Read All Reviews for The Happiest Baby on the Block: The New Way to Calm Crying and Help Your Baby Sleep Longer (Paperback)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews.

  • Read it, somewhat helpful
    Verified Purchase

    I read Happiest Baby on the Block, Babywise, and Heathy Sleep Habits Heath Kids before I had my first baby. They each have a different approach, so going into it, you have to figure out an approach that works for you own family. For us Babywise was the one. Happiest Baby on the Block was a little too "attachment parenting" for us but I expect it would be perfect for some families. Our baby was sleeping 10 to 5 a.m. or so when I went back to work at 11 weeks and by 16 weeks had a firmly established schedule of 8 p.m. to 6 a.m. like a little alarm clock.

    Read More
    lvgirl111 August 21, 2013
  • A MUST for new parents!
    Verified Purchase

    I read this before I had my daughter, It's a must read for new parents! Many proven theories.

    Read More
    prilll October 4, 2010
  • Great Gift for new Mom
    Verified Purchase

    I love this book! Someone reccommended it to me and I LOVED it when I read it. I now give it to all my friends when they become a new Mom. It's so helpful for getting through the hard days when you don't know what else to do. Must have!!!

    Read More
    kt24 June 10, 2010
  • Read this before you have you baby
    Verified Purchase

    Great book and a must read before you have your baby. Practice the 5 S's to help you calm your baby crying baby...it really works!

    Read More
    bharley September 9, 2009
  • book
    Verified Purchase

    I enjoyed reading this book. I also advised my co- worker who is expecting to read this book. I cannot wait to use the information I learned to test.

    Read More
    riversidecaligirl November 4, 2008
  • GREAT gift for new parents!
    Verified Purchase

    I loved the info I got with this. It helped with our newborn from day 1! The book is great, but if you don't want to read...at least get the dvd. You won't be sorry!

    Read More
    dmc88 July 1, 2008
  • minders2
    Verified Purchase

    this is the best baby book and overstock has the best price. I give it to anyone who is having a baby. It's the only book that will help colicy babies.

    Read More
    minders2 May 14, 2008
  • A Must Have for Every New Parent
    Verified Purchase

    This book is a life saver for sleep-deprived parents of newborns. It's easy to read. If you're at your wits end, go straight to Appendix B. Then start working your way through the book --again, it's an easy read so won't take long to get to the principles he discusses. And it is very easy to pick up on the "5 S's" --a lifeline for calming any baby. I give this book to every expectant parent friend.

    Read More
    kjd2 May 3, 2008
  • Finally!
    Verified Purchase

    In preparing for the arrival of our first child I looked into many different books with tips on sleeping and schedules, etc. but none of them felt right to me- leaving an infant alone in their crib for hours and hours every day, letting them cry for 20 minutes, making them sleep when you decide and not letting them when they are tired, and the list goes on. Luckily our baby girl did very well from the very beginning and I wasn't looking for advise. A friend gave a rave review of this book so I got it hoping to be prepared if our second child was harder then the first. The theory and strategy presented in the book is the first that made sense and felt right. I will definately employ the strategy if needed in the future! : ) I can't recommend this book enough for parents-to-be or those with a difficult little one.

    Read More
    newmommy7 March 21, 2008
  • Happiest Baby on the Block
    Verified Purchase

    this book is wonderful! i'm now giving it to all my friends who are expecting their first baby. i couldn't have made it through the first three months (sanity intact) without this book!

    Read More
    kh711 January 2, 2008
  • good baby book! a parent must have!
    Verified Purchase

    This book was a gift so I was not able to look at in in great depth, but I have heard that is great! I look forward to reading it when I have my little one!

    Read More
    mom4838 December 8, 2007
  • Every Parent
    Verified Purchase

    Every parent should read this book. It's wonderful. I work with infants in childcare every day with many different baby's from many different backgrounds and home dynamics and it works for all of them. I give this book for baby showers and have purchased them for the center that I work in and for myself. Yes, Yes, Yes. Read and follow what is instructed and you'll be very glad that you did and you'll enjoy your baby even more and they you.

    Read More
    icerows December 1, 2007
  • Great Book for a new parent
    Verified Purchase

    The Happiest Baby on the Block is truly a great resource for new parents. We have an Emergency Room physician who swears by the concepts in the book. It is great and we can all use all the help we can get when raising our chldren.

    Read More
    susi53 November 7, 2007
  • made me the happiest mommy
    Verified Purchase

    i recieved this book as a babyshower gift and it was so helpfull that i just bought 2 as shower gifts for my friends....the techniquies really worked for me!

    Read More
    karlared September 14, 2007
  • Good Help to a new Mom
    Verified Purchase

    I had already had my daughter but bought this book when I was pregnant with my son. It was truly an eye opener. I understood how babies feel (finally) I even sent a copy to a good friend of mine who called me frantic one evening. She told me later that all the things that Dr.Karp recommened in his book helped calm her baby and keep her that way.

    Read More
    momab2 June 6, 2007
  • So TRUE !!
    Verified Purchase

    A lot of the suggustions in this book are 'key' to having a contented newborn. I read this book to look over for a pregnant friend and found that a lot of the 'tips' were just good old common sense that worked well on my three happy babies. A MUST for any new parent !!!

    Read More
    sisbeth May 29, 2007
  • Great gift for new parents
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this for my brother and his wife while they were expecting after seeing the Dr. on Dr. Phil. They read the book and said it was very educational. The baby is only two weeks old so I don't know how effective it all is yet, but they were happy with reading it.

    Read More
    llsd May 10, 2007
  • Happiest baby -a must have for new moms
    Verified Purchase

    This is definitly a must have for all new parents. Dr. Karp is an excellent pediatrician and has some valuable information in the book that will help any new parents get a better handle on parenting a newborn! Happiest Toddler on the Block is also invaluable for parents of toddlers! I highley recommend this book , in combination with some great swaddling blankets as a wonderful shower gift for any new mom!

    Read More
    Anonymous April 25, 2007
  • The Happiest Baby on the Block
    Verified Purchase

    The techniques are very simple. It doesn't take any time. For the baby's sense of security and for the parents peace, everyone needs to try it. It really works!!!

    Read More
    dinoz7 September 15, 2006
  • I bought this book for a girlfriend and she swears by it. Her baby is only a month old and was having trouble sleeping. After reading this book, she understands why her baby was having trouble sleeping. And she learned some tricks to to calm her baby down and put her to sleep.

    Read More
    January 30, 2006
Sponsored Links