Waylon Jennings - The Music of Waylon Jennings

Today: $22.76
Out of stock

Club O Gold Members Earn

$1.14 | 5% Rewards*




5% Rewards

Earn even faster

Free Shipping

Never pay extra*

Exclusive Rewards

Save big-- up to 40%

Exclusive Offers

Straight to your inbox

5% Dining Rewards

Get paid to go out tonight

ITEM# 12248562
    Notify me when it is back in stock!

    Enter your email address, we will notify you if it comes back in stock.

Love this item?

Save it to a list so you can find it anytime!


something went wrong.

Please refresh the page and try again.


ITEM#: 12248562

Liner Note Authors: Sylvie Simmons; Sylvie Simons. Photographers: Michael Ochs; David Redferns; Michael Putland; David Redfern; Stephanie Chernikowski. The Music of Waylon Jennings is part of a new Legacy series that essentially packages three career-spanning discs into a semi-long box package containing 45 tracks with a booklet that features a biographical essay and complete track information. This one divides up easily into three categories, with a disc each dedicated to "the singer," "the songwriter," and the collaborator," and Jennings broke ground in all three areas during his career. Disc one is "the singer" chapter and includes music from his groundbreaking RCA period in which he issued a slew of charting country singles. These tracks include his signature reading of Steve Young's "Lonesome On'ry and Mean," "Stop the World (And Let Me Off)," "The Taker," and "Ain;t Living Long Like This." Disc two showcases the aspect few people really take into account when regarding Jennings, and that is as a songwriter. Some of these tunes, such as "Are Your Sure Hank Done It This Way?" crossed over onto the pop charts as they connected with rock & roll audiences as well as country fans. Other Jennings' classics here include "I've Always Been Crazy," "This Time," "Waymore's Blues," and of course, "Good Ol' Boys," the theme from the television series Dukes of Hazzard. Disc three covers the collaborations Jennings recorded with RCA and Columbia. There are tacks with the Highwaymen that also included Johnny Cash, Willie Nelson, and Kris Kristofferson. The tracks on this third CD are mostly stone classics, such as his duets with Nelson on "Good Hearted Woman," "Luckenbach, Texas," and "Mammas Don't Let Your Babies Grow Up to Be Cowboys"; and those with his wife Jessi Colter: the medley of "Wild Side of Life/It Wasn't God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels," and the gorgeous "Storms Never Last." In all, while this isn't a complete portrait of the enigmatic Jennings, it certainly is ...


UPC 886975672622
Runtime 137 min.
Type Boxed Set
Genre Oldies
Sub Genre Rock 'N' Roll
Label RCA Records
Producer Chet Atkins; Chips Moman; Jerry Bridges; Gary Scruggs; Don Cartee; Brent Cartee; Jack Clement; Al Cartee; Ray Pennington; Richie
Number of Discs 3
Track Listing Disc 1
  • 1. Stop the World (And Let Me Off)
  • 2. (That's What You Get) For Lovin' Me
  • 3. Chokin' Kind, The
  • 4. Only Daddy That'll Walk the Line
  • 5. Taker, The
  • 6. Ladies Love Outlaws
  • 7. Lonesome, On'ry and Mean
  • 8. I'm a Ramblin' Man
  • 9. We Had It All
  • 10. Amanda
  • 11. Dreaming My Dreams with You
  • 12. Wurlitzer Prize, The (I Don't Want to Get Over You)
  • 13. Lucille (You Won't Do Your Daddy's Will)
  • 14. Drinkin' and Dreamin'
  • 15. I Ain't Living Long Like This
Disc 2
  • 1. That's the Chance I'll Have to Take
  • 2. Anita, You're Dreaming
  • 3. You Ask Me To
  • 4. This Time
  • 5. Rainy Day Woman
  • 6. Bob Wills Is Still the King
  • 7. Are You Sure Hank Done It This Way?
  • 8. Waymore's Blues
  • 9. I've Always Been Crazy
  • 10. Don't You Think This Outlaw's Bit's Done Got out of Hand
  • 11. Theme from the Dukes of Hazzard (Good Ol' Boys)
  • 12. Shine
  • 13. Women Do Know How to Cary On
  • 14. Never Could Toe the Mark
  • 15. Never Say Die - (live)
Disc 3
  • 1. I Got You
  • 2. MacArthur Park
  • 3. Suspicious Minds
  • 4. Good Hearted Woman
  • 5. Luckenbach, Texas (Back to the Basics of Love)
  • 6. Mammas Don't Let Your Babies Grow Up to Be Cowboys
  • 7. There Ain't No Good Chain Gang
  • 8. Night Life
  • 9. Wild Side of Life/It Wasn't God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels
  • 10. Storms Never Last
  • 11. Just to Satisfy You
  • 12. Leave Them Boys Alone
  • 13. Conversation, The
  • 14. Highwayman, The
  • 15. Silver Stallion
Format Compact Disc
Spars Coding n/a
Artists Jennings, Waylon
Country of Origin United States
Club O Rewards

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews. Learn More

Questions & Answers

Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.

Shopping Tips & Inspiration

Shipping & Returns

Contact Information
This product is not yet released, and is expected to ship on Sep. 29, 2009.

This date is subject to change. In order to assure you receive Overstock.com's low price on this item, your credit card will be charged upon order placement. The item will ship immediately upon release.

Standard Return Policy:

Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.