Read All Reviews for The Omnivore's Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals (Hardcover)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews. Learn More

  • Excellent book.
    Verified Purchase

    Excellent book; arrived quickly in new condition.

    Read More
    bargnhuntr6 December 11, 2015
  • Omnivores Dilemna
    Verified Purchase

    Excellent book, everyone should read if they are at all concerned about our food supply. Informative, well written, entertaining.

    Read More
    suze101 February 26, 2009
  • Great book!
    Verified Purchase

    This is another terrific book by Michael Pollan - fascinating information on how food gets to us and all the in between scenes details. Highly recommended.

    Read More
    zozee June 1, 2007
  • A Fantastic Read!
    Verified Purchase

    This book is filled with tons of information for anyone interested in ecology, nutrition, and animal rights. Michael Pollan certainly does not preach but instead gives us the tools necessary to make conscious decisions about what we put in our bodies as well as an understanding of how choosing the foods we eat can affect the environment, our health, and even government policies.

    Read More
    verocifuentes May 1, 2007
  • Very Smart, Great details on the food chain
    Verified Purchase

    Wow, this easy read is packed with facts that will make you think twice on your next trip to the supermarket. Great!

    Read More
    timpav May 1, 2007
  • So interesting!
    Verified Purchase

    What a terrific book! Starts out a little technical, but moves into things I never knew about the way we grow, over-produce, manufacture and consume food!

    Read More
    lolabeanery April 6, 2007
  • What a read!
    Verified Purchase

    This is the best book I read in 2006. Clear and compelling writing style. Information for all to learn. Great information about where our food comes from and how it gets to us. Will make anyone think about what they put into their mouth to eat. Gives a jumping off spot for action. I now belong to a CSA. Will always look for a way to eat locally. And hopefully organic.

    Read More
    clem22 March 28, 2007
  • I loved it so much I'm buying several for gifts!

    I rarely buy books, being an avid library patron. I took the audio CDs of Ominvore's Delimma to the check out counter at my local branch and the head librarian raved about it. He was right, after I starting it I couldn't wait to get back into my car to listen to it. Now I amy ordering three to give as gifts! I had expected the author to bash the food we eat, but was pleasantly surpised to hear balanced views on the food we eat, how it is grown and aquired. It is the kind of book we all wish we had read as students, informative yet wonderfully entertaining. Not just facts and figures, but first hand experiences showing how things are in the food chain.

    Read More
    mellen11 November 2, 2006
  • important book
    Verified Purchase

    We are what we eat, and that is a scary thought based on the description of our "food chain" in this book. The book follows the growth of heavily subsidized corn (up to 40% of the cost of production) that is fed massive amounts of chemical fertilizer derived from oil (again, up to 40% of the cost of production). The corn then is fed to cows in confined, unsanitary areas. Since cows are not adapted to eating corn or the unsanitary conditions, they must be fed antibiotics to keep them from dying before slaughter. So why feed them corn if it's not good for them? Because it's cheaper. Why is it cheaper? Because the corn is subsidized, to the tune of $4.6b in 2005 (source: NYT on September 16, 2006). That's about $12-15 of tax dollars from every American. So what to do? Try to find beef from cows that ate grass, probably at a farmers market or a farm.

    Read More
    Anonymous September 18, 2006
  • Verified Purchase

    Read More
    xrebel December 15, 2016
Sponsored Links