Read All Reviews for The Worst Hard Time: The Untold Story of Those Who Survived the Great American Dust Bowl (Paperback)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Oh...what a time!
    Verified Purchase

    My husband talked about this book a LOT both while he was reading it and afterward. It's an amazing chronicle of what happened during the dust bowl. Terrible times! Well-written book!

    Read More
    c1808 August 30, 2015
  • Great history
    Verified Purchase

    The price is less than the store's. It's a great history of the era.

    Read More
    kajee November 3, 2012
  • Very good historical read

    I really enjoyed this book. I did not know much about the period of the Dust Bowl going into this book. However, being from the panhandle of Texas I was immediately interested as it referenced many places I was very familiar with. Bits of the book get a little tedious (dust, dust and more dust!) But mainly held my interest very well. Would definitely recommend.

    Read More
    jo98502 August 13, 2011
  • gift
    Verified Purchase

    gave as gift, along with other items. this book was especially appreciated.

    Read More
    rhiannong October 3, 2010
  • Piece of History---
    Verified Purchase

    Tells it like it was..Dark days in our history about very hardy and determined people.

    Read More
    billy929 August 14, 2008
  • The Worst Hard Time
    Verified Purchase

    I grew up learning that the Dust Bowl was a difficult time for our country. Little did I realize just how much suffering and sacrifice the people in the region experienced. This book relates the true stories of the tremendous struggles of individuals and families that lived and died during this time. What true tenacity and grit these people had. The book educates the reader as to the hows and whys the Dust Bowl occurred. The author explains how the destruction of land, weather conditions and economic failure lead to this horrific time in the 1930's. If you read it, you will undoubtedly come away with a new understanding of the time and a great appreciation for those people. It's well written and a great book to own.

    Read More
    joy86 April 9, 2008
  • Fascinating read!
    Verified Purchase

    I loved reading about this dark period in this country's history--something I knew little about. I'd read about the Joad family's struggle in The Grapes of Wrath (which was made during the "final" year of this tragic event), but didn't know how they and their countrymen came to be in such predicament. Today when people blame their government for all ills that befall them, reading "The Worst Hard Time" might give them an insight into what their lives could be like if it really did betray them out of greed. The personal accounts by actual people who survived the period--and the dust!--are gut-wrenching. Timothy Egans has done a masterful job of blending facts and the experiences of the survivors. Great read!

    Read More
    sweetie10 December 4, 2007
  • Great Book
    Verified Purchase

    If you loved Steinbeck's Grapes of Wrath, this book about those left behind is important and fascinating.

    Read More
    March 19, 2007
  • Verified Purchase

    Read More
    Paula B. June 2, 2016
Sponsored Links