Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Brother CS-80 Computerized Sewing Machine (Refurbished)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Great machine.
    Verified Purchase

    This was the first purchase from Overstock. The sewing machine has worked very well. I do not sew daily, but when I need it is always there ready to work. Particularly the auto needle threader is amazing. It took a little practice but won't do without it now.

    Read More
    Martha D. February 5, 2016
  • Okay
    Verified Purchase

    I had some difficulty with the machine, but that may be because I was attempting to learn to sew, not because of the machine.

    Read More
    Sherayah April 21, 2015
  • Very Pleased
    Verified Purchase

    I will preface this with the fact that I haven't sewn anything more than a straight line as I just haven't had the time since it came in. It just came in a plane box as it's refurbished but other than that it looks brand new. It came with all the things it should have and the owner's manual was very helpful. I can't wait to use some of the special features it has. I'll come back in a few months and update how well it is working then.

    Read More
    hreneef May 31, 2011
  • Awesome Machine and IT THREADS ITSELF!!!
    Verified Purchase

    I was worried about this being a refurbished machine even though I have never had an issue before. This machine is extremely easy to use and I learned how to maneuver it pretty well in the course of one day. The automatic threading is amazing. When I first learned how to sew on my mom's old Singer it took me ages to get the needle threaded! I have sewn about a million things with it since it arrived and have had only a couple of issues but they were my fault for not changing the needle for a thicker fabric. I have made: two duvet covers, 6 throw pillows, 5 sets of curtains, embellished a vallance with ribbon, made pillowcases and put buttonholes in several things. The button hole foot and feature is fantastic! Overall I am amazed at the features this machine offers and highly recommend it!

    Read More
    tstackable May 19, 2011
  • sewing machine
    Verified Purchase

    I absolutely love this machine! I purchased the same one about 2 years ago and my daughter and I have been having to share. Just by chance I looked at overstock for something comparable and there was the same machine available. I had such good results with my first one I ordered another. Everything is exactly the same. The only difference is some of the accessories I got with the first machine are not with this one (cover, bobbins), but the machine itself works exactly the same. The price, as always with Overstock, was excellent. I priced a used machine at a local sewing store with the same features and it was way more expensive. This is a great buy for basic sewing.

    Read More
    mon234 November 30, 2010
  • Very unhappy with CS80

    Bought brand new a couple of years ago and haven't used it very much; it is always a new learning experience when I get it out I don't enjoy it. Have been working on a simple cotton apron project; bobbin threads tangles. Might sew fine for a few stitches on 2 layers of cotton; tried to sew over gathers at waist it really tangles. I went through all the troubleshooting; bought new thread; replaced existing needle; bought new bobbins; tried a different type of fabric and nothing corrected issue. Have contacted TWO reputable sewing machine shows regarding repair and they both tell me this machine has an inherent problem; says it can be adjusted but will only work for a short period of time and the same problem starts again. They both said they would adjust it but can't warrant their work. I'm extremely unhappy because of what I paid for it and now can't either get it repaired nor use it.When I mentioned the fact it was the type machine that "threads itself" they both agreed they have a lot of complaints. I don't know what to do----it is worthless to me at this point.

    Read More
    bother1 March 25, 2010
  • Easy to use!
    Verified Purchase

    I am very pleased with this purchase. I have now used it for a few months (on and off) and have found that all the features are quite easy to use, even for the novice that I am. I would have expected to pay a lot more for what I got - as I feel that the quality of this machine is very good.

    Read More
    leenaj27 January 25, 2010
  • brother machine
    Verified Purchase

    I have not had time to try out all the features yet but the ones that I have has been great!!!Very easy working machine....love it

    Read More
    moodytootie August 12, 2009
  • Machine Doesn't Work
    Verified Purchase

    I just received my Brother CS80 Sewing Machine. Hooked it up and turned it on. It started beeping radically and F4 was flashing in the window. No matter how many times I turn the machine off and on it keeps beeping and flashing F4. I checked to make sure there was not any thread tangled --- there wasn't. Since it just arrived there was nothing else to check. I looked in the book to find out what F4 meant and couldl find nothing related to F4. If someone cannot help me out, I guess I will be returning the machine. Very frustrated as I purchased this machine to take with me when I visit my son in September. I have a big brand name sewing/embroidery machine and don't like to drag it out of the house because of what I paid for it. I also thought this would be a good machine to take to quilting classes as it would be easier to transport. Does anyone have any ideas what it going on with the machine. I have a feeling it is locked up but have no idea how to unlock it ??

    Read More
    barb42 August 21, 2008
  • CS80 great machine
    Verified Purchase

    This is a great machine. I really like the thread cartridge and how you thread that and push it down to do the threading for you it's easy and helps alot. There are alot of great stitches on here and great stitch functions it's a good machine for a beginner as well as an expert seamstress and a fantastic machine for quiting. I like it so much I'm buying another one for a friend for a gift who is learning to sew. And Overstock.com is a great place to shop

    Read More
    jazzystitches July 23, 2008
  • Best Buy
    Verified Purchase

    I have enjoyed learning to use this machine. The one thing I can tell you is, you MUST read the book that comes with it. You will save yourself a lot of time. I read it to learn how to thread it, and run the bobbin, chuckle, but then I put the book down and did my quilt without looking at the book. Hmmm... the reason for the book is it will tell you which foot to use and what stitch to use to get the best results. I found that out after I finished my quilt and was just looking through the book. I could have saved myself a lot of time and trouble.

    Read More
    shelley50 March 24, 2008
  • Teach yourself to sew
    Verified Purchase

    I have wanted to learn to sew for years. Mainly to just be able to make simple curtains or sew up a split seam in pants. My mother bought me this CS-80, a spool of thread, a box of bobbins, a couple of yards of 'dollar' fabric and said 'just learn to sew straight lines'. After a year and a half I am now making my 16-month old niece the cutest dress and bloomers set that I designed myself! This machine was so easy to learn!!! I will list a few fabrics that I have sewn with on this machine and any difficulties that I encountered with that fabric. 100% Cotton Broadcloth - easy to sew on machine. "Flag weight" Nylon using Nylon thread - no problems with weight of fabric were experienced. Craft felt - I used felt to make a roll for our jeep soft top windows. I was able to sew through 5 layers of felt! Granted it was one of the first things that I made and I probably wouldn't recommend putting your own machine through such a vigorous workout...but IT DID IT!!! Denim - I have used several medium weight denims. Upholstery materials - never had a problem. Eyelet - no problem. Georgette - no problems at all. I have made tons of dress and bloomer sets for my niece and the children of some friends and family, Jeep accessories, reupholster couch cushions, pillows, and purses. I highly recommend this machine!

    Read More
    nicsew February 15, 2008
  • A Great Machine For the Hobby Sewer
    Verified Purchase

    Purchased this in 2006 and it still is working well. Refurbished is good as new and Value is outstanding for a basic, computerized, self threading machine. The only issues I've seemed to have concern the needle "pressure" through very thick fabric, such as several layers of denim where it has broken a couple of times. So, this maching is probably not for heavy duty, layered fabrics. Also have had minor issues with the self threading unit; can be a bit tricky where once it's thread and needs to keep feeding the thread the tension can stick it up & sometimes break thread - but not at all a deal breaker. Have made curtains, dresses, and fixed things w/ this machine and I LOVE the self threading.

    Read More
    alwayslookingforbestdeal January 19, 2008
  • having trouble getting it to work after 3 times
    Verified Purchase

    This is a nice machine but manybe not for knits. I have trouble with the knits bunching into the bobbin and making a whole in the knits. I at this time cannot get it to work and need to call the compan to see what I can do to make this work. I really love the features but need to know just how to fix the problem.

    Read More
    myindia January 4, 2008
  • AMAZING!
    Verified Purchase

    I got this as a gift for Christmas read the cover to cover and then took it for a test drive. This machine is SO easy to use I could not tell you one place that it needs improvement. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone from beginner to experienced sewer.

    Read More
    pakeysha December 31, 2007
  • CS-80 Brother Sewing Machine
    Verified Purchase

    I currently have a CS-8060 computerized Brother sewing machine and love it. When I saw the CS-80 on sale at Overstock.com, I decided to get one. The price is wonderful and the machine is in perfect condition. I have been sewing for years and it is a wonderful machine....very versatile and can do almost anything. Heavy stuff is a bit hard but I have sewn jeans, etc. on it. Thanks for a great product

    Read More
    janner191 December 26, 2007
  • Instruction Manual Lacking
    Verified Purchase

    The instruction manual leaves a lot to be desired. An experienced sewer may not need better instructions, but an experienced sewer would probably not purchase this machine. Brother should review the contents of its manual and update illustrations and index to be better aligned with an intermediate level sewer. Bobbin winding results are less than desirable. No tension setting for thread spool.

    Read More
    wjbrinkman November 7, 2007
  • GREAT SEWING MACHINE
    Verified Purchase

    I have enjoyed my "new" sewing machine. Having used a Singer for 35+ years the new technology is a wonderful thing! Very pleased with my purchase from Overstock.

    Read More
    dmb7603 November 7, 2007
  • Love It!
    Verified Purchase

    This machine works wonderful. I love all the different options on it. I love the setting it is programmed with where the needle automatically goes down. I really enjoy not having to use the foot peddle. Very comtemporary apperance. It makes sewing even more enjoyable for me with the automatic needle threader.

    Read More
    milligan1 November 7, 2007
  • Tricky
    Verified Purchase

    This machine seems to be cheaply constructed; it sounds a bit strange at times at high speeds. It's tricky to thread the needle. The tension adjustment is unable to fine-tune the tension. Apparently, 'it ain't your grandmother's Singer'.

    Read More
    discerner November 6, 2007
Sponsored Links