Today: $369.99

At other retailer: $552.90

Save $182.91 (33%)

Free Shipping
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Brother SE400 Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Very Pleased
    Reviewed at http://www.brother-usa.com/

    I bought my Brother SE400 as a beginner and have had this machine for almost 2 years. I did online research before I decided to get the SE400. It is a great machine; easy to use and has fantastic features. I especially love the needle threader and thread cutter and the green/red light indicator which makes actual use easier and more enjoyable. The onscreen programming is user friendly as well. After watching the DVD, I really had no problem in operating the machine right from the start. I am writing this because my friend recently purchased a Janome and I realize what a great purchase my Brother SE400 is. The Janome is only an embroidery machine, does not have a thread cutter; the needle threader is awkward to use and machine programing in general is too. I am trying to help my friend since I have had my machine longer. It is a more difficult machine for a beginner/novice to operate, however I do like the larger embroidery area and the actual look of embroidered fonts on the Janome. I love the versatility of the SE400 and how easily I can pack it up and move to a different location. If you are just beginning machine embroidery, you will find there are a lot of challenges but using the Brother SE400 will not be one of them.

    Read More
    dollygurrrl June 15, 2013
  • Machine Extroidinaire
    Reviewed at http://www.brother-usa.com/

    After over 50 years of using Singer machines exclusively, my 23 year old XL-100 motherboard died, leaving me with no alternative except to look for a new machine. After talking to an independent repairman, I asked him for the name of one brand that was leading out there. He only named one brand, it was Brother. And, I have to tell you, I’m not one bit sorry for purchasing the Brother SE400. I spent four days at this machine. I did everything I could think of to fully test it. I primarily wanted a sewing machine, but was reluctant to give up even the basic embroidery features I had. Cost was not a serious feature, replacing my other machine was the main focus. But this machine is the best “bang for the buck� I could find. Having a degree in Computer Science, dealing with downloads for designs, was not a concern. In fact it was one of the features I was looking for. I want to be able to update the machine software if needed. I actually got 99% of the desired features in this model. The only thing I really didn’t get, was more presser feet, but those I can buy as I feel the need to have. This machine sews wonderfully, completely adjustable to what you are sewing, including heavy fabrics (with correct needle and thread), quilting, and the embroidery. Machine embroidery is an animal unto itself, and it takes time to experiment, learn and research all facets of it. Having done machine embroidery for over 20 years, I found this machine easy to adjust and use, although people who have never done embroidery before may find it difficult until the concepts are learned. The main things I’ve learned while reading and learning, is what threads to use (and which ones not), making sure the machine AND the bobbin is threaded correctly, (seems to be a common mistake among newbies) and taking my time to set the machine up to do exactly what I want done. I’ve always had the option of speed control either by the machine or a foot pedal, automatic thread cutter, automatic needle threader, and easy bobbin loading. These are all features that make this machine even better. But the biggest difference between my old machine and this one? The SE400 is so much smaller and lighter and easier to maneuver around. Brother has done a very nice job with this machine, for beginners and seasoned veterans like me, and for the price, you really can’t do better.

    Read More
    MountainGranny February 2, 2014
  • A superb machine by any standards
    Reviewed at http://www.brother-usa.com/

    I've had the SE400 for a little more than a year and just in the last month have used it for regular sewing. I also have a CP-7500 which I love, and it did most of my sewing for the last 2 years, but decided I'd like to give the 400 a shot. Man, what a blast!! The CP is great, but the SE is much nicer, smoother, and quieter. It is just a very well built, solid, GREAT machine! The threader works awesome (but the CP one is great too!), but I think it's the extras that make it such a great machine: thread cutter, bobbin warning, the LCD screen, the embroidery, etc. It also comes with several feet and many accessories you don't get with other brands. I haven't sewn on too many machines, but I have seen a lot, and can say that for the money this has got to be #1, and likely rivals machines 2x or more in price. I'm just completely pleased and will recommend Brother machines to everyone!!! Great investment that I know I'll be using for decades!! Thanks Brother!! P.S. you MUST turn the feed dogs off for embroidery or else you get thread shred, and I don't remember seeing that anywhere in the manual. Just a head's up :D

    Read More
    BobbyG December 11, 2013
  • Exceptional!
    Verified Purchase

    I bought the Brother SE400 without having any sewing experience. The instruction CD was a huge help and I've mostly been using the embroidery function (which is the primary reason I purchased the machine). It's been so much easier to use than I ever expected and I've learned on my own how to applique and embroider. It's been so much fun and I can't wait to learn new techniques and improve on my recently learned skills.

    Read More
    twinmommyintexas February 12, 2011
  • Excellent
    Reviewed at http://www.brother-usa.com/

    Although I have advanced to a 10 needle Brother embroidery machine I continue to use my SE400. I am mentoring my 7yr old granddaughter who is claiming the SE400 as her own. Have a total of 5 Brother machines in my work space - - Brother is the best member of my family!!

    Read More
    KameoDesigns July 29, 2013
  • The best sewing machine EVER
    Verified Purchase

    This is the best sewing maching I've ever used. The ease of changing stitches (from zig zag to straight, for example) is fantastic; the ease of changing the foot from regular to zipper is incredible; winding bobbins is easy and the drop-in bobbin feature is wonderful. The self-threader is something I didn't know I needed until I had it! No more squinting at the needle or hoping my arthritis doesn't kick in. The embroidery features are wonderful, and it is incredibly easy to hook up a laptop for downloaded patterns. I've just about finished my first major project with this machine (a Civil War uniform) and have been absolutely delighted. The machine tells you when your bobbin thread is about to run out, so no more surprises! I highly recommend this machine, and the price is amazing on Overstock!

    Read More
    chrisnglenn September 13, 2011
  • Perfect machine
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this machine for the embroidery function, which is great. What I didn't realize is what a great sewing machine this is. I have been using it for my regular sewing in addition to embroidery. The internet is filled with free designs that you can use on this machine and the USB connection to a computer makes it so easy.

    Read More
    dshgr November 7, 2011
  • best purchase ever
    Reviewed at http://www.brother-usa.com/

    I recently aquired a husqvarna Designer I machine and can honestly say you could not give me 2 of them, new in the box, for my brother SE400. I can honestly say this is the best product i have ever owned! and while my Designer 1 sits quietly, my brother is constantly busy!!!!!

    Read More
    aleft1961 July 16, 2013
  • Great machine
    Verified Purchase

    This machine is very user-friendly. I have never operated a sewing machine in my life, but was able to get everything working right out of the box. The embroidery is very intuitive as well.

    Read More
    etedesco July 21, 2011
  • a little disappointing
    Reviewed at http://www.brother-usa.com/

    instruction manual could be more detailed. Cannot create personal designs unless you purchase additional software.

    Read More
    habsgal July 26, 2016
  • Love it!
    Verified Purchase

    I am new the sewing world and I love my new machine. I've downloaded a bunch of embroidery designs and I am like a kid in a candy store! For a beginer machine I think its wonderful, if your looking for something to do big designs you need to go to a bigger machine. This machine does designs no larger than 4x4. You will enjoy it!!

    Read More
    vvsdiamond72 June 23, 2011
  • better than my old machine
    Reviewed at http://www.brother-usa.com/

    I find it is easy to use for sewing. The embroidery is great and I am finding it easy to use and set up.I find it easy to transfer embroidery to the card and I am currently making a cushion cover for my niece.Thank you for an excellent product.Elizabeth Bergman.

    Read More
    Zina July 16, 2016
  • Love this machine
    Reviewed at http://www.brother-usa.com/

    Have had this machine for 2 months, no problems. Love it.

    Read More
    Laurie October 15, 2016
  • price and quality unbelievable!
    Reviewed at http://www.brother-usa.com/

    I bought this machine because it was price reasonable. I also have an sewing/embroidery machine I paid thousands for that works with the computer as well. I love it too, but I couldn't believe how easy and perfect this embroidery machine was. I use it to do embroidery for my church. altar cloths, offering basket liners, sashes everything imaginable. It sews as well!

    Read More
    Traceylyn March 10, 2014
  • Great little sewing machine
    Reviewed at http://www.brother-usa.com/

    I bought the se 400 because it threads the needle with a touch of a button and it works. I have never done embroidery so was a bit intimidated by it. I made a drawstring bag for my little granddaughters and put their names on each. It was easy. Filled them up with goodies and waiting to give them to each one

    Read More
    Formygamily April 9, 2017
  • Great
    Reviewed at http://www.brother-usa.com/

    I love my SE400! I love being able to use the same machine to both see and embroider.

    Read More
    Kathryn September 28, 2016
  • I'm Loving It!
    Reviewed at http://www.brother-usa.com/

    I love the SE400 not only for its embroidery capabilities, but because I can sew on it as well. I bought it this summer and have sewn something almost every day since I got it. The auto reverse and thread cutting are features my previous Brother machine did not have; I'm loving those features. I only wish there were a larger frame size for this machine, but for my first embroidery machine I am very pleased.

    Read More
    Gr4nny August 15, 2016
  • owner
    Reviewed at http://www.brother-usa.com/

    I had problem right off/you could not switch from embroidery to sewing& the threader only work1/3of the time, it did do great embroidery.,but i need to sew without fighting with it .So if you can find a way to pull the dogs up/without harming the machine it would be ok&thread it by hand.

    Read More
    linda September 15, 2013
  • I love this machine!!
    Reviewed at http://www.brother-usa.com/

    This machine is so easy to use and has many fantastic features that are so useful in your sewing endeavors!

    Read More
    missgracey June 18, 2017
  • Great machine
    Reviewed at http://www.brother-usa.com/

    Just kinda difficult to adjust and use embroider ... needle treading isn't working properly

    Read More
    Beatreram May 29, 2017
Sponsored Links