Various - The Harry Smith Project: The Anthology of American Folk Music Revisited

Today: $44.99
Free Shipping*

Club O Gold Members Earn

$2.25 | 5% Rewards*




5% Rewards

Earn even faster

Free Shipping

Never pay extra*

Exclusive Rewards

Save big-- up to 40%

Exclusive Offers

Straight to your inbox

5% Dining Rewards

Get paid to go out tonight

ITEM# 10384612
  • Delivery Estimate

    Select a Product Option to view shipping

      **Delivery date is approximate and not guaranteed. Estimates include processing and shipping times, and are only available in US (excluding APO/FPO and PO Box addresses). Final shipping costs are available at checkout.

    • Warranty
      Select an option before changing warranty
    • Notifications

    Love this item?

    Save it to a list so you can find it anytime!


    something went wrong.

    Please refresh the page and try again.


    ITEM#: 10384612

    Various Artists: Garth & Maud Hudson. When one scans the panoply of artists who performed at two live concerts staged by Hal Willner in 1999 and 2001--highlights of which are collected here--one can begin to understand the far-reaching influence of Harry Smith's original ANTHOLOGY OF AMERICAN FOLK MUSIC. Artists as wide-ranging as Steve Earle, Sonic Youth, Garth Hudson, and Nick Cave pay tribute to the great American roots music archivist and his famed ANTHOLOGY. The array of star power on this two-disc is dizzying, and the performances no less so: Beck boogies through "Last Fair Deal Gone Down," Steve Earle's trademark grit perfectly suits "Prison Call Blues," Wilco's easy alt-country groove ambles through "James Alley Blues," and Sonic Youth finds the weirdness in "Dry Bones," one of the original collection's most memorable cuts. Other highlights include Richard Thompson and Eliza Carthy's stomping version of "The Coo Coo Bird," Nick Cave's "John the Revelator," and Marianne Faithful's beautifully subdued take on "Spike Driver Blues."


    UPC 826663100419
    Runtime 78 min.
    Type Collection
    Genre Folk
    Label Shout! Factory
    Number of Discs 4
    Track Listing Disc 1
    • 1. Old Dog Blue - David Johansen
    • 2. Prison Call Blues - Steve Earle
    • 3. James Alley Blues - Wilco
    • 4. Frankie - Beth Orton
    • 5. Last Fair Deal Deal Gone Down - Beck
    • 6. Sugar Baby - Kate & Anna McGarrigle
    • 7. Butcher's Boy, The - Elvis Costello
    • 8. Way Down the Old Plank Road - Dave Thomas
    • 9. Coo Coo Bird, The - Richard Thompson/Eliza Carthy
    • 10. My Baby Done Left Me - Ed Sanders
    • 11. John the Revelator - Nick Cave
    • 12. Oh Death Where Is Thy Sting? - Eric Mingus/Gary Lucas
    • 13. Dry Bones - Roswell Rudd/Sonic Youth
    • 14. No Depression in Heaven - Garth & Maud Hudson
    • 15. K.C. Moan - Geoff Muldaur
    • 16. When the Great Ship Went Down - Gavin Friday/Maurice Seezer
    Disc 2
    • 1. Lazy Farmer Boy, A - Robin Holcomb
    • 2. Sail Away Lady - Van Dyke Parks/Mondriaan Quartet
    • 3. Poor Boy Blues - Geoff Muldaur
    • 4. Spike Driver Blues - Marianne Faithfull
    • 5. See That My Grave Is Kept Clean - Lou Reed
    • 6. Ommie Wise Pt. 1 & 2 - Kate & Anna McGarrigle/Elvis Costello
    • 7. Fatal Flower Garden - Gavin Friday
    • 8. I Wish I Was a Mole in the Ground - Bob Neuwirth/Eliza Carthy
    • 9. Fishing Blues - David Thomas
    • 10. He Got Better Things For You - Mary Margaret O'Hara
    • 11. Harry Goes a Courtin' - Robin Holcomb/Todd Rundgren
    • 12. House Carpenter, The - Mocean Worker
    • 13. This Song Is Love - Don Byron/Bill Frisell
    • 14. Shine on Me - Nick Cave
    • 15. James Alley Blues - David Johansen
    • 16. Single Girl, Married Girl - Petra Haden
    Format Compact Disc
    Spars Coding n/a
    Artists Various
    Dimensions 5.4x4.8x0.4
    Country of Origin United States

    Product Reviews

    5 Stars
    4 Stars
    3 Stars
    2 Stars
    1 Stars
    • Most Recent

    • wish i hadn't
      Verified Purchase

      do not bother. i bought this album/albums thinking i would have a great alternative view on the original harry smith recordings, boy what a waist of time. first of all the box set was expensive, even though it did come with a cool book and a couple of dvd's. it was a real let down. i sure it must of been cool to be at the concerts where these selected songs were recorded with todays pop/alt/indie stars, but do not waste your money on this expensive box set. do your self a favor and just buy the original harry smith anthology of american folk music. it is cheaper and you get the original artists with a bit of history thrown it. that is a much better way to go. overall i wish i would have stayed away from this "revisited" set, i would have saved close to $100

      Read More

    Questions & Answers

    Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.

    Shopping Tips & Inspiration

    Shipping & Returns

    Contact Information

    This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

    This product is not yet released, and is expected to ship on Oct. 24, 2006.

    This date is subject to change. In order to assure you receive's low price on this item, your credit card will be charged upon order placement. The item will ship immediately upon release.

    Standard Return Policy:

    Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

    FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

    For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

    ** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.