Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Brother CE5000 Project Runway Edition Sewing Machine (Refurbished)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • good machine, but has problems

    i bought this machine about 10 months ago, and i have worked that machine about as hard as you could work it. i quilt, and i've made several quilts since i got this machine. overall, i really love it. it's small, it's lightweight, it's portable. it's easy to use. BUT... i realized i was having some tension problems, like other people have mentioned, so i decided to take it in to get a tune up. the place i took it to gave a free estimate, and they said the timing was off. they wanted to charge me almost what i paid for this machine to fix it, and that didn't sit well with me. when i told that to the guy at the repair shop, he said that the problem was that this machine has plastic gears. you mix plastic gears with heavy materials (quilting), then you're going to have problems. thankfully, i got the 2 year replacement plan, so i'm getting a full refund, and i just ordered another machine. the thing is, even with that pretty big issue, i have used it for 10 months with no problems until now. so i ordered the next one up - the CE5500. we'll see how that one does. i've never had a fancy machine, so i really don't know how this compares. all i know is that at this point i'm not prepared to pay the big bucks for a fancy machine.

    Read More
    quiltingkelly April 6, 2011
  • Sewing Machine
    Verified Purchase

    I didn't use this machine when I first purchased it, so I couldn't return it, and when I finally used it, it could not sew anything slightly heavy duty at all. It is fine for just minimal sewing. Last time I used it the thread pooled under the fabric, the needles kept breaking and it was just a pain to sew on because I make crafts that are different thicknesses. I finally bought another machine that sews all fabrics and thicknesses and it is sooo much nicer! Since this was refurbished when I purchase it, I can't see how repairing it again would help. I would be embarrassed to sell it to anyone for fear it would do the same thing as it did to me, and obviously the person before me.

    Read More
    joeyjrjr December 23, 2010
  • Project Runway Machine for my daughter
    Verified Purchase

    This user earned $1.00 Club O Rewards for writing this review.Learn More

    I purchased this machine for my daughter, an avid Project Runway just like her mom. This machine came with a variety of feet and a detailed instruction manual. She loved it! I assisted some, but she was able to master using the machine in about two weekends. She still sews with it and says it's the greatest gift she ever received. My daughter isn't the most cautious person, so the machine is, safe to say, very durable.

    Read More
    kraftymomma1979 May 30, 2017
  • yep.
    Verified Purchase

    5 years in this thing is PERFECT, wonderful machine to have

    Read More
    Alisa B. April 27, 2017
  • Junk
    Verified Purchase

    Don't buy this. It's cheap plastic, vibrates and shakey. Broken and in a landfill as we speak.

    Read More
    tiffany g. March 16, 2017
  • Great even for novices
    Verified Purchase

    My kids and I were clueless about how to sew, but with the good instructions and easy operation, we've made some cool stuff. We have barely scratched the surface of what this can do, and I'm looking forward to learning more.

    Read More
    DC July 9, 2016
  • Really Nice Sewing Machine
    Verified Purchase

    I love this electronic machine! It is lightweight, and as an experienced seamstress, it does all that I need it to do. I like the selection of stitches, which are easily programmed by pressing the buttons. I use this machine a lot and it runs well. For under $$$, it was a very good buy.

    Read More
    phorphree May 14, 2015
  • This machine is amaZing!!!
    Verified Purchase

    I love it. I still have it too. No problems whatsoever with it. I tell all my friends about Overstock.com all the time. I buy all of my items here and its free shipping!!!

    Read More
    deannamarcia May 28, 2013
  • not recomended

    I have owned other brothers sewing machines, but this I would like to throw right thru the window. Worlds worst machine I have ever laid hands on.

    Read More
    thesherhfactor August 25, 2012
  • Great machine
    Verified Purchase

    Great machine. Runs smoothly. Easy to thread. The stitches are even and constant

    Read More
    going2run July 22, 2012
  • Great Machine!
    Verified Purchase

    I finally got to use my new sewing machine. I love it! It sews fantastic and is very quiet. I put together a baby quilt, it was a breeze.

    Read More
    djnushr1 April 4, 2012
  • good
    Verified Purchase

    The machine seems to be working good. The only thing I could not get to work was the automatic needle threader, but no big deal to me.

    Read More
    nevadalady March 3, 2012
  • Looks complicated, but super easy to use!
    Verified Purchase

    I've had this product for 3 years now and while I don't sew heavily, it is always working properly when I need it! The Quick Start manual makes it easy to begin using as soon as it arrives. As I've progressed, I've pretty much learned to sew from reading the full manual. Great machine!

    Read More
    apawol February 15, 2012
  • I absolutely LOVE this product!
    Verified Purchase

    i absolutely LOVE this product. It is super user friendly. I'm so glad I got this for Christmas. It has a very user friendly manual, anc comes with lots of cool pieces for different sewing projects.

    Read More
    elfadalia2 January 6, 2012
  • Oh Brother....
    Verified Purchase

    I love my new sewing machine, it does what I want it to do, still did not try all the stitches, but for what I need the machine its doing the job wonderfully.

    Read More
    avongirl29 December 2, 2011
  • My Wife Loves this Sewing Machine!
    Verified Purchase

    All I know is that my wife truly loves this machine. She's been using it for some time now and she hasn't been disappointed with it's quality or performance yet. It does everything it promised it would do in the ad.

    Read More
    itmservnet November 22, 2011
  • Easy to use and sews well
    Verified Purchase

    This sewing machine is easy to use and sews well. The only complaint is that there is no clipper ar the back so you need sewing scissors.

    Read More
    piratehunter November 10, 2011
  • Easy to use
    Verified Purchase

    I think this machine in it's class is excellent. Have had more expensive machines and I like this one better. Easy to oprerate and it came with all the basic attachments. I am really enjoying this machine.

    Read More
    vivianana September 27, 2011
  • Excellent Buy, Great Sewing Machine
    Verified Purchase

    Excellent Sewing Machine. Was a great buy for the price. Highly satisfied.

    Read More
    gahartafine September 9, 2011
  • My Brother
    Verified Purchase

    I love my Brother sewing machine. It is light weight & so easy to carry. It sews great. Change stiches with a push of the button. I have used it a lot & have had no problems. Shipping was fast & cheap. I love buying from Overstock. The products are great & a lot cheaper than new & work just like new. I wouldn't have know it was refurbished if I hadn't read it.

    Read More
    bengi1 August 30, 2011
Sponsored Links