Today: $9.35
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for The Care & Keeping of You

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews.

  • Perfect book for a teenage girl
    Verified Purchase

    As a single dad its difficult to try to explain all the changes that an adolescent girl is about to experience; I know the mechanics but not the emotions etc. I thought this book was excellent in explaining all of this to my daughter and I think it made things less embarrassing and easier for her.

    Read More
    cebrady January 8, 2016
  • To detailed
    Verified Purchase

    Thought this book was a little to detailed for young girls.

    Read More
    hammett August 7, 2012
  • The care and keeping of you
    Verified Purchase

    This book is wonderful for young girl, to learn about their bodies and the changes that will take place. Very well written.

    Read More
    margie1904 March 1, 2012
  • Good book
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this book for my 9 year old daughter. We had already discussed the "big changes" that were on the way and this book was a good way to follow up our talk. She even wanted to read parts of the book with me. I liked that it was informative without being too graphic. Would recommend!

    Read More
    doodlebug28 August 25, 2011
  • Great discussion starter
    Verified Purchase

    This book was age appropriate for my 9 and 7 year old daughters and has helped us open up the discussion about bodies and the changes they experience around puberty in a way I had been trying to for some time. I love it!

    Read More
    carriek99 August 15, 2011
  • great read for 8-10 year old girls
    Verified Purchase

    this is a great read for young girls who want to know what will be happening to them. My daughter's pediatrician recommended this book to me and glad she did.

    Read More
    tjmj2 May 18, 2011
  • Greatful
    Verified Purchase

    I have struggled with my nine-year-old daughter trying to convince her she is growing up and now requires a little more personal hygiene maintenance. She loves this book. I think it is less embarrassing for her to read about it in the book. She now comes to me with questions and instigates conversation about her body and issues surrounding puberty. This book has helped her to feel more secure about her body I believe because it helps her to understand that her body has a purpose with functioning systems.

    Read More
    gratefulmother July 28, 2008
  • Haven't read these personally, but...
    Verified Purchase

    Bought these for an adolescent niece, so haven't read them myself. They appeared to be extremely informative, and the illustrations were great! The price was right and of course the shipping was reasonable and delivery quick.

    Read More
    kelly1020 May 31, 2008
  • great for tweens
    Verified Purchase

    This book was recommended to me by a friend and I bought it for my daughter's 10th birthday. She couldn't put it down and kept coming to me with questions!! It's a great overview for girls--a kind of what to expect in the next few years. The book opened up communication and it's been wonderful to have those teaching moments.

    Read More
    melissazc March 31, 2008
  • The Care and Kepping of You
    Verified Purchase

    This book was truly a Godsend to my daughter. We talked about her growing up and things that would and should happen, but being a kid she had questions about my information she needed verified. Typically a kid, right? Well, this book not only backed up my info, she actually asked me if I helped write it, it was so dead on to what I had been telling her! She read the whole book in one sitting and refers to it on and off when she thinks she needs to. She liked it so much she asked if I could get another for her best friend. I can't, it's not my place, but talking to her mother about it will be a good start to help the girl get the info she may need. I would recommend this book to anyone that has a preteen in early stages of puberty as a stepping stone to better conversations about growing up. It has helped us quite a bit in those talks. My daughter loves this book.

    Read More
    Anonymous March 29, 2008
  • The Care and Keeping of You
    Verified Purchase

    Great book-simple and right to the point. My daughter actually enjoyed reading this one! Thanks

    Read More
    sk45 February 26, 2008
  • The Care and Keeping of You
    Verified Purchase

    This Book is a great book dealing with Puberty for young girls. There are a couple of pictures in the book that my daughter thinks is disgusting. She hates the book right now but it will be there for her to look at and help her out when she goes through adolescence.

    Read More
    Anonymous January 10, 2008
  • conversation starter
    Verified Purchase

    good book for Mom and Dad to begin talking to daughters about their bodies and the changes they will go through. Bought it for my 8 year old grand-daughter.

    Read More
    dian0798 January 7, 2008
  • The Care and Keeping of You
    Verified Purchase

    Excellent book for young girls who are interested in growing up in today's world of issues. It is informative and has lots of data that is pertinent to today's issues of peer pressure and self esteem. Aneasy read for young girls 8-12.

    Read More
    thingey December 7, 2007
  • Fun and Informative
    Verified Purchase

    A light-hearted, informative, and fun "manual" perfect for preparing the "tweens' for what's to come and to answer questions they have now.

    Read More
    rosierab November 26, 2007
  • The Care and Keeping of You Book
    Verified Purchase

    This book is an excellent source of information. It's nice to read together and for her to explore on her own also. I gave it to my 9 year old in a "starter kit" I made for her. I included things she'll need when the time comes and some other things talked about in the book like her own hair brush, face wash & lotion, deodorant, a small manicure set, and even a new cd so she can dance to it for exercise. I put it all in a pretty box I got from a local craft store so she can keep it out of site of her younger siblings. This book includes everything a girl needs to know from top to bottom about taking care of herself and what kind of changes to expect from her body.

    Read More
    onemomtoanother September 17, 2007
  • Great Stuff
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this book for my Niece and she loves it . It is a very informational book for young girls going into womanhood. Not to hard to understand, very simple terminology, and Great Illistrations!! Thanks a bunch!!!

    Read More
    thoughtfullaunt May 8, 2007
  • great tool!
    Verified Purchase

    This is a great book for parents of girls heading into adolescence. It explains how a girl's body changes in the least embarassing & still factual terms. Easy to understand the language. My daughter & I read most of it together, then have follow up conversations about it as questions arise. Highly recommend

    Read More
    jlmnc May 2, 2007
  • The best book ever on girls' changing bodies!
    Verified Purchase

    My daughter was given this book and the companion journal. It is the best book I have seen explaining the changes girls will experience including physical and emotional changes. We sat down and read this book several times when my daughter was 8. She felt very informed and when the changes started she wasn't afraid and we were able to talk very openly about how she was feeling or dealing with situations. It is written in the typical Americal Girls format including "letters" from girls with Dear Abby-style answers. NO S*X-Ed INCLUDED! It is written for a prepubescent audience. It covers topics such as: emotional changes, keeping your body and hair clean, menstrual changes and the basic feminine products, breast development, body shapes (how we are all different), healthy diet, exercise and oral hygeine. I just gave this book to a single dad's daughter and we scanned through it together. It is the least embarrassing and most appealing book on the subject for girls that I have ever seen. Enjoy!

    Read More
    hmeschoolmom September 5, 2006
  • HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR PRE-TEEN GIRLS!

    My daughter LOVES this book. Answers all of her "girly" questions that she is too nervous to ask about. She gets on the phone with her friends who have it, and you can hear them in there saying "turn to page 32! can you BELIEVE IT?!" lol

    Read More
    cacopswife May 5, 2006
Sponsored Links