Today: $7.91
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for The Elements of Style (Paperback)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Helpful
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews. Learn More

  • Will help your writing. Great tongue-in-cheek style in many of the examples. If you think you write well, you need this book!

    Read More
    January 30, 2006
  • Communicate in Style
    Verified Purchase

    For over fifty years "The Elements of Style" has been the writer's go to reference.

    Read More
    photographytom75 April 4, 2015
  • Best short writing style book
    Verified Purchase

    I buy multiples of this book to give to my students who are studying composition and English. A short, simple book on how to be a better writer. Truly a CLASSIC book. Price was fantastic on Overstock: I think I bought four.

    Read More
    azreview February 27, 2013
  • for school
    Verified Purchase

    Helped me with my writing skills and I still use it from time to time

    Read More
    jaye1carolina May 23, 2012
  • great reference
    Verified Purchase

    This reference book is a useful tool for effective writing. I started using it years ago for editing technical reports and letters. I just purchased numerous copies for my staff to help them brush up on their writing skills.

    Read More
    debraphilly May 9, 2010
  • excellent resource
    Verified Purchase

    This book is an excellent resource to all types of writers. The book is straightforward and easy to use. I keep it handy in case I forget any rules of writing.

    Read More
    richo1 February 25, 2010
  • Elements of Style
    Verified Purchase

    Great book for High School and College students. It has helped me a lot. My class also uses this book for essay help.

    Read More
    linzy7626 February 24, 2008
  • A classic that has some stong opinions
    Verified Purchase

    This classic tome on grammar and usage has been around for years. While some disagree with some stands the authors make, the overall lessons learned are essential to good language use.

    Read More
    bairdg3 January 16, 2008
  • Elements of Style
    Verified Purchase

    The book is very informative and useful if you are a writer, or just want to learn the elements of the English language. The shipping was extraordinarily fast. I literally got it the next day.

    Read More
    horrwrtr January 7, 2008
  • Great Book!
    Verified Purchase

    This is a very necessary companion if you are in college or simply need to brush up on your style of writing. Definitely recommend.

    Read More
    lanagirl September 24, 2007
  • Strunk and White The Elements of Style
    Verified Purchase

    I have owned other Strunk and White Elements of Style in the past and I mistakingly expected this one to be up to par with the others. Unfortunately, that was not the case. There is much that is omitted from this edition that is pertinent and essential to those who are serious about writing. Perhaps if I had purchased one of the more expensive editions available on the site it would have been more conclusive. Thus, I need to remember the admonishment of my late father who always said, "You only get what you pay for." So, do yourself a favor and invest in the editions that are priced higher, but ensure they are a totally different edition than this one.

    Read More
    illuminosity April 11, 2007
  • The Elements of Style - Strunk & White

    I have owned both the 2nd and 3rd editions of this fine reference. I recommend it for all who write, whether as novelists or for business communications "on the job." In fact, as part of an eight person department in a new job (and as witness to some frightful documents), I am buying a copy of the 4th edition for each of us. After I bought my first copy, this English language and grammar reference book has always been on my desk and used frequently.

    Read More
    hranonymous August 20, 2006
  • Love this book! Love this website! Two thumbs up!

    Read More
    January 30, 2006
  • an excellent little book -- should be required for all college students and anyone else who writes

    Read More
    January 30, 2006
  • Concise work about concise writing.

    Read More
    January 30, 2006
  • Loved the book!

    Read More
    January 30, 2006
  • Smooth transaction. The book is also in a good condition.

    Read More
    January 30, 2006
Sponsored Links