Today $64.16
Out of Stock
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Janome SewMini

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Great crafting tool!!!
    Verified Purchase

    This little machine is a must in my craftroom. Specially for my card making proyects.

    Read More
    Aida R. June 22, 2017
  • Great for papercrafting
    Verified Purchase

    I got this so I could sew on handcrafted cards. It is great for this purpose. I still need my regular machine for "real" sewing. This is sturdy for it's size. Fits in a decorative box.

    Read More
    theterrierfolks December 23, 2015
  • poor quality and did not sew properly
    Verified Purchase

    I bought 3 of these machines for my nieces and one doesn't sew at all. I was very unhappy with these machines as I expected a better quality with the Janome name.

    Read More
    bemyheart December 23, 2015
  • Good for kids
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this for my niece and its perfect for young people to learn to sew on. Its easy to thread and its small enough to store easily. She and I made a dress together on my last visit. This is the perfect machine for anyone to learn on.

    Read More
    emstar September 30, 2015
  • Beginner Machine
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this machine for my daughter to see if she would really use it and make clothes. She used it much more than I thought she would. I am happy to say that I just bought her what I consider a "real sewing machine". The Janome is good, but only for the beginner.

    Read More
    lfishburne August 11, 2015
  • mak
    Verified Purchase

    Perfect for tra veling and small job

    Read More
    mak12 May 4, 2015
  • Good sewing machine
    Verified Purchase

    This little sewing machine is very handy, for children as well as for adults. It is light, so easy to carry around, and performs the basic stitches. I bought it for my granddaughter. While researching, I noticed that sewing machines for children have needles that break easily and cannot be replaced. This one has needles that can be replaced. My daughter can use it also. I recommend this sewing machine.

    Read More
    Birgitte L. May 2, 2015
  • 3 Stars as a play machine otherwise 2 stars

    I bought one of these machines a few years ago for crafts, and I have done some small sewing and simple craft projects on it. It is nice to cart around because it's so lightweight, but the sewing quality is not great and it sews real slow! There are so many other machines (used or even new) that can be purchased for around $100 or less (check out the entry level Brother machines) that will do such a better job than this if you really want to make clothing, home dec or do quilting projects. Buy this one only for simple crafting projects (fabrics and paper) for kids to play with or learn on or for minor clothing repairs and not much else. If this was the only machine I could sew on I'd go crazy.

    Read More
    nancy9208 October 17, 2014
  • mini sewing machine
    Verified Purchase

    I've done alot of sewing in my life and I knew when I ordered this it wouldn't be anything fancy or extra heavy but I was hoping it would do a little better job than it does sewing on a variety of fabrics. I'm having a hard time getting the tension adjusted moving from lightweight to heavier fabrics. It's still nice to have for mending and hemming which is what I wanted it for.

    Read More
    pennyv777 October 15, 2014
  • Perfect for my 8 year old granddaughter!
    Verified Purchase

    I would have given it an Excellent rating, were it not for the fact that it did not have a light, making it a bit difficult for someone like me to use. However, it was perfect in every other way.

    Read More
    myra21 July 3, 2014
  • Perfect machine to learn on.
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this for my young grand daughter. She was so disappointed & frustrated trying to learn on toy sewing machines that I looked for a machine that would actually sew but at a speed (it has one slow speed) that she could handle and light enough for her to move around. This machine is perfect for her; it actually sews well at a safe speed and she can move it. It is a little noisier than some other machines but not too loud and since it has no light she needs to use it where there is sufficient light but not a big deal for a young, eager child.

    Read More
    mumm2 June 18, 2014
  • Does exactly the job I needed it to do!
    Verified Purchase

    Read the reviews prior to purchasing this sewing machine. The reviews were on spot! The machine is perfect for the sewing project I needed it for, is slightly loud but, is simple to use. I was very impressed with the instruction booklet, simple to read & understand, with pictures to assist. As stated in some reviews there is no light, but all you need to do is place the machine on a surface & position a light in front of it, simple. For the price a great buy. This machine is NOT for a professional sewer, but is great for the needs of an occasional sewer, :)

    Read More
    nani12345 May 8, 2014
  • Great little sewing machine
    Verified Purchase

    It works perfectly, just like other reviews said, a bit slow but that is better for me

    Read More
    bmmm46 April 29, 2014
  • Jamome SewMini is just what I was looking for.
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this item for my 11 year old granddaughter and it is just the right size for her to start learning on. It does not come across as if it is a toy. It is the real thing, and that made her feel grown up when I gave it to her. It is light weight, easy for her to set up without waiting for Mom or Dad to get it out for her. Easy to thread and do the bobbin. It was easy for her to learn how to take care of and use her machine with the instruction book enclosed with her Janome SewMini. A life long learning tool.I am a very happy Grammy.

    Read More
    alicez509 February 12, 2014
  • Love this machine
    Verified Purchase

    Bought this to use while sitting in my recliner to sew rag strips together. Works really well, just put the foot peddle on the arm of the chair and use my hand on it. The stiches look great. Very easy to thread. I have had no problems at all with it so far and it's really a cute little machine. It was as described.

    Read More
    flowers52cats February 10, 2014
  • Great for beginner!
    Verified Purchase

    This sewing machine is great! I have basically no experience sewing and was able to wind the bobbin and thread this machine with ease using the accompanying instructions. I do wish the plate at the bottom had the markings for the seams and there were more metal parts instead of so much plastic. Still for the price and ease of use I give this little machine a 5-star rating. My daughter (age 8) and I are both learning to sew on it. I guess for more experienced seamstresses it might be too slow, but for me it's great. I believe it sews around 300 stitches per minute.

    Read More
    lizsss September 18, 2013
  • Janome SewMini
    Verified Purchase

    I live in a mobile home ...not much space and this little sewing machine is an answer to my problem, I can lift it and move it anywhere I want and the sewing part is good too, slow enough for a senior citizen fast enough to get the job done. great product !

    Read More
    kealoha06 July 24, 2013
  • Great little sewing machine!
    Verified Purchase

    I love this little sew mini machine! It works very well and is so much fun to use. I never really enjoyed sewing until I started using the sew mini!! I do wish it had a light for when sewing at night and to aid in seeing to thread the needle, but I can not complain because the overall function and quality of this machine is awesome. Love it!!!

    Read More
    alwaysshopping June 25, 2013
  • Great little machine so far :)
    Verified Purchase

    We just received this yesterday. Previously I purchased the "sew fun" kit that had a case, sewing fabrics/notions and the little purple sewing machine. I'd read some good reviews on that machine but the one we got had NO tension on the bobbin so while the stitches worked nicely on the top, there was a loopy, tangled, ugly MESS! We returned that one (Overstock was fantastic about the return but we did have the extended warranty too). SO, back to the "drawing board" I went. My daughter was very eager to sew but I didn't want to spend a lot of money on a machine given the nature of kids...interested one day & then on to the next thing quickly. Well, I looked at reviews here & on other sites & also checked out videos on youtube. This machine in particular had a great set of instructions (a 4 part series) on youtube. It's a GOOD thing because when we opened the box for this the only instructions are in FRENCH! Not to worry, the videos helped us through the set up. Also, my daughter has just finished a sewing segment in her FCS (Home Ec) course & they had the Janome "classmate" machines. This machine (according to her) has a LOT of similarities. She likes this machine better as the arm on it lets you get sleeves & such up close to the needle without bunching up as it did on the classmate machine. Anyway, both of use sewed several things last night. mostly experimenting with stitches & such on scraps. The various stitches all work very well. The tension is just right but if it gets off somehow there is a way to adjust it on this little dynamo! It would be nice if there was a light near the needle area & markings on the plate under the needle would be nice. I will end up marking the plate with a sharpie or tape. Overall VERY happy with the purchase. It's a great value! Easy set up, easy bobbin loading, simple threading of the machine and nice smooth stitches. It does not move as fast as some machines so if speed is super important to you, you may want to spend a little more for another machine. I personally like the slower, steady stitching. I hope this has helped you make your decision :) Oh! For years my Mom was a sales person in a nice sewing shop where they sold everything from simple sewing machines to top of the line embroidery machines. Janome was in her top two favorite brands & now I see why!

    Read More
    ppiam June 4, 2013
  • Perfect for home!
    Verified Purchase

    I love love love this machine! It is perfect for hems, curtains, and touch ups around the home and it is small enough to store easily! Great machine in a little package!!

    Read More
    jtownsend2 March 14, 2013