Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Janome 11574 Heavy-duty Sewing Machine (Refurbished)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • great machine for the price
    Verified Purchase

    My mother, an avid sewer and quilter, purchased this machine for me as a gift so she could get some quilting done while she was visiting me. She had originally looked for machines on Amazon or Target etc but I suggested Overstock. She said that by far this machine was much better than any machine of similar price available elsewhere. There is a threader which makes threading the needle super easy. My mom got all her quilting done and because it is a "free arm" it was super easy for her to fix the knees of my ripped jeans. It does come with the gas pedal type power source which means the speed is adjustable. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because the little fold down compartment on the front of the free arm doesn't properly attach or click closed due to a bend/break in the plastic. I had to use a piece of tape to keep it in place. I'm assuming that was why it was returned and sold as "refurbished". Other than that its great. I used a %10 off coupon and got this baby for under $ shipping included.

    Read More
    rachelp76 March 27, 2010
  • Fantastic Sewing Machine!!!
    Verified Purchase

    I have a more expensive Kenmore I just love that is very similar, so I bought this as a second sewing machine. It has surpassed my expectations. I have sewn different weights of fabric and have used different types of thread, without any problems what so ever. I've made some baby quilts, bags and flannel pajamas and feel I have given it a real workout. I purchased a Brother sewing machine from overstock previously that I should have returned since it had a problem with the tension control that could not be fixed:( The Brother machine is made so cheaply when you compare it with the Janome brand. Take my advice, buy the Janome and stay away from Brother!

    Read More
    justduckytoo March 11, 2010
  • janome
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this machine to do my own alterations.It has gone above and beyond my expectations.I have altered and hemmed jeans,and taken in silk like blouses. The machine looked new with one small scratch on the side.All of the attachements look like new and work like a charm.I am waiting for this machine to be offered again to buy one for my Mother. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for a good inexpensive portable machine.

    Read More
    alicekitty February 25, 2010
  • Just what the doctor ordered
    Verified Purchase

    This machine is able to do all the things that I was looking for in a sewing machine without a high dollar cost. What a find! Thank you Overstock.com.

    Read More
    vj01 February 23, 2010
  • great machine!
    Verified Purchase

    First off, I was very happy with Overstock.com's service. The machine was in stock as they promised and was delivered within a week of ordering and arrived in perfect condition. I have never sewed before and have found the machine very easy to learn and to use. The manual is well written, and I was sewing within an hour of set-up. It is ruggedly made and also very well-designed to be user-friendly--in short, I love it! The automatic threader works every time (unlike my friend's Singer which neither one of us can figure out how to use). The Janome is very sure footed so to speak: it sews over seams and hasn't broken a thread yet. I would recommend this machine and company to anyone.

    Read More
    realhome65 February 21, 2010
  • Had issues
    Verified Purchase

    I've been sewing for 20yrs+ and really like this machine - it's heavy-duty with a good weight, good power, easy to use, plus it's a Janome. BUT unfortunately the one I received already had issues; the bobbin thread did not come up but got stuck, the bobbin holder was more wobbly than it should be & when I sewed faster the machine made a labored noise, as if it was being stressed. That being said, I am recommending the machine since I do like it otherwise, but felt that since I just received it I shouldn't have to send it out for service. In addition, based on the many other reviews, there really haven't been any problems. I wish I was one of those that received one in "like new" condition.

    Read More
    jjvvmm February 20, 2010
  • Janome 11574 sewing machine
    Verified Purchase

    Machine sews beautifully, I tested all the stitches and they work properly. The instruction manual is large and easy to read and understand with photos of all information. I appreciate that it runs quietly and quickly as opposed to my last machine which sounded clunky and seemed slow. You can tell its is good quality by the weight of the machine (all metal parts) and the smooth efficient stitching exhibited to finish the project. Simple to run, good number of basic stitches, attachments suppllied, very good price for high quality Janome product.

    Read More
    clanc54 February 18, 2010
  • great buy
    Verified Purchase

    This machine is very nice quality and a very nice price! Another plus- the instruction book is very easy to understand and use. There are some very nice fancy stitches, but not too many that it gets complicated.

    Read More
    twiggygirl1 February 17, 2010
  • Great features
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this machine for my daughter who is learning to sew. I was leery about the "refurbished" machine, however after reading several reviews on Overstock and other websites I decided to go ahead with the purchase. The machine worked right out of the box. My daughter is thrilled with the selection of stitches this machine is capable of doing. It runs very smoothly and is very easy to thread, changing stitch patterns is easy also. If I hadn't been informed that this machine was refurbished I would have thought it was brand new. There is not a scratch anywhere on the outside and all the parts look brand new. I did purchase the replacement guarantee.

    Read More
    mystavalon February 17, 2010
  • Amazing and versatile!!!
    Verified Purchase

    Got this machine after 2 days purchased, in box like NEW , accesories and manual like new, My new Janome looked like I just bought it out of a store , My first pieces to sew was a couple of jeans, since it "promises" heavy duty work, and ITS TRUE !! Amazing versatility, very strong motor, fast, precise stiches,Just love it, i got a BERNINA too, and is hard to decide wich is my favorite now,,HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

    Read More
    srq31 February 17, 2010
  • Impressed
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered this sewing maching after mine broke. Although it was under warranty it wasn't worth fixing so I purchased this Janome mainly because of the price, it had good reviews and it was a heavy duty machine. I was pleasantly surprised when it arrived. It is a much better machine than my former one and cost less, even with an extended warranty purchased. I set it up and used it immediately. It sews smoothly and with much more power than my former maching. It is easy to use and set up was a breeze. It also came with a automatic needle threader that I didn't realize it had, which is a definate plus!

    Read More
    crazydoberman February 17, 2010
  • Janome Sewing Machine
    Verified Purchase

    This is the easiest machine to use I have ever had the priviledge of owning. There are numerous different stiches on it, I am sure more than I will ever use, it is self threading, love that aspect of it, & it simply purrs like a kitten when I am sewing.

    Read More
    sunfox724 February 17, 2010
  • Can't Beat The Price
    Verified Purchase

    This is a remarkably beautiful machine for the price. Compared to my old machine which packed it in, the difference is like comparing a tractor to a Mercedes Benz. (very smooth and quiet). Has all the bells and whistles that any beginner would love, plus very easy to use and set up. I personally have been sewing for about 30 years and this is all the machine I need. Shipping and customs to Canada was very inexpensive and the machine arrived in about 2 weeks (maybe less). Any Canadian sources that I could get a comparable machine from were charging at least double what I paid from Overstock. How do you beat that!

    Read More
    jnobels February 11, 2010
  • Janome refurb
    Verified Purchase

    To be honest, I've not used the machine yet. The conditional 5-star rating is based on Overstock's great pricing and timely shipping, and the apparent quality of the - as yet - unused Janome. You'd be hard pressed to identify the machine as a refurbished model, and I'm certain it will perform as new. Hats off to Overstock.

    Read More
    934walnut January 8, 2010
  • Janome11574
    Verified Purchase

    I am very pleased with the initial feel and operation of this machine. Have not used it enough to give a complete review but am inclined to be very positive about the performance in the future

    Read More
    raylee333 December 16, 2009
  • Great Machine for the Price
    Verified Purchase

    I am very happy with this sewing machine. It came with instructions on how to set it up & use the features. So far so good...it has worked well, sews beautiful stitches. I am very pleased with this purchase.

    Read More
    spittyspat December 12, 2009
  • Good Deal but not without frustration
    Verified Purchase

    I was so excited to have a great name sewing machine for a decent price. I am new to sewing but am hooked and really wanted to get a machine that would last but not have to pay a lot of money. Well, after playing around with my machine and getting some good use out of it, I have realized that if I go by the suggested width and length of a stitch my seam allowance is off by a little less than a 1/8". I think this is some kind of manufacturing error. I'm dissapointed because when I read the description of refurbished, it was not indicated that this would be an issue. Well, I'm still joyful to have a working machine but not with out frustration.

    Read More
    smartshopper4 December 7, 2009
  • Buy this machine!
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this machine recently as a gift and am giving it to a new sewer. When it arrived I took it out of the box to make sure that it worked and all pieces were accounted for. I was surprised by the pristine condition that the machine was in. I cannot believe that it was ever used before. To me, it appears to be "new" and not "refurbished". This is a great value for the money. Do not hesitate to purchase it!

    Read More
    soupysue December 4, 2009
  • Rugged little workhorse!
    Verified Purchase

    I love this little machine! Knowing Janome quality, I felt comfortable ordering a factory refurbished model. But, I didn't expect the easy, fluid mechanical running of this little machine which I use mercilessly for heavy-duty piecing and quilting... daily! I've gotten a quilting foot for it and a 1/4" foot, and it handles both "lighter" and "more bulky" loads with equal ease.It also gets hauled around in my machine trolley from home to quilting sites where I take it out, set it up, and start sewing again.... Maybe I should expect it, but I'm always amazed at how beautifully, simply it performs. It has the range of stitches I need and a constellation of others I haven't even tried out as yet...I really love it and feel confident knowing its substantial nature...

    Read More
    schoolbelle November 12, 2009
  • A real work horse!!
    Verified Purchase

    I love this machine!! I have had it now for a few weeks and just recently made my son's Halloween costume (Santa suit out of fleece with fur trim). What a pleasure to use such a nice machine! No problems what-so-ever! It's been a long time since sewing was so enjoyable for me (used to have a Riccar and it was problems from the get-go). Impressed by its ease of use, it's metal gears, and features. I don't need a real fancy machine - just one that is reliable and does a good job and doesn't give me grief with thread/bobbin tension all the time. Was impressed when the machine would slow when the material thickness got a bit too much, letting me know to "walk the needle" through the section. My old machine would have just kept plowing and broke a needle or two in the process.This is such a great deal, too! All I can say is "buy it". It's a heck of a deal! I've never bought a refurbished machine, let alone one from Overstock, but I'm a convinced consumer -- as are so many of the other reviewer of this item.

    Read More
    jdb64 November 4, 2009
Sponsored Links