Today: $105.49
Free Shipping
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Brother VX1435 35-stitch Function Sewing Machine

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Sew Sew Sew Your Coat
    Verified Purchase

    Great price, speedy shipping! My only negative with the sewing machine was with the instructions that came with it. While I have used many sewing machines in years gone by, this machine has it's own unique set-up procedures and, it seemed to me that the instructions were not completely on-track with the set-up. However, once past the initial set-up, the sewing machine is a breeze to operate. Keep in mind that it is an easy to use (probably for beginners) and fairly light in weight machine. This means that sewing on heavy materials might be a problem. Otherwise, a great buy!

    Read More
    lovemydoxie April 12, 2011
  • Brother machine is better than I expected
    Verified Purchase

    It was a larger and nicer machine than I expected for the price. It is all that I need since I'm not a professional seamstress. I just sew some clothes for myself which only require basic stitches and button holes. This machine is much more than I require. I've already sewn with it a little and did not face any problem. I'm very happy with my purchase from Overstock. I'm really glad that Overstock is providing us products with a very low shipping charge. It really makes it worth it. Thank you.

    Read More
    shalomforever April 11, 2011
  • simple sewing machine
    Verified Purchase

    This is a great simple sewing machine. It has the basic stitches necessary to get the job done, nothing fancy though. I bought it as a gift for my grandma who only uses it for hemming pants and sewing lighter materials. I was pretty surprised though when she let me borrow it and I used it to sew a heavier fabric and it worked great! It handled it much better than I thought. It's not too light though and I know that it is advertised as "lightweight". It has more mechanical parts seeing that it's not electronic or computerized so I guess it's lightweight compared to other mechanically based sewing machines. It's top speed is also much faster than I thought. I have a Brother SQ-9000 and this machine has a faster top speed than my SQ-9000. This machine also has a nice compartment that opens up which makes it easy to clean out the dust and fuzz that gets caught underneath due to normal sewing. Great machine for the price and Brother makes great machines so you know you're always getting a deal. The only reason I knocked it down a star is because the title is misleading. It says 35 stitch function but the machine only does 14 stitches. Not sure what they mean by "stitch functions"

    Read More
    bvgarcia826 December 31, 2011
  • Good for the hobbiest

    This is a good little machine for someone who likes to sew as a hobby. The biggest problem I had with it was the spool that goes on top coming off. The plastic stick they have you put it on is thinner than most of the thread that I use (*** brand), so if I was sewing with any sort of speed it would come off. My solution was to take a pen cap and put it in the extra space, which solved the problem. The foot pedal takes some getting used to. At first it seems as if it only has two speeds: super fast and super slow. Eventually you get the feel of it and you can control it, but it will take a bit of time. Experiment with a spare scrap of fabric first so you don't end up having to seam rip your project! Good little machine overall. I mostly like to sew and quilt for fun, and this machine suits my needs.

    Read More
    parrishku December 9, 2011
  • Easy!
    Verified Purchase

    I rec'd my item within just a few days - and it was just as it was described on the site. I'm a beginner and this machine was easy for me to set up and start sewing on. I am still in the very beginning stages of learning how to sew, how to properly set the tension, etc.But so far, the instructions and tips that came with the machine have been really helpul. I think it's a really good beginners or basic sewing machine.

    Read More
    drgnlny April 20, 2011
  • Refurbished My Foot!!! (in a good way)
    Verified Purchase

    I received this sewing machine today,threaded it and started working on my holiday projects. In 3 hours I have gotten two halloween costumes and some Christmas decorations done and over with. On the site it says that the machine I ordered was refurbished...YEAH RIGHT!!! Its New....and I mean brand new!! No scratches,dents,dings...NOTHING. I am so thrilled about my purchase,and I would recomend to anyone!!

    Read More
    sunnyflower30 August 23, 2011
  • Great "First" Machine
    Verified Purchase

    This machine was purchased for my niece as a "starter" or introductory sewing machine tor a new sewer. It arrived very quickly, was packed well, and met with all expected standards. My niece is having a ball with it and it's just enough machine for her to handle at this time. I have a Kenmore, a Brother, and used to have Singers. The Brothers and Kenmores can't b beat! I find the Singers too sensitive which results in frequent repair issues.

    Read More
    flashbash January 6, 2012
  • A good, basic sewing machine
    Verified Purchase

    It's a good, basic sewing machine. Easy to use, lightweight to bring out for occasional sewing needs. I recently lost weight and need to take in some pants and this is a good machine for that. I would not use it for anything too difficult (ie: sewing duck or any overly heavy weight fabric) but for simple sewing of clothing and household projects it's perfect.

    Read More
    celticcheri October 31, 2011
  • sewing machine
    Verified Purchase

    I don't normally sew, but this machine made it easy. easy to operate, a little difficult to get the thread in all the righ places, but once its set up it works great.

    Read More
    etd29 August 23, 2012
  • great value priced machine
    Verified Purchase

    This light weight sewing machine has everything you need for normal sewing requirements. I'm not a professional seamstress but it's great for repair and light sewing needs. What a excellent price it would have cost a least this much to repair my old sewing machine, and it was very heavy to move around this is easy to move and store.

    Read More
    buck16 March 1, 2012
  • First sewing machine
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this machine to learn how to sew and took it with me to a sewing class. It was pretty easy to work with (I had never used a sewing machine before) so I am pleased.

    Read More
    todsh January 22, 2012
  • This is a good basic machine.
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased two of these (at different times for 2 different people) and am happy with the results. Other than the noise it makes, it is very good.

    Read More
    littlebigsister December 20, 2011
  • Good value for beginning sewing
    Verified Purchase

    Overall a good product. I wish it were easier to get to the oiling points without having to unscrew a very stiff screw. I'm very happy with the weight (very light) as I will be taking this travelling.

    Read More
    yarnpirate June 21, 2011
  • Poor

    My sister bought me this sewing machine a yr. ago, it lasted a little over a yr. Mind you, I do not sew, it was used merely for mending and light sewing. It's not a good investment, save your money and buy a *** brand. Seriously, this is NOT a good machine.

    Read More
    phantom99 March 4, 2011
  • Happy with my purchase
    Verified Purchase

    Have spent several days sewing with this machine. It has done everything I wanted it to do. Love the variety of stitches available.

    Read More
    phygil May 14, 2013
  • Sewing
    Verified Purchase

    I love the sewing machine. I even enrolled in our club's sewing class. It is easy to use not complicated.

    Read More
    vegetaria March 19, 2013
  • Brother sewing
    Verified Purchase

    This was a present and I personally did not open the box. I did ask the recipient to check it out and make sure everything was working well and she reported that it appeared to be good.

    Read More
    joycelabree June 30, 2012
  • The directions were vague and confusing.
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this machine for my 10 yr old grand daughter as a first machine. I have been sewing for years and found the directions and initial set up vague and confusing. It was hard for me to change bobbins and my grand daughter really struggled. We also had a difficult time with stich size and tension regulation. If my grand daughter continues to like sewing I would definitely buy a better machine.

    Read More
    fwammy January 31, 2012
  • Perfect for that TEEN sewer
    Verified Purchase

    This was a gift for my 13 year old niece. It ended up being the same sewing machine that she uses at school and simply loves! Thanks for making me look like the greatest Aunt EVER! (hard to do with a thirteen year old)

    Read More
    kimboydspear December 8, 2011
  • Don't bother
    Verified Purchase

    Lots of problems with the bobbin on this machine. My MIL is a very good seamstress and she can't even figure out how to fix it. It keeps popping out. Overall not happy with this purchase.

    Read More
    dw418 March 11, 2014
Sponsored Links