Great Product
    Verified Purchase

    This was the best price I could find on this hard drive enclosure. I had it up and running in less than 10 minutes and was able to scan my netbook's hard drive for viruses using my desktop computer. As a result I was able to remove those nasty viruses, spyware, and malware. I could not have done this without the hard drive enclosure from Overstock.com!

    Read More
    marchantbrian October 21, 2010
  • Puzzling
    Verified Purchase

    Did not work, but I don't know whether it was the drive or the enclosure. I would have returned it, but its price did not warrant paying for shipping to do so.

    Read More
    cep3 August 12, 2010
  • nice n cheap
    Verified Purchase

    For the price you can't go wrong with this enclosure. It's works really well, is simple setup and nice looking. I didn't have to use the screw pack, just pop in the hard drive an the case snaps shut. I'm very happy with this purchase.

    Read More
    kauwa205 August 4, 2010
  • fantastic
    Verified Purchase

    I have told all my friends about this, fast shipping....fantastic product

    Read More
    mvemba July 8, 2010
  • Not cheap...inexpensive!
    Verified Purchase

    As a lone IT technician supporting 50+ users, my time is precious. I needed to replace an internal HD on an early Intel iMac. Replacing that particular HD takes nerves of steel and more than a few minutes. This little gem was the answer. In 2 minutes, the internal replacement HD was converted to an external, slapped a piece of Velcro on the case and the back of the Mac, plugged it in, booted up the Mac, re-installed the OS and I was off and running. I'm ordering a couple more to carry updates on from workstation to workstation.

    Read More
    tubbycubby May 28, 2010
  • enclosure
    Verified Purchase

    Got it fast, and it works just fine. Only complaint I have is the weird USB cable that it came with.

    Read More
    lauralhb April 26, 2010
  • Just what I needed
    Verified Purchase

    This product was exactly what I needed. An inexpensive casing for my hard drive after my motherboard went out on my computer. Very easy to use. Might want to have your own screwdriver. The one that came with it didn't hold up. That was minor.

    Read More
    grndmom3 March 27, 2010
  • Solid inexpensive enclosure.
    Verified Purchase

    This enclosure doesn't have the feature set of some (no external power port, usb only no esata or FireWire. But it does work very well over USB2 for both Windows 7 and Mac OS X (10.5, 10.6) It is easy to put together, no external screws and seems fairly tough after 30 days of use. If you have an old sata 2.5 drive lying around and want to use it, I do recommend this enclosure. If you are like me and frequently upgrade your laptop's HD, the ease of use of this enclosure is great. If you need more features, or want to use your external drive for booting you may want to invest in the more expensive FW or eSata enclosures availiable.

    Read More
    giantcarebear March 17, 2010
  • 2.5 Black SATA HDD Enclosure
    Verified Purchase

    The case is very well made and lightweight. It is easy to assemble. The only con I have is the cord. The small end that plugs into the enclosure is VERY flimsy and can be damaged very easily if you do not know it.

    Read More
    gm58 March 17, 2010
  • Good price good product
    Verified Purchase

    As stated this is a simple product that does what it does.

    Read More
    tolik November 29, 2009
Sponsored Links