Free Shipping* & 5% Rewards On Every Order* With Club O
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for The No. 1 Ladies` Detective Agency - The Complete Season (DVD)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Excellent casting and realization

    This marvelous HBO miniseries faithfully captures the atmosphere and charm of these beloved mysteries. My family read the books after enjoying this series so much, and while some parts of the books are moved around (the excellent first book, in particular, since so many strong dramatic developments are packed into it), the feeling of the stories and the characters is fully preserved. The charm and beauty of Precious Ramotswe, the prickly efficiency of Mma Makutsi, and the solid goodness of Mr. J. L. B. Matakone are very well-realized here. I so wish a second series had been made, but this production was a labor of love for director/producer Anthony Minghella, and he passed away shortly after its completion. The warmth with which he regarded this effort suffuses the entire production.

    Read More
    sacramentokaren November 26, 2012
  • positive review title
    Verified Purchase

    After reading the books, the television series was excellent. I really, really enjoyed the dvd collection.

    Read More
    cvonniec September 6, 2012
  • Brilliant series!
    Verified Purchase

    Brilliant acting, great location, wish they would make more episodes. Wonderful entertainment for the whole family.

    Read More
    dakotaka January 4, 2012
  • Love this series!
    Verified Purchase

    I read the series of books by Alexander McCall Smith. So also did my husband and many of our friends after I raved about how enjoyable the story was and how well it was written. I was shopping the "O" and didn't even know that a series had been made (HBO). I ordered the DVDs and we were thrilled when we watched. It was like being right there in Africa. The only disappointment was that there wasn't more! We have loaned these DVDs out a dozen times and even people who had not read the books could follow the story and loved the filming! Several people, ourselves included, have watched many times. It's like going on vacation and visiting an old friend in a faraway place!

    Read More
    speakthetruth June 30, 2011
  • Ladies #1
    Verified Purchase

    I had read all of the books about the 31 Ladies Detective Agency and enjoyed every one. Watching the stories on HBO was such a joyful experience. Most of the time, the book is better than the film, but not true on this one . You will want to watch this one over and over.

    Read More
    shumad August 26, 2010
  • Finally, an engaging series without blood & gore
    Verified Purchase

    It's a rare thing to say a series (or movie) is as good as the book(s), but that is the case here. Although the pilot drags somewhat, the individual episodes are excellent. As in the book, the humor is both intelligent and gentle, the morality is strong but not overdone, and there is a distinct lack of murder and mayhem. In a time when most detective shows seem to think we need to see exactly how a decapitation takes place, having a detective roust out adulterers, illegal bars and exploitive "daddies" is a welcome change. I have been showing episodes to my at-risk high school students during in-school suspension, and to my great surprise, they like the series (once they got past the accents). They almost stayed late to find out how one episode ended! I can truly recommend this series to anyone.

    Read More
    tamesclark June 2, 2010
  • 5 stars
    Verified Purchase

    I saw a few episodes of this and Jill Scott and Anika is soooo good in this and I didnt want to pay $49.99 at best buy so I am glad that it was on sale here at $XX so worth the $49.99 but glad I got the sale

    Read More
    tmichele May 26, 2010
  • love it
    Verified Purchase

    the movie was so good I just could not wait unitl I put the next DVD in look to buy the next season

    Read More
    budelove May 15, 2010
  • Priceless
    Verified Purchase

    I have been a fan of this series since day 1 but the price kept me from starting a collection. Overstock.com helped me. The quality of the DVDs are impeccable from the picture to the sound. Jill Scott looks wonderful (no glitches), it is just like watching HBO. The music is so smooth it makes you forget to hate Note. Highly Recommended even for new viewers who love mysteries!!

    Read More
    addy1 February 26, 2010
  • African Life
    Verified Purchase

    We thoroughly enjoyed this set of DVDs. It reminded us so much of what life is like in Africa and brought us many fond memories. We would highly recommend this set just because it does show how things are in Africa and also because it's so entertaining. The characters are very well cast and you can rest assured that it's authentic. We can hardly wait for the next season to come out. These follow the books.

    Read More
    maddog25 January 6, 2010
Sponsored Links