Today: $52.70

At other retailer: $70.48

Save $17.78 (25%)

Free Shipping
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Swift Yarn Winder

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • efs
    Verified Purchase

    This does make winding yarn sp much easier.

    Read More
    Elaine S. December 4, 2016
  • OstkUser54651
    Verified Purchase

    Very user friendly Skeins came off very smoothly

    Read More
    OstkUser54651 December 5, 2015
  • Swift Yarn Winder
    Verified Purchase

    Great Product and quick service

    Read More
    jlovejoy September 14, 2015
  • works well
    Verified Purchase

    OK for the occasional ball that needs winding. The string tying the spokes together came apart right away - tho easy to fix.

    Read More
    Mary B. August 20, 2015
  • I never knew how much I needed it!
    Verified Purchase

    This wooden swift (deceiving from picture) is great. It is easy to use, easy to store, glides nicely, and really seems great quality. I had never used a swift before, but I can tell you, this will make my life as a prolific knitter and addicted yarn buyer so much easier!

    Read More
    laura0922 March 16, 2015
  • Yarn swift
    Verified Purchase

    I love it when something so useful is also a thing of beauty! Well made, smooth and just plain lovely. I almost hate to put it away when I'm finished winding a skein. Just an added bonus that my kids don't have to hold skeins any longer for rolling!

    Read More
    Inspired garden January 13, 2015
  • Good quality!
    Verified Purchase

    The yarn swift is made of wood, and comes with wooden attachment to fix it to a table. The attachment is surprisingly large enough to fit my table, when my ball winder was too small. I highly recommend this swift as one of the best priced with good quality available anywhere.

    Read More
    mcsnygg October 29, 2014
  • Great Swift!
    Verified Purchase

    This is a great basic swift for a good price! I have had it for approximately 3 years and it works just as well today as the day I bought it. It's all wood which I like and clamps on to a table so make sure you have some place you can clamp it! I'm very happy with it!

    Read More
    jrae99 March 20, 2014
  • Love it.
    Verified Purchase

    A little pricy, but worth it for me. Beats standing in line at the yarn shop and waiting to wind the yarn there. Good product.

    Read More
    klmatte February 12, 2014
  • Stay away! Not recommended
    Verified Purchase

    Out of the box, one of the top arms was not properly inserted under the metal ring, and this is not something that one could fix at home. It was clearly something that should have been caught at the factory. The whole thing is made of this light wood, which is fine, including the clamps that hold it down to the table, and height adjustment clamp. Being cheap wood, there is no way you can tighten it enough to hold it down, and I can imagine that this would only get worse. Although since it didn't work out of the box, not sure how it could get much worse! Shipping also took over 2 weeks. In the meantime I had ordered an amish-swift on another site, just like this: http://www.overstock.com/Crafts-Sewing/Amish-Design-Wooden-Yarn-Swift/6203888/product.html. Not only is it cheaper, takes up less room, it works like a charm. Much simpler design too - really nothing can go wrong with it.

    Read More
    clrmoi March 4, 2013
  • Great Product - Awesome Value
    Verified Purchase

    Over 30% cheaper than comparable products sold elsewhere. My wife uses it quite often and is very pleased with the performance.

    Read More
    mcshrader January 26, 2013
  • I love this product
    Verified Purchase

    I have been hand-winding hanks of yarn all my life and finally decided to purchase a swift yarn winder...some of the best money I ever spent! Many yarn shops offer this service for customers, but if you are not using the yarn immediately, it causes a loss of stretch to wind it too early. Also, there is often a wait to have large quantities done at the shops. This wonderful product enables me to wind my yarn whenever I want in whatever quantities I wish. The price on overstock.com was also unbeatable. I only wish I had made this purchase sooner.

    Read More
    sazum0m November 8, 2012
  • Well worth the money!~
    Verified Purchase

    Exactly like the winder at my local yarn shop. Quality was excellent and price was lower than anywhere else.

    Read More
    gigi0821 September 25, 2012
  • Great swift!
    Verified Purchase

    After trying to get my skeins of yarn to wrap around chair backs, pillows, or my husbands hands I finally decided it was time to buy a swift. I purchased the Lacis ball winder as well. They just came today and after on a couple minutes I had both set up and working. It took a couple minutes to wind one ball. Highly recommend the combo. The swift does seem a little fragile with pieces of string holding the bamboo slats together but for an item that won't get used constantly I think it will be just fine.

    Read More
    grrreatk8 April 2, 2012
  • Pretty Great
    Verified Purchase

    I admit when it showed up I was a bit dismayed at the size. It's half the size of the ones I used in college. On the other hand, the skeins are a perfect size for home use! Smaller size also means it's more compact, takes up less room, and would be easy to travel with! This is an awesome price for a well made functional swift. About half of what you'd pay somewhere else. It spins well and wound my yarn off the bobbin lickety split!

    Read More
    annabannanafefifofanna March 18, 2012
  • Yarn Winder is a wonder
    Verified Purchase

    The quality of the swift was excellent - my wife is a knitting fanatic and has been wanting a good swift for some time. The smaller size and large clamp are perfect for her needs.

    Read More
    islelife January 3, 2012
  • To hard to tighten
    Verified Purchase

    The screw that attaches the swift to the table is so hard to turn that we had to get a wrench to turn it. After I removed it from the table to put away (again needed a wrench) we lubricated the screw mechanism with mineral oil. I haven't used it since, but hope this makes a difference. I can't set it up alone because of this - this is not a good thing.

    Read More
    chica1956 November 4, 2011
  • Fun to use tool.
    Verified Purchase

    This is a great tool. It works smoothlyand quietly, and is made of nice wood, not metal. It is super easy to mount and is very firm. I never used one and wound up 11 balls of heavy cotton yarn the first night quickly and without a problem. Have fun!

    Read More
    rustyswife October 18, 2011
  • Excellent product - works great
    Verified Purchase

    This swift is just what I needed. To know whether you need this size or the next larger, I used this one to wind a hank of Socks that Rock, and it held it just fine. The finish is smooth, and it clamped to the table securely with no wobbles. Just be sure and check all the ties before you pull it too far out of the box - one of mine was undone and I needed to retie it.

    Read More
    knitasha June 7, 2011
  • Great Value
    Verified Purchase

    The swift winder is the perfect size for home use. I have used it several times in the last week, and it works perfectly. It is all wood and feels sturdy. I saw similar items priced much higher elsewhere.

    Read More
    jojo789 April 16, 2011
Sponsored Links