Today $218.99

At other retailer: $354.99

Save $136.00 (38%)

Free Shipping*
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Epson Perfection V600 Photo Scanner

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Product for the last generation
    Reviewed at http://www.Epson.com

    If you have only Windows 10, forget it - not supported. You can download the driver from the web site, but it does not include ArcSoft PhotoStudio. The included CD fails on Windows 10, and you have to manage to find a machine that actually has a CD ROM.

    Read More
    Tony May 31, 2016
  • The V600 Scanner was not ...
    Reviewed at http://www.Epson.com

    The V600 Scanner was not operational as received. Contacted and spent 2 hours on phone with technical assistance. Scan to (imac) not operating. Buttons on front of scanner do not function. Need to wait about 1 month for a new driver to be written so that I can download it and use my scanner, utilizing IMac with El Capitan OS. Very disappointing that this unit would be sold to me without all it needed to operate. Your advertisement indicated that it would operate with my OS. Not true. You can and should do better than this. Do not deceive your customer.

    Read More
    Bill January 5, 2016
  • My main purpose for this ...
    Reviewed at http://www.Epson.com

    My main purpose for this scanner was to archive family photos that have been stored in various boxes since the 30's. It's a wonder that they have survived this long and need to be digitally archived before they are gone forever. What's great about this scanner is that I can load up as many photos as I can fit on the scanner glass and it automatically differentiates between each one, numbers them, allows you to auto rotate before scanning and auto-numbers the filename outputs. Then it systematically scans through each photo as if they were put on the glass at different times. This is a HUGE time saver. The speed of the scanner is faster than other/older scanners I have owned - but as with all scanners - the speed of the scan is proportional to the resolution of the scan. The higher the resolution - the slower the scan. The scanner has several extra scan modes other than just automatic and numerous settings in each mode which I am still experimenting with. It also has four customizable buttons on the front to instantly scan, copy, scan-to-email and create PDFs. And, with the included Optical Character Recognition (OCR) software, I have been able to easily convert scanned documents into editable text. I have used the negative and slide holders and found that they are relatively easy to use. The slide holder works fine but the negative holder does not clip together as tightly as I would like when scanning negatives. Older negatives tend to curl a bit and I think the holders would work a little better if they had register pins which would help hold the width of the negative and thus flatten it when the holder is snapped together. Otherwise, the scanner does a great job of scanning multiple negatives and allowing you to make numerous different adjustments to each one before scanning so that you can obtain that perfect scan.

    Read More
    Edwnd Knnor November 26, 2013
  • Outstanding scanner
    Reviewed at http://www.Epson.com

    I purchased this scanner a week ago primarily to scan the thousands of 35mm slides that I have accumulated over the last 45 years. The Epson Perfection V600 has met all of my expectations from when I opened the box, installed the software and driver, scanned my first photo and began scanning my slides. The installation was totally problem free and startup was a breeze. The quality of the few photos that I have scanned was fabulous. The quality of the slides that I have scanned from the seventies and eighties was also great. I had a number of "special" slides from the sixties that also scanned extremely well. It has been quite enjoyable to look at our boys as they grew up. I would certainly recommend this scanner to anyone who desires very good quality of their photos! Some people have complained about the slide holder; I just taped it down to the flat surface and it is no problem at all. I have been a user of Photoshop Elements for 5 years, so using it to touch up the scanned slides was a sinch. The V600 is a great buy.

    Read More
    W Miller August 6, 2012
  • Mac users beware
    Reviewed at http://www.Epson.com

    This scanner does not work as intended with Mac OS X operating system. cannot use the Epson software and must use the Image Capture native to the operating system.

    Read More
    tj February 8, 2016
  • Works great, just a few things though...
    Reviewed at http://www.Epson.com

    Fairly easy to set up. At first I was a little frustrated but found the software disk in the packaging and eventually found the ON/OFF button on the right side toward the back. The power button should be on the front, guys! I have been using this to digitize old family slides. It only goes to 1200 DPI which is a little shy of the recommended 2000 DPI but should suffice for my purposes. Epson makes very nice scanners for the home user. The weak link in this process is how much time you spend dusting / cleaning the slides before you scan. I like using the mask to scan four slides at once. Have not used the automatic "cleanup" features but put to good use the version of photoshop that came with it. Overall, a near perfect combination of quality and functionality for the home user. About the best you can do for the money. By the way, this is a replacement for a 12 year old Epson scanner that still works, just became obsolete with change to Windows 7, etc.

    Read More
    wahoo January 4, 2015
  • What I expect with Epson
    Reviewed at http://www.Epson.com

    We use this scanner to scan photographs and film and slides. It is fast. It gives great looking results. We also use Perfection V700s and this scanner is just as fast as the v700. It isn't quite as capable as the 700 (batch only 4 slides as opposed to 12, etc) but we knew that buying them. The scanner does not disappoint. We also have some v500s and it basically is the same as a v500 but a lot faster and a tad bit quieter. Not that any of them seem to be loud. Epson quality, speed and performance are terrific--its why we have chosen them over all other scanners these days. But, one thing we have noticed about all epsons is that they could improve performance more by changing or giving the user the opportunity to choose to change how batching is done. Right now you select multimple masks and the scanner sweeps the glass multiple times to scan the multiple images. A faster way would be to sweep the glass once and separate the images based on the user given masks after the scan. In fact an"old" scanner we have that does this is a slow scanner, but almost matches the speed of our v700 when configuring batch scans this way. Bottom line is that the v600 is fantastic! Its virtually as fast as the v700, has almost as many features and capabilities and cost a lot less than the v700 and only slightly more $ than the v500. It is simple and efficient to use. Great for a home user or in the work place really. It looks nice. Seems to be built with quality and it even sounds nice.

    Read More
    Iconic John June 17, 2011
  • Epson Perfection V600 - 35mm Negative Memories
    Reviewed at http://www.Epson.com

    Scanning my boat-load of 35mm film negatives to digital has been on my "wish list" for a long time. So when I retired, it was first on my list to start doing. I did a bunch of reading and decided to go with this scanner for multiple reasons. First it can do multiple scans at one time. Second it has a lot of automatic features to do the work for you. Third was an attractive price. Yes, there are models above this, but would I really use those features. When is good enough, good enough. I was not looking for "perfection" and not going to sell any of my scans in an art feast. After doing my research, and talking to a friend whose a photo guru, this seems like the best pick. It was not a hard setup, and the worst issue was realizing to REMOVE the part under the lid for scanning 35mm negatives (the instructions weren't fully clear on that). It took about a day to figure out the best settings to use on scanning my negatives and I am very pleased with the results. This will keep my busy for years. Other options were scanners that were made for only scanning 35mm negatives, but they did this one frame at a time - not a great way if you have many to do. You have to take the time to figure out how you are going to use the scanner to make your decision. The Internet is great for information, but also it can be information overload. So after taking time to really think it through, the Epson came in as the winner and has been rated as a top performer.

    Read More
    ZiggyTX May 1, 2016
  • Good scanner, bad software
    Reviewed at http://www.Epson.com

    I eagerly awaited delivery of the Epson V600 scanner and upon receiving it attached it to my iMac computer. None of the bundled software will work, period. The onscreen message states there is no communication with the scanner, however if you go to OS X settings and pull up printer/scanner and the V600 is listed. using OS X to open the scanner I can use the V600 to scan what I need to but not having the software that came with the machine working is a real problem. Therefore the V600 is not worth the price.

    Read More
    gudolsteve February 9, 2016
  • I have hundreds of ...
    Reviewed at http://www.Epson.com

    I have hundreds of colored slides taken from the 1950’s thru the 80’s. I have long wanted to scan them to digital images. In the past, I purchased two different inexpensive slide scanners and returned them because the scanned slides needed a lot of time consuming color corrections and the negative scans were totally unacceptable. I purchased this Epson V600 prepared to be disappointed. I only purchased it because the reviews I read were very good and the dealer offered a total satisfaction 14-day return policy. Still, I was skeptical but had nothing to lose. I have about four hundred very old slides that were taken with Ektachrome that have over time developed an overall orange tint. I considered them lost. This scanner has the “Color Restoration� option that does an amazing job of restoring the original colors in these slides. It is also the first scanner that I have used that does a very good job scanning negatives. There are features for the advanced user that I have not tried since the Auto Mode with its options satisfies all my expectations. I have now scanned over 300 slides. I cannot imagine a better product for the money and I am thrilled.

    Read More
    Curt January 18, 2015
  • I'm using this scanner ...
    Reviewed at http://www.Epson.com

    I'm using this scanner for home photos and although the quality is good, it's much too slow as I can only scan one photo at a time. I have tooooo many to scan and it's taking forever.

    Read More
    LISA September 10, 2012
  • Great Scanner - Junk Negative/Slide Trays
    Reviewed at http://www.Epson.com

    I bought the Epson V600 to scan old negatives and prints from WWI & II. I have no complaints with the scan quality at all but, the negative trays are total junk. Made of really cheap plastic and are truly cumbersome. Epson needs to come out with a quality negative/slide tray for this unit. I didn't use the outdated Essentials. I have a current version of Photoshop which does a great job. I would recommend this scanner to friends due to the quality of the scan with prints and negatives.

    Read More
    LTM June 9, 2012
  • Epson V600
    Reviewed at http://www.Epson.com

    I had an old scanjet but I aged just waiting for the lamp to warm up. This Epson has great scanning quality, speed and utillity. The front buttons actually work for me in Windows 7. The lid has two "lock positions" that are great as well as the ability to scan a book with the whole lid higher and parallel with the glass. The only problem is that nothing explained the "locks" and I was afraid to force it past one of the lock positions before I did it once with no ill effects. Should have been noted in the instructions that it would not hurt the lid and there were no "unlock" buttons. I bought two additional scanner programs that had great reviews in addition to the included Epson program. Both have their own benefits, and with the low cost of the V600, they were affordable. One of the other programs lets me use my old scanet on windows 7, and the other gives more control. The Epson program does the best job of automatically and accurately finding slide frames. Since I ordered the scanner on line(no local stores had one) I bought an additional protection plan just in case! So far (two weeks) the scanner is great. Only problem I have found is that with some software if you act too quickly to do something while an operation is still ongoing it locks up and must be powered off and back on. Not a big problem. I do wish that the V700 had the LED feature since it would have been nicer to be able scan multiple (24) slides than the 4 slides per scan of the V600. Since I primarily wanted a general purpose scanner for documents and photos as well as a good slide scanner, I bought the V600. I still have to figure out how to calibrate from scan thru print (on my epson 2200 printer). I remember a feature on the old scanjet that let you print a target file, scan it and then do a calibration.

    Read More
    Shene May 23, 2012
  • personal review of epson v600 photo scanner
    Reviewed at http://www.Epson.com

    Hello, Only had the scanner for a couple of weeks so still checking out all features and working of it.. however... Overall I found the v600 a excellent scanner, specifics... the good--- 1. no problems what came in the box 2. installation was smooth no problems with my win7 64 bit system ... 3. scanning of slides and negatives was overall good there was slide issue but talk about that further down .. automatic frame detection work fine but a issue... in some cases.. 4. scanning pictures no problems and quality is good .. automatic image detection work fine 5. fast very satisfied with scanning speed... even on hi dpi setings... 6. the abbyy ocr program that came with it appears to work fine.... no problems working with the main epson program.. 7. epson scanning software looks good although i had to look around a little bit to figure how to called things up.. i guess i should have read the manual.. the poor-- 1. the only paper you get is the installation sheet which is very simple but sufficient.. but... if you have a problem installing.. have the epson number standing by... note: you only get access to the manual once the software is installed... 2. there still appear to have a frame detecting issue (v300 and v500 same issue) . there 2 type of 35 mm film , 135 film and 126 35 mm film... the difference lies in the frame size...!! 126 is a smaller frame size and the automatic frame detection setup for 135mm.. end result with with 126 negatives you may end up creeping basically parts of 2 images in the same frame, you 'll have to go back manually adjust the frame outline... epson teck may or may not know about this issue..oh this is a common issue with all film scanners that i am aware of... 3. thought the integration of the abbyy ocr with the epson software was a little clunky ... think it could be more seemless..... but overall satisfactory... still looking at the other features of the epson but i would recommend this product to my friends.

    Read More
    jerryb4417 January 21, 2012
  • Epson Perfection V600 Photo Scanner
    Reviewed at http://www.Epson.com

    This was my first purchase of a scanner. I bought the Epson after reading many reviews. Overall I'd rate it average. I figure the Epson is about on par with other scanners in its price range, so I didn't ask for a refund. The scanner does a good job with photographs ... on its own terms. If one tries to tweak the results of its scans, it may be frustrating. There are various quality levels one may strive for concerning a particular picture/digital file, but too often it is the scanner that will determine what settings are best. With that in mind, any attempt to improve the quality is frequently met with bad outcomes: smeared areas on the photo. The "Perfection" is not that: it is average. Don't ask too much of it.

    Read More
    Gordonz November 26, 2011
  • Great for scanning negatives
    Reviewed at http://www.Epson.com

    I bought the Perfection V600 for one purpose. I like to make photo books on-line of our vacations. This is easy now with digital cameras. I decided to go back and make photo books of our family vacations when our kids were small, in the 1980's and 90's. There are literally thousands of photos, and they are all on film. I needed to scan all those negatives. I learned quickly it would be most cost effective to buy a scanner, rather than pay a photo service to scan them all. After reviewing several scanners, I selected the V600. I have completed scanning the negatives of one of our trips. I am not disappointed with my choice. I played around a little with the dpi and compression ratio to get the jpegs sized the way I wanted. The results have been even better than I expected. The auto mode worked just fine. The colors and picture quality were excellent, even without using the color restoration option. It took about 1 minute 10 seconds per negative to scan, which I consider to be reasonable. I have tried the photos on my on-line photo book site. They look great. I was able to expand a single image to cover two pages of a 12 by 12 book, that would be a 12 by 24 image. I was concerned about this. I also made a photo CD to play a slideshow on our TV. All the photos looked like they were taken by a digital camera. All in all, I have been very sarisfied with the V600.

    Read More
    The Eggman September 26, 2011
  • Good scanner; confusing instructions
    Reviewed at http://www.Epson.com

    I've only had the scanner about 24 hours. My main reason for purchasing is to be able to scan 35 mm slides so that I can use the images in a PowerPoint presentation. It's actually working very well. The "confusing" instructions for 35mm slides are scattered throughout despcriptions of the 4 possible scanning modes; however, for the "Full Auto Mode" there is a special note in a box which says that 35mm slides can only be scanned in "Full Auto Mode." Since finding that bit of informaiton, scanning has been easy, and results are acceptable. The Users Manual has an index. However, it's not useful. There are only 2 entries for slides, and neither reference is the one about the requirement to scan 35 mm slides in "Full Auto Mode." Epson should review the entire Users Manual for accuracy and clarity.

    Read More
    BBDocent September 11, 2011
  • Great Scanner
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this scanner in an emergency. I needed to scan dozens of photos quickly. I knew Epson was known for good scanners and quickly decided on the "middle of the road" scanner. I couldn't be happier. The scanner arrived within days. Setup was extremely easy. Unpack, plug in, install software and go. Within minutes I had scanned my first photo. A little reading was all that was needed to figure out the buttons. Then I was able to scan with a push of the button. Copying was just as easy although I probably won't use this function since I have a copier. Producing PDF files was also easy - something I'm going to find very valuable. I also experimented with the settings and was able to scan some rather old photos and produce very professional results. I'm extremely please with this purchase. The product also came with some Adobe Photoshop which I still need to install.

    Read More
    calmarsh February 13, 2010
  • What about Mac??
    Reviewed at http://www.Epson.com

    I've had scanners for years--back to the old hp SCSI Scanjet and Windows 3.1. Recently switched to a Mac and bought this because it was recommended for Macs but the software is ancient and not fully compatible with Mac OS X El Capitan. Very disappointing. There were other manufacturers' scanners I would have preferred because of features but eliminated them because they were not fully compatible with the lates Mac OS. Thought the Epson was. It "will" work, but not optimally. Have not tried all the features yet. I would recommend it to Windows users, maybe not for Mac users.

    Read More
    Doc-1 March 31, 2016
  • Good scanner but quite poor software
    Reviewed at http://www.Epson.com

    I bought this scanner to digitize a set of b/w glass negatives of the beginning of the XXc. The scanner itself seems quite fine--I have no real reference, but any pixel peeping I have done did not find anything wrong in the results. Scan time is rather on the long side, but bearable (a couple of minutes for half a 9cm x 12cm glass negative at 1200dpi--I need to do it in two rounds and use Photoshop to stick them together, as the whole negative exceeds the backlit size, but this goes perfectly fine). What I found pretty disappointing is the software. Notice that I am using the EPSON Scan application to produce 16-bit TIFFs and do all processing manually in Photoshop (that is, I do not use any of the fancy options to "improve" the image). Here are a few annoying things: (1) I scan repeatedly in the same area (backlit, cannot use the provided placement guides due to the size of the originals) and EVERY TIME I do a preview (more later on why I need a preview every time) I need in fact to do two, one of the complete backlit area and one of the (unchanged) zoom. Why it does not honour my preselected area from one preview to the next one is obscure to me. (2) The preview does not indicate burned or black areas, as any decent software does (CameraRAW is perfect for that). (3) The levels/histogram control has the usual little triangles to control... one would guess the white and the black points. In fact, no, they control light and shadows, with one extremely annoying consequence: you cannot just place them at the edge of the histogram and therefore hope to capture the whole range used by the photo; you have to place them "somewhere" and judge visually if you are clipping either edge of the spectrum (see point 2). Just to give the reader an idea of the weirdness of this, the default/reset position of the cursors is not 0 and 100%/255 but something like 50 and 225 (I cannot remember the exact numbers now as the scanner is not connected, but you see the point) and this is probably supposed to be the setting which gives a linear (?) rendering of the whole scanner range (they call it "reset"...). (4) The automatic exposure is just plain bad: probably to please the crowds it has high contrast (nothing too wrong here) and clips white and blacks badly. Not even close to be usable--hence I need to do two previews (see point 1) and judge visually the best placement of the edges of the levels (and it is tough, see points 2 and 3). In summary, I am happy of my purchase because I manage to do what I bought it for and with the quality I desire. Yet, achieving what I want is rather painful and certainly takes much more time and effort than it should if the user interface had been slightly more competently written.

    Read More
    paolo September 8, 2012
Sponsored Links