Read All Reviews for Brother LX2500 Heavy Duty 17-Stitch Free-Arm Sewing Machine (Refurbished)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Brother Heavy Duty 17-stitch sewing machine
    Verified Purchase

    The machine is definitely made for everyday sewing.The parts are plastic,that makes me cautious when using it.It is very light so it moves about when running it.I got what I paid for and wish I'd waited until I could afford a better machine. That being said I have successfully completed several projects with it.Just keep in mind the price and you won't be disappointed.

    Read More
    artistann January 3, 2014
  • Great for beginners
    Verified Purchase

    I love this sewing machine! Works like a charm! I sewed paper, cotton tees and it gave me no problems!

    Read More
    cookshop December 23, 2013
  • Oversized paperweight
    Verified Purchase

    Would love to review the actual performance of this product, however I have no way of finding out, as the machine came with a 220v power cord/pedal. Product description gives zero indication that this is a European area model, yet Overstock CS was utterly unhelpful when I tried to get a replacement cord appropriate for my region. Wound up trying to buy the 120v pedal model the machine's manual claims to be compatible off of Ebay, only to find it won't actually plug into the machine itself. I now have a $XX paperweight.

    Read More
    skitchhead December 11, 2013
  • Brother sewing machine
    Verified Purchase

    Bought this for my 12 year old Granddaughter for Christmas last year. She loves it and finds it fun to use.It's a good quality machine for the $. I like that it is a little heavier and definitely her first Grown-up Machine.

    Read More
    julia9 November 19, 2013
  • Great Machine
    Verified Purchase

    I just started back sewing after many years and wanted a basic sewing machine for projects. This is a wonderful easy machine to use. I would suggest watching the DVD first to familiarize yourself with threading and winding the bobbin. Only negative, which is minor, is the lever to lower and raise the needle is to the side and not behind. Other than that I would highly recommend.

    Read More
    sewer09 November 14, 2013
  • 49snover
    Verified Purchase

    i like this product and would buy this again.i dont have anything else to say

    Read More
    49snover November 12, 2013
  • Great Sewing Machine!
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered this machine for my crafting projects and it does everything I need it to do. I have been very happy with this somewhat basic machine. It is very sturdy, and was a great value for what I want it to do. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a simple easy to use sewing machine.

    Read More
    sophella November 5, 2013
  • good first time user sewing machine
    Verified Purchase

    this is my first time purchasing a sewing machine - the brand name and price were the selling features for me. I purchased this machine to only do minor repairs and alterations and it has really performed nicely..Good buy for sure !!

    Read More
    mistycat911 November 5, 2013
  • Great Starter Machine
    Verified Purchase

    I have always been a person that sews by hand. I've even made a ballroom gown out of a bolt of cloth completely by hand (bodice full skirt, and zipper). This wasn't due to being a sewing genius a purist, or a masochist. The simple fact was that I was OK at hand sewing, whereas I could break a sewing machine just by looking at it wrong. After years of handmade napkins, dresses, duvet covers, and curtains, I decided to take a chance on a modest, refurbished machine. I settled on this one. My decision was a quick one based on price, the reputation of the brand, and by a quick "eh, why not?!". I was not disappointed. This is a very easy machine to learn on, and it is fairly forgiving. I am moving up to a different machine by Brother, but this one will still be my simple go-to machine. I do wish that this machine had come with a case. Other than that: it is a great investment for a beginner sewer or someone looking for a basic, reliable, affordable machine!

    Read More
    tifmitch October 14, 2013
  • Loved this Machine
    Verified Purchase

    I wondered if a $XX machine could do the job but my other Brothers machine was in the shop for minor problems and I was so happy with that one I decided to try this one, and wow, it was great also.

    Read More
    zehndar1 October 12, 2013
  • Simple, Easy to Use Machine
    Verified Purchase

    This refurbished brother sewing machine has worked very well in the weeks I have had it. I have used it to mend bed covers and towels, made several throw pillows, and recovered a comfy chair cushion with zipper. It's is simple to thread, fill bobbins, and change stitches. Light weight, I can move it easily. It is an enjoyable machine to work with.

    Read More
    gbshaw2013 August 13, 2013
  • great buy
    Verified Purchase

    This machine was a great buy for a refurbished model. It works great and although I already have a machine, which is in storage in another state, I just couldn't wait and had to get an inexpensive one for now. It's alittle noisy, not as smooth as I am used to but for the price I couldn't beat the brand and functions for the price. No problems wiht it and works great and finished my first project. Threading the machine and the bobbin loading is simple and fast. Stitch selcetion is very simple as well and the zigzag stitches are excellent. Fits my need perfectly

    Read More
    sanjomom August 9, 2013
  • Positive
    Verified Purchase

    Has all I wanted and needed and more than I use right now.

    Read More
    nelkar July 30, 2013
  • great machine
    Verified Purchase

    cannot beat the price on this machine.A good basic sewing machine.had it one day and made curtains with no problems.easy to thread up even for a beginner.will use this often.

    Read More
    ooptic1 July 24, 2013
  • good sewing for everyday use
    Verified Purchase

    Good Machine with Several options. Lightweight. Only Concern Is Hard Plastic Baseinstead Of Metal. Great For Mending And Small Craft Projects.

    Read More
    macmiles July 11, 2013
  • Awesome machine!
    Verified Purchase

    Right out of the box with bobbing winding, threading the machine, to selecting the stitch, so very easy to operate. I sewed for two hours first time with no issues. A very good buy!

    Read More
    hdrules97 July 2, 2013
  • Nice Entry Level Machine
    Verified Purchase

    The sewing machine arrived promptly and appeared just as in the site image. There are actually only 8 or 9 different stitches, with size variations on those making the 17 advertised stitches. I am new to machine sewing, but the instructions on the enclosed manual were very easy to follow. I was repairing torn clothing very quickly with no equipment problems. Like the title says, this is a nice entry level machine.

    Read More
    1phoenix2 June 27, 2013
  • NamawSews
    Verified Purchase

    I recently retired and one of the things on my bucket list is to make a quilt (which I have never done). It had been over 20 years since I sat in front of a sewing machine so I was a bit intimidated. I had given away my sewing machine so I had to buy a new one. But I did NOT want anything complicated, just enough to do the basics. Although I unpacked the machine as soon as it arrived, it took four days before I had nerve enough to try to use it! The dvd which came with the machine was very helpful and everything is repeated in the user's manual. I was a little concerned about buying a "refurbished" machine, but after using it for several weeks now, it really is as good as new! I LOVE IT! Because: it is user friendly (it is second nature now as I sew); is lightweight and easy to handle; compact and leaves lots of room on the table for other supplies and materials. Now I only have to worry about having enough time to make dozens of quilts!

    Read More
    westfieldfan June 19, 2013
  • The machine gets the job done easily and well.
    Verified Purchase

    I am an older person and felt I could use a sewing machine to alter my clothes (especially tops) as my shrinking figure changed. I have shortened and taken in about 5 shirts and tops since my sewing machine arrived. I plan on doing much more. I do like this machine. I am a novice and am doing just fine. I did have a lesson on using the machine just to make me more confident. The lesson only reinforced what I was already doing. I am very satisfied. This machine suites my needs. It is not complicated.

    Read More
    adofqueens June 11, 2013
  • Cheap and work for simple function
    Verified Purchase

    I am a beginner so it is fine fir me but after using other sewing machine, I found it is not smooth at all by comparison. Doing easy thing is fine.

    Read More
    skao61 April 29, 2013
Sponsored Links