Today $24.42
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Winds of War (DVD)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Recent history
    Verified Purchase

    Show gives a good look at what was happening during this time in history to a number of different families. It is worth watching to get a feel for how people were affected by the coming war.

    Read More
    ibrbest March 1, 2017
  • The Winds of War (DVD)
    Verified Purchase

    I viewed the series and it was great up to the last disc.6 I have the same series on vcr tape and there is a big gap between War & Remembrance and The Winds of War

    Read More
    chewies1 February 23, 2012
  • Great gift for a war buff
    Verified Purchase

    Great mini-series for anyone who likes the war movies. We bought for my father-in-law who is a real war buff, and he couldn't turn it off! He loved it and watched the whole series in a matter of two days. Great actors, good script, and good quality.

    Read More
    ugamomof2 September 6, 2011
  • Winds of War
    Verified Purchase

    Great purchase, great quality, very good shipping xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    Read More
    kandoguy July 8, 2011
  • Winds of War
    Verified Purchase

    Excellent movie for all over 14 years of age. The actual pictures from the war remind us of the times we do not want to relive. Excellent depiction of circumstances of how war can affect us all. Would highly recommend this and War & Rememberance

    Read More
    jjhelen April 11, 2008
  • Winds of War
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this for my mother because she saw it on television and wondered why they never ran it again. I think it's a little slow and borders on being more of a soap opera than a historical movie. No bad language or on screen bed-hopping, so it's OK for the kids to see, but they'd probably be bored. By the way, it ends at Pearl Harbor, so if you are looking to see the USA's war involvement, you'll have to buy the sequels.

    Read More
    auntcranky April 2, 2008
  • Winds are Brewing
    Verified Purchase

    Would recommend this miniseries for anyone interested in history, jr high and high school students, and anyone who loves well-made movies in general. They did a good job with period detail. The story deals with one family's troubles set against the backdrop of the gathering winds of war. Events lead up to the bombing of Pearl Harbor.

    Read More
    Anonymous March 25, 2008
  • Winds of War
    Verified Purchase

    As I am a retired Marine and instruct JROTC at a local high school, The Winds of War is both enlightening toward the subject taught and siutable for a class of 9-12th graders to watch and review as part of their instructional application. I first saw this series long ago and it still holds merit today, all these years later. I like the fact that this video was obtainable from your organization. It was delivered in a timely manner and somewhat reasonable in cost. Yes, I would recommend this service to others with favorable comments to follow.

    Read More
    grunts February 28, 2008
  • Winds of War
    Verified Purchase

    I bought the Winds of War set as a Christmas present for my husband, who was thrilled. It is about fictional characters set in a historical context leading up to WWII. It is well-acted, exciting to watch, but several parts are not suitable to have children watch because of the violence and disturbing aspects of war. This is a keeper, not only for adults now, but to pass on to our children when they get older and need to understand this piece of history, so they don't repeat it.

    Read More
    northwestnikki January 12, 2008
  • Great Story!
    Verified Purchase

    I loved both books by Herman Wouk, "Winds of War" and "War and Rememberance" and this made for TV "Mini Series" is by the Book. Robert Mitchum is the perfect "Pug" and all the other Actors play their characters extremely well. I enjoyed the Fifth DVD which has interviews with Dan Curtis "Director and Producer", Herman Wouk, and the Actors. This also included how the Series was made and where. The Books and the Mini Series make you feel like you were really there in 1939 and into the mid 1940s.

    Read More
    sp9999 November 30, 2007
  • The Winds of War

    GREAT movie based on a very detailed well written book by Herman Wouk taking place during the time of WWII. Commander Victor Henry, played by Robert Mitchum was outstanding as were the other cast members. I have watched it many times, enjoying it every time.

    Read More
    glc36 June 6, 2007
  • Winds of War Blow Breezily
    Verified Purchase

    Grand-scale TV mini-series true to the novel almost to the page. Great scenery and settings appear quite authentic (mostly shot in the Balkans). Casting could have been a little more imaginative. Main character Pug Henry, a Navy officer in his fifties nearing the end of his career, is underplayed by an indifferent and passive Robert Mitchum who looks too old and pudgy for the part - mainly because he was in his mid-sixties when the film was made. Glenn Ford or a similar contemporary would have been more believable. Bad boy Jan Michael-Vincent is miscast as wayfaring youngest son Brian and was not very convincing as an erstwhile graduate student of art and history. In spite of that, the well-photographed film gives an interesting and believable perspective of world dynamics in the three years preceding the attack on Pearl Harbor. Topol does a superb job as always as the Jewish cousin in war-torn Poland, while Polly Bergen is perfect as the glamour-loving Navy wife and Ralph Bellamy gives an inspiring performance as FDR. Recommended as a good story of history for those generations that came of age after WWII (and didn¿t pay attention in history class).

    Read More
    archkins October 14, 2006
  • Verified Purchase

    Read More
    exflyer February 17, 2017
  • Verified Purchase

    Read More
    gambling3nt February 10, 2017
  • Verified Purchase

    Read More
    tweedsheep September 29, 2016
  • Verified Purchase

    Read More
    goodsense July 29, 2016
Sponsored Links