Today: $34.99
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Amish-Design Wooden Yarn Swift

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • LOVE!
    Verified Purchase

    I buy a lot of yarn in hanks ant this swift is great for various sizes.

    Read More
    sgorom March 18, 2017
  • Love It
    Verified Purchase

    Love It. Easy to assemble and works great

    Read More
    Jonna S. January 20, 2016
  • Ingeniously designed yarn swift
    Verified Purchase

    I love the simple and ingenious design of this yarn swift. It is easy to put together, take apart and stores in a small space in my studio. If you have tried winding yarn balls with a hank of yarn on the back of a chair for lack of a human helper, you will really appreciate the value of this tool.

    Read More
    mimknits October 2, 2013
  • Amish-Design Wooden Yarn Swift
    Verified Purchase

    Received swift in mail 12 days after I placed the order. Upon opening the box, I found that the box contained two of the same wood base pieces, instead of a top and a bottom base, making the swift unusable. There was a manufacturers contact paper inside the box so I emailed them and received the proper pieces in the mail within a couple of days. Once the proper pieces arrived, the swift worked beautifully. It is very good quality and easy to use.

    Read More
    mmtknits May 29, 2013
  • Excellent product, I am very pleased!
    Verified Purchase

    I really like this yarn swift! It can be used for lots of things, not just weaving. It could double as a TP holder if you got in a pinch! :)

    Read More
    krismardenver March 7, 2013
  • Elegantly simple and effective

    I bought this after paying for a more expensive umbrella swift, which arrived defective, and would not have clamped down enough anyway to stay still. Overstock was great and the return for that one was easy. This design is simple, easy to set up and take down, takes up less room, and no moving parts to break. Trust the Amish who value usefulness and the elegance of simplicity. :-)

    Read More
    clrmoi March 4, 2013
  • Amish-Design Wooden Yarn Swift
    Verified Purchase

    After researching several types of swifts and their associated prices, I felt this was the one for me. It is made of finished hardwood and made by a well-known name on knitting forums for needles and other knitting equipment. Unlike other swifts, you can take this apart in less than 1 minute and store it in the box which takes up little space. I would recommend this product to anyone in need of a swift although I freely admit that I don't have the experience of many knitters.

    Read More
    beadz February 12, 2013
  • good product at a good price
    Verified Purchase

    I don't use a swift very often so this works great for the times I do need to use one. It is not complicated to put together or to use with a ball winder. It is a good price for the style and quality.

    Read More
    camcb February 12, 2013
  • Well worth the money
    Verified Purchase

    I've been wanting a tabletop swift for quite awhile, but they have been cost-prohibitive. I was pumped to find this one at half the normal price. Because it is lightweight it is easy to move, put together and take apart. But it also means that if you get to winding your yarn like a fiend, you run the risk of the swift "walking" across the table. Wind with a steady and stable hand and you'll find that this swift does an excellent job.

    Read More
    peggyhr January 22, 2013
  • great swift
    Verified Purchase

    I like this tabletop swift and that it comes apart for storage. I have an umbrella swift but the vice part is shaky.

    Read More
    dobrien4 January 2, 2013
  • Impressive little thing
    Verified Purchase

    The one I received is a Chai Goo brand swift. I was expecting some cheap, poorly made swift made with leftover wood or something. This is really nice quality wood, the pieces went together easily and correctly and I was able to take it apart and fit it back in the box with no problem. For storage it will be nice to keep it in the box and under a bed or table. For the price I paid I am very impressed with this and I don't need a swift more than twice a year, so this is perfect for me. The wood is nice and smooth, just like the Chai Goo needles I have.

    Read More
    mgmwriter October 4, 2012
  • nice product
    Verified Purchase

    Easy to put together and use. I had bought an umbrella style swifter that clamped to a table, but it was broken and I had to return it. The wood on this one is is sturdier.

    Read More
    cm456 June 5, 2012
  • incorrect arms, but mfg. corrected very quickly.
    Verified Purchase

    When I took the swift out of the box & tried to put it together, I quickly realized that the arms were identical. This meant the arms would not fit together properly. I called the manufacturer and they sent me new arms, which I received in less than a week. I love the swift--it works great & stores flat in the small box it came in. Great product & much cheaper on Overstock than in my local yarn store!

    Read More
    wavydavesmom June 1, 2012
  • Not made by the Amish
    Verified Purchase

    This item works great actually, but you do have to assemble it and disassemble it each time you want to use it, which is about 7 steps. Seems like it will hold up well and you can use many different sizes of skeins with it. Smooth motion. My biggest disappointment with it was reading that it was made in China when I opened the box. Something I had hoped to avoid.

    Read More
    mboyd50403 May 29, 2012
  • Great design
    Verified Purchase

    I used this wooden swift to hold some yarn I had been sent by a customer wanting me to make a blanket, and all the yarn was in hanks. So I went in search of a swift and ball winder to turn the yarn into balls. The swift is so simple to put together and take apart for easy storage, I like the fact that you can adjust the wooden pegs for the different size hanks you may have to wind.

    Read More
    sweetybird09 April 10, 2012
  • Verified Purchase

    Read More
    Dina W. April 10, 2016
Sponsored Links