Free Shipping* & 5% Rewards On Every Order* With Club O
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Brother XR 7700 Computerized Sewing Machine (Refurbished)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Most Bang for your Buck
    Verified Purchase

    After careful and thorough research over a period of some months, I selected this model from Overstock to be my first sewing machine. I was a tad leary of it being refurbished, but let me assure you that is looks and sews like it is brand-new. I would have never known the difference. Super fast shipping- Thanks Overstock! I ordered it on a Saturday afternoon and received it that Tuesday morning. After oohing and aweing over every piece I pulled out the box, I set it up and figured out how to thread it within 10 minutes. There is a quick start guide included detailing how to wind the bobbin and thread the machine. The user's guide is also valuable, as I said "what the heck does THIS do?" to a few of the included accessories. Speaking of accessories, all the described accessories were included. Even all the feet. I counted them. I believe there are 11 in all. 3 or 4 bobbins and 3 additional needles as well as a twin needle are included. As mentioned in previous reviews, the start/stop button is awesome! I haven't even taken the pedal out of the packaging-I have no need for it! The button is so convenient, it regulates the speed, and best of all when you press "stop", the needle automatically stays in the fabric, allowing for quick pivoting! As far as sewing through thick fabrics, I have had no problem so far. I even made a double thick fleece coat and hat for my little girl complete with buttonholes without incident. I have sewn through fleece, tweed, taffeta, tulle, corduroy, and of course cotton. This machine handles 'em all! If you are like me and debating on which sewing machine to buy form Overstock, I highly reccomend that you purchase this one. You will not be disapppointed. I still smile everytime I look at mine. :)

    Read More
    blazebunny November 6, 2008
  • Great Machine & Great Deal!

    This machine is really nice, I¿m glad I bought it. I can¿t wait to really use it. I have a little trouble using the automatic threader but hopefully I can get used to it. But I love the quick set bobbin! It¿s so nice not to have to bother with bringing up the bobbin thread before sewing. I am really happy about all the stuff that comes with the machine. You really get a bang for your buck with all the accessories included. The extension table, all of the sewing feet, the basic accessories like bobbins, an extra spool pin, cleaning brush, eyelet punch, seam ripper etc. It also comes with a neat little accessory pod that has a built-in (so it won¿t come off) elastic band around it to keep it closed. The accessory pod will hold sewing feet and other accessories and also has special fitted spaces to clip the bobbins in so they don¿t bounce around loosely. It¿s really a nice little bonus. The machine comes with tons of sewing feet to use, almost any one you could want. Here is a list of the feet that it come with: Buttonhole, Overcasting, Monogramming, Zipper, Zig Zag, Blind Stitch, Button fitting, Walking, Quilting, ¼ inch Quilting, and Narrow hemmer foot. It should also come with a plastic soft sewing machine cover. I love the fact that the photo insert swings open to reveal the stitches and number for each stitch, on the backside of the door is a diagram and list of some of the special feet as well. Just one little tip: when you first get the machine, they have a notice pinned underneath the presser foot and needle. I tried pressing the needle up/down button but got an error so it took me a minute to figure out how to get the needle up to get the paper out. I discovered that you have to move the bobbin winder to the left because it¿s set on the right when you get the machine and then it will work. Hopefully that saves someone reading this review the frustration of figuring out what¿s wrong. I have a feeling this machine will be such fun to use. I love the up/down needle position button and the reverse/reinforcement stitch button. I didn¿t think I would like sewing without the presser foot, but I haven¿t plugged in the presser foot yet and am doing just fine with using the start/stop button instead. Like one of the previous reviewers stated, I tried using the screwdriver as well and it is in fact too tall to use on this machine. Why that is, I don¿t have a clue. I was missing a few things from the box, but Overstock was really helpful and they are shipping the stuff as I write this review. Thanks Overstock! What a great deal! I hope this machine lasts a long time!

    Read More
    iamlilymunster August 6, 2008
  • Great machine for the price!
    Verified Purchase

    I wasn't sure what to expect for the price paid. I was in need of a machine that zig-zagged. I have been having a ball trying out all the embroidery stitches as I work on projects. The self threading feature is nice but the little hook got bent to the side and I had the dickens of a time getting it centered again to grab the thread through the eye of the needle. Ever so often the thread will jam up by the bobbin and that is a challenge to get out since the machine doesn't have directions for how to access the area easily to clear the jam. I found a tweezer helps to grab the threads. Other than those 2 things I am loving using it! It is definately worth the price paid (which is what I was quoted to have my old machine repaired!) Have fun sewing!!!

    Read More
    strainka November 8, 2011
  • brother xr 7700
    Verified Purchase

    I gave this to my daughter-in-law for Christmas. She loves it! She likes the digital display that tells you if you are doing something wrong. Only down fall is bobbin area is plastic and could break easily, but she says it would be an easy fix.

    Read More
    maryt729 January 1, 2010
  • Brother XR 7700 Sewing Machine - Referb
    Verified Purchase

    This is the first sewing machine I have ever purchased and having very little sewing experience, I was definitely navigating through unfamiliar territory. I did a lot of research prior to my purchase, cruising around the internet like much of us do, reading many other feedbacks and ratings. I came to the conclusion that Brother was the manufacture to go with. I finally selected the Brother XR 7700 because I felt it was going to be user friendly for first timers as well being an adequate machine once I advanced my sewing skills. I¿ll admit that I was a little unsure about purchasing a refurbished machine and if I'm getting myself into more headaches then I need. The machine arrived very quickly, as Overstock is usually quick with shipping. The machine looked brand new and had all the items as promised. The plastic compartment on the front of the machine had broken tabs & would not stay attached but Overstock was great about sending me a replacement part. I have used it only once and I really like it. In fact, it¿s a pretty cool machine. The absolutely best part is the instructional DVD. No thumbing through the manual trying to figure it out, I just popped it into my laptop and I was sewing within 10 minutes. I was able to pause the DVD while I was doing the hands on which was real nice and it seemed to sew the items I needed to repair with no problem. The best surprises ¿ the weight of the machine (very light), the condition (like new), the instructional DVD (love it!) and the great customer service with the part replacement. I¿m not disappointed with this machine one bit! Happy sewing!

    Read More
    diega14 November 24, 2009
  • great machine
    Verified Purchase

    Love all the stitches, buttonholes, presser feet, etc. The threading of the upper thread and bobbin is very easy.My only 2 gripes--there seems to be a lot of plastic, which worries me for the long term. My last machine, a Euro-Pro, was all metal. I also wish this came with a case or cover. Lastly, the presser foot doesn't raise up very far, and it's difficult to hold the lever in the up position while trying to put thick layers under the foot.Other than those things, I am very happy with my purchase, and the price was right!

    Read More
    jessicalane November 9, 2009
  • Love it!

    I have been sewing for most of my life, and this is my favorite machine. I have had it for a year, use it almost daily, and have yet to have a single problem. It's lightweight, quiet, and has a stupendously fun and useful assortment of stitches and settings. The extra feet are a welcome bonus, and the owner's manual is easy to understand and a good resource. The machine is easy to use and not at all complicated. My only disappointment with this machine is the free arm is not quite as slim as I would like - hemming my children's shirt sleeves is a tight fit compared to my old Kenmore. The storage compartment is next to useless unless you like taking a lot of time folding and re-folding the bag of accessories to make it fit in the compartment correctly. I am still rating this machine at five stars, though, it is a great machine.

    Read More
    postobitum September 24, 2009
  • So far so good!
    Verified Purchase

    So far i've enjoyed this sewing machine. It was missing the DVD and when I called on it, the customer service rep promptly took care of the issue and had another sent to me within 2 days. Excellent service. I especially enjoy the fact that you get a whole ton of sewing feet. Im a beginner sewer, and I could have just stuck with one that was more simple and less stitches, but I wanted something that I could grow with. So far the reviews on this machine are on the spot. Thanks Overstock!

    Read More
    vexxin June 17, 2009
  • Excited
    Verified Purchase

    I had haunted this site for months researching the machine and 3 times trying to order to find it in stock. I have a friend who has had 3 of the Brother embroidery machines and been very pleased so I was intrigued by the offering of stitches and the capability of this machine along with the price. It came very quickly and looked totally brand new. I watched the DVD 3 times to familiarize myself and sat down to get it operational. I am thrilled with all the stitches as was all my family. I want to use it for quilting and all the attachments and feet included will help me in that endeavor. I have a high end brand machine also which I plan to keep without the fancy stitches.Other than getting the threader apparatus to work (sure it is my fault and I can still see the needle and can do it myself). I would definitely recommend it to others and have told all my friends about your site ,this machine and the shipping ($1) that day.

    Read More
    simplenanny November 25, 2008
  • perfect
    Verified Purchase

    easy to use and love the self threader

    Read More
    Jayson July 26, 2015
  • very satisfied
    Verified Purchase

    I bought a Brother LX3125e Sewing Machine (Refurbished) and I was very satisfied so I gave it to my daughter and I got the Brother XR 7700 Computerized Sewing Machine (Refurbished). I have now a more sophisticated machine it has so many more features including threading your needle automatically I am very satisfied

    Read More
    tishp April 16, 2015
  • Buyer Beware! Does not come with instructional DVD
    Verified Purchase

    I'm certainly not a professional seamstress but I've threaded a machine before and I can't figure this one out from the instructions. Apparently there was to be a DVD with the sewing machine but since this was purchased as 'refurbished,' NO DVD was included. It would sure help to see someone actually performing the task of threading the machine and threading the bobbin. I couldn't find videos online for this model so I'll have to purchase the DVD separately. This detail should have been in the item listing.

    Read More
    suedintn March 7, 2013
  • Fabulous Machine
    Verified Purchase

    I have had this machine for awhile and I received it in new condition even though it was refurb. It came with great accessories. I am quite happy with this purchase.

    Read More
    pedw68 January 29, 2013
  • Perfect for beginners
    Verified Purchase

    Perfect for beginners like myself.. but if I had to purchase one again I would def. choose a Brother but would have liked the Project Runway Model simply because their are more u-tube videos that go over the features, ect.. and it is a more popular model.

    Read More
    sobestyle December 7, 2012
  • Great little sewing machine.
    Verified Purchase

    These Brother machines are great - I needed a second machine and didn't hesitate to buy a refurbished Brother from Overstock. After a little problem with the first one that I received, Overstock sent another machine, looks like new and works just fine. Shipping was very quick and product is great. It is light weight and easy to move around, instructions are quite easy to follow, highly recommended.

    Read More
    lizzie1946 August 9, 2012
  • Love this sewing machine.
    Verified Purchase

    I really like this sewing machine. It does everything I want it to do, but isn't confusing for a very novice sewer.

    Read More
    lissgm June 16, 2012
  • Did the trick!
    Verified Purchase

    We got this to get a costume dress sewn for a play my daughter was in. Everyone involved said the machine held up great. We didn't use it for anything too fancy; pretty much straight seaming.

    Read More
    deserteric May 28, 2012
  • Brother XR 7700 sewing machine
    Verified Purchase

    I needed a new sewing machine for household fix-ups and simple sewing projects. The last time I had my Pfaff repaired, it cost more than what I paid for this Brother machine so I felt it was a good investment. Wrong. It struggled to go through three layers of standard weight fabric. I've been a home sewer for more than 50 years and I found the directions difficult to understand. Best thing about the machine was the bobbin winder. I returned it for a Singer, also from Overstock. I obtained a mailing order by email and I still had the box, so the machine was returned within days. I got an almost immediate credit on my account.

    Read More
    reneewink April 25, 2012
  • Excellent machine
    Verified Purchase

    After reading many reviews online, I purchased this machine to replace my broken machine. So far I am very pleased. Shipping was very fast. Despite being refurbished, it looks just like new. It's easy to set up and use -- the manual is quite easy to understand. It's capable of doing more decorative stiches than I will probably ever use, but the accessories like the walking foot, 1/4 inch foot, quilting bar and free motion foot are very helpful with quilting.

    Read More
    seaglass101 April 25, 2012
  • Great for boat canvas
    Verified Purchase

    This machine goes thru four layers of sunbrella canvas with no issues. It's very easy to operate and has more stitching options than I'll ever need. A nice machine for the price.

    Read More
    hisedude April 19, 2012
Sponsored Links