Free Shipping* & 5% Rewards On Every Order* With Club O
Today $11.71
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for The Help (Paperback)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Loved the book
    Verified Purchase

    Book was so much better than the movie

    Read More
    etkc September 2, 2016
  • Great buy.
    Verified Purchase

    Very good read. Book in great condition. Of course, the movie didn't do it justice.

    Read More
    ladynole23 March 10, 2016
  • The Help Bookj
    Verified Purchase

    This book was exactly as described. Great read--probably one of my favorite books of all time. Would highly recommend.

    Read More
    elana5 October 2, 2012
  • Very enjoyable Read
    Verified Purchase

    I enjoyed the book. Gave just enough background to make things interesting and not become boring.

    Read More
    13sue March 15, 2012
  • great product
    Verified Purchase

    this book from which the movie is based is a wonderful story and the product was in a very good condition

    Read More
    marieevecliche March 14, 2012
  • LOVED this book!
    Verified Purchase

    I had to read this book for my bookclub... would never had thought about it otherwise. Loved the book. Now I want to see the movie. All went well ordering this through Overstock - took about 10 days for delivery - so order early.

    Read More
    grammapat January 28, 2012
  • The Help -- Great
    Verified Purchase

    I enjoyed this book so much. I am not sure what I was expecting but it had a beautiful story and a heart warming ending.

    Read More
    whatonearthfor December 30, 2011
  • One of the best books I have read in a long time!
    Verified Purchase

    If you haven't read this book you need to! It really opened my eyes. An excellent book!!

    Read More
    debranc December 26, 2011
  • Really good book.
    Verified Purchase

    Enjoyed the book. My praise joins others. Transports back in time.

    Read More
    mrstee1167 December 21, 2011
  • Very entertaining and educational book
    Verified Purchase

    I have been on the waiting list at the library forever to read this book! I couldn't wait any longer once the movie came out. I knew O.co would have it in stock and at a good price. Of course, they did and I purchased it. So glad I did! The Help is a page-turner. Very well-written. I am only halfway through it and intend to finish it before I see the movie. I wanted to read it because it reminds me of my Grandmother, who was a housekeeper and a nanny. In her later years, she cleaned houses and was paid a whopping $12 per day! Once a month, my Mom would allow me to miss a day of schooI so I could accompany and help my Grandmother, in order to spend time with her. After the work was all done, we would go to lunch. I thought it was all great fun. The Help shows me my Grandmother's work through her eyes. I will also purchase the hardcover version to keep in my library. When I am done reading my copy, I am going to let my own granddaughter read it. The Help is a look back at the history of our nation, her people; and I want her to know about this era.

    Read More
    shopgurl55 December 7, 2011
  • The Help
    Verified Purchase

    The book was a gift purchase for someone else. I'm sure the person I purchased the book for was surprised by the gift, because they had to place their name on a list at the library for this book and they were told it was a 3 1/2 weeks wait. Overstock came through by sending the book within a week of ordering.

    Read More
    crewmember December 6, 2011
  • SLOW shipping
    Verified Purchase

    Great book, but it took over 3 weeks to arrive at my mom's home. If you're thinking of ordering this as a holiday gift this year, better order now or it won't arrive in time. It's late arrival missed my mom's trip.

    Read More
    cajundawg November 6, 2011
  • Great Book
    Verified Purchase

    Great story --- not quite finished yet, but can't wait for the end!!!! Definitely worth reading!!!

    Read More
    vllhank October 31, 2011
  • Very touching store
    Verified Purchase

    Read the book before you see the movie. It's a slice of southern life that will make you probably understand the grits culture down here.

    Read More
    smartcook95 October 12, 2011
  • Hard to put down
    Verified Purchase

    Aside from waiting over two weeks to receive it, I thoroughly enjoyed the book and could hardly put it down. It's sometimes hard to believe that this existed not too long ago.

    Read More
    babciaw September 27, 2011
  • the Help
    Verified Purchase

    Loved the book, I was born in this era, but never had 'help', I had friends that did, but they were not treated like the women written about here. This is a great novel, hard to put down.

    Read More
    hanhaley September 24, 2011
  • Book: The Help - good price even with the shipping
    Verified Purchase

    Book came within specified timeframe and in excellent condition. Good value. As described and delivery service good

    Read More
    ironb September 22, 2011
  • Excellent
    Verified Purchase

    I heard about this book the same way everyone else probably did... as it was remade into a movie. Haven't seen the movie yet and I've only actually gotten through half the book so far, but it is excellent. The author writes from multiple points of views. She easily switches from one character to the next and beautifully captures the colloquialisms of the period in old Mississippi. This book is painfully honest in illustrating the harshness of people's mentality during those years, but leaves the reader hopeful that it doesn't have to be that way!

    Read More
    michd01 September 21, 2011
  • great product at a great price!!!
    Verified Purchase

    A great deal on a book that is in stores for a much higher price!!

    Read More
    cherylldr September 21, 2011
  • Took awhile to get....
    Verified Purchase

    The book was in great condition & my friend loves it. It took almost 2 weeks to receive it....never had something take that long from Overstock before.

    Read More
    irishmama00 September 20, 2011
Sponsored Links