The Secret Life of Bees (Paperback)

Today: $12.18
Free Shipping*

Club O Gold Members Earn

$0.61 | 5% Rewards*

Rewards

GOLD

$19.95/yr.

5% Rewards

Earn even faster

Free Shipping

Never pay extra*

Exclusive Rewards

Save big-- up to 40%

Exclusive Offers

Straight to your inbox

5% Dining Rewards

Get paid to go out tonight

ITEM# 3016587
  • Delivery Estimate

    Select a Product Option to view shipping

      **Delivery date is approximate and not guaranteed. Estimates include processing and shipping times, and are only available in US (excluding APO/FPO and PO Box addresses). Final shipping costs are available at checkout.

    • Notifications

    Love this item?

    Save it to a list so you can find it anytime!


    Oops,

    something went wrong.

    Please refresh the page and try again.


    Details

    ITEM#: 3016587

    SUE MONK KIDD is the author of the New York Times bestselling novels,The Secret Life of Bees and The Mermaid Chair, and the memoirs Traveling with Pomegranates, which she wrote with her daughter Ann Kidd Taylor,The Dance of the Dissident Daughter, When the Heart Waits, as well as Firstlight, a collection of her early writings.The Secret Life of Bees has spent more than 125 weeks on the New York Times bestseller list and was adapted into an award-winning movie starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson and Alicia Keys.The Mermaid Chair, a #1 New York Times bestseller, was adapted into a television movie. Both of her novels have been translated into more than 24 languages. The recipient of numerous literary awards, Sue lives with her husband on an island off the coast of Florida.

    The multimillion-copy–bestselling first novel by the author of The Invention of Wings, coming from Viking in January 2014

    The Secret Life of Bees was a New York Times bestseller for more than two and a half years, aGood Morning America “Read This” Book Club pick and was made into an award-winning film starring Dakota Fanning, Queen Latifah, Jennifer Hudson, and Alicia Keys. A coming of age tale set in South Carolina in 1964,The Secret Life of Bees will appeal to fans of Kathryn Stockett’s The Help and Beth Hoffman’sSaving CeeCee Honeycutt, and tells the story of Lily Owens, whose life has been shaped around the blurred memory of the afternoon her mother was killed.

    When Lily’s fierce-hearted black “stand-in mother,” Rosaleen, insults three of the town’s most vicious racists, Lily decides they should both escape to Tiburon, South Carolina—a town that holds the secret to her mother’s past. There they are taken in by an eccentric trio of black beekeeping sisters who introduce Lily to a mesmerizing world of bees, honey, and the Black Madonna who presides over their household. This is a remarkable story about divine female power and the transforming power of love—a story that women will continue to share and pass on to their daughters for years to come.

    Specs

    ISBN 9780142001745
    Genre FICTION / Psychological
    Format Paperback
    Pages 320
    Publisher Date 2003-02-01 00:00:00.0
    Publisher Penguin Group USA
    Copyright Year 2002
    Height 7.75 in
    Wdth 5.0 in
    Thickness 0.5 in
    Unit weight 0.5 lb
    Language English
    Edition Detail Reprint
    Audience General/trade
    Authors Kidd, Sue Monk

    Product Reviews


    5 Stars
    6
    4 Stars
    2
    3 Stars
    0
    2 Stars
    0
    1 Stars
    1
    Advertisement
    • Most Recent

    • Good Read
      Verified Purchase

      I enjoyed reading this book. It was better than the movie.

      Read More
    • WONDERFUL BOOK TO READ AND PASS ON..
      Verified Purchase

      HUMANS LEARNING THRU NATURE,SUFFERING ,TRIUMPH AND SPIRITUAL RELIEF...

      Read More
    • The Secret Life of Bees
      Verified Purchase

      Love the story. Unfortunately, by book was missing 30 pages or so, so I had to return it.

      Read More
    • loved it!
      Verified Purchase

      The Secret Life of Bees in now on my list of favorites.

      Read More
    • substandered quality
      Verified Purchase

      when my duaghter took the book to school, she opened it up to find the first 30 pages were not there.

      Read More

    Questions & Answers

    Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.

    Shopping Tips & Inspiration

    Shipping & Returns

    Contact Information
    Shipping:

    This item will be delivered to you via USPS Trackable Media Mail or UPS Mail Innovations and will take from 2 days to 3 weeks from the time the item leaves our warehouse. *

    This product is not yet released, and is expected to ship on Jan. 28, 2003.

    This date is subject to change. In order to assure you receive Overstock.com's low price on this item, your credit card will be charged upon order placement. The item will ship immediately upon release.

    Standard Return Policy:

    Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

    FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

    For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

    ** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.

    Advertisement