Today: $11.29
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for The Alchemist (Paperback)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews.

  • Great
    Verified Purchase

    Awesome read. The delivery time was fast and the item was in great condition!!!

    Read More
    Artissa S. August 28, 2015
  • Great condition and reasonably priced
    Verified Purchase

    Having not found this book at the library (wait times varied from 3 to 6 weeks) I went to Overstock.com and of course found it immediately. It was in excellent condition, the price was great and the delivery was fast.

    Read More
    paigejanet1 August 4, 2012
  • a little too moralistic
    Verified Purchase

    Your 14 year old might enjoy it; at 61 it didn't work for me.

    Read More
    odettesmom December 30, 2011
  • GREAT STORY
    Verified Purchase

    I LOVE THIS BOOK. DEFINATELY WILL BE READING A LOT MORE FROM THIS AUTHOR.

    Read More
    shopperinmi August 11, 2011
  • Great Book
    Verified Purchase

    Everyone should read this book. Follow your dreams and your heart will be right by your side.

    Read More
    kaispapa July 23, 2010
  • Alchemist - Awesome Gift!
    Verified Purchase

    Arrived fast and made a great gift - awesome book for anyone!

    Read More
    melaniek420 December 24, 2009
  • Great Book!
    Verified Purchase

    I went to overstock to load up on copies for christmas presents to all of my friends.

    Read More
    scleofe November 18, 2009
  • IT CHANGED MY LIFE

    Because of this book, i quite my job and decided to follow my dream. The road has not been easy, but I am glad I am in control of my destiny. I have never experience such peace. just like the book says and I believe on it, the universe will conspire to help achive what I want and dreamed of. Please read this book. IT IS BEYOND AMAZING.

    Read More
    priszena August 23, 2009
  • The Alchemist is a must read!
    Verified Purchase

    The Alchemist is my favorite book of all times. It was first recommended to me by a friend. I enjoyed the valuable lessons it thought me about myself. After shopping around on the internet, Overstock turned out to be the most affordable that I was able to purchase 4 more copies; 1 for my boyfriend, 1 each for my two closest girlfriends, and 1 for my brother. This book is a must read, heck it should be a part of your personal library. I guarantee you will love it, and your family and friends will love it too.

    Read More
    midwood April 11, 2008
  • Positive, all around good book
    Verified Purchase

    Short read with lasting affect. Entertaining and enlightening story. I was not able to put this book down; it is great for traveling or anytime. A very discriptive and vivid journey. An inspiring book that I will pass on to many friends.

    Read More
    fllmnrdr March 29, 2008
  • Loved this book!!!!
    Verified Purchase

    What a great read - I couldn't put it down. A must read for the book lover.

    Read More
    kimber0721 January 28, 2008
  • fantastic
    Verified Purchase

    I think this book is amazing. I feel everyone should own a copy. I have ordered it for all my close friends and family. Depending on where you may be in your life when you read this book will have a huge impact on what you take away from the story. I have read it twice with in a year and have received two different messages.

    Read More
    lmh1979 January 7, 2008
  • Great book Great condition
    Verified Purchase

    besides it being a great book the book came quickly and in perfect condition. i would like it to be cheaper but it was the best price i could find.

    Read More
    Anonymous January 1, 2008
  • The Original "The Secret"

    I read this book in Spanish, but I don't think the translation to English is too far off. This book has sold more copies than most books ever. Yes, including Harry Potter. This book was a sensation, translated (obviously) into many other languages. It's a story set back in time about a boy who wanted travel and adventure. He became a shepherd. He meets many people and begins to open his heart to learning what life's purpose is. The book emphasizes the connectivity among all living things and how love can transform anyone and anything. I promise it's not as cheesy as I'm making it sound. This is not a mushy love story at all. This is a guy who gets a lot of tough breaks and works hard to keep moving on to the next thing he thinks he should do. I think "The Secret" borrows and doesn't even quite capture many of the ideas shown in this book. It is very spiritual, although the concept of God is universal- the same God, different names for different religions. There is plenty of danger and suspense. It made me question how I make my decisions and live my life. It demonstrates the importance to "tuning in" to what's around you- the clues that tell you how to continue your personal destiny, legend, and journey. It says if you're not open to the signs of what you should do, you will never fulfill your dreams and your life's purpose. You do choose your dreams to some extent, but the book discusses how the universe (or God) knows your true dreams and will conspire with everything to give you opportunities to fulfill your dreams. Those who ignore the opportunities for so long don't get a second chance, so it's a wake-up call. I loved it. There's a lot to analyze on a literary level, if you enjoy doing so, even with just the names. Every name has some deep meaning in an old language like Latin. This is a very universal story, so you can personalize it well if you can handle that it's set in old times. It took a little time for me to get into it, but it might have been different if I had read it in English so there was no question about any word meanings. Knowing how much is hidden deep within the story, it would be more pleasurable to read a second time.

    Read More
    esperanzalives November 25, 2007
  • A Fable
    Verified Purchase

    Written in a fable style, very spiritual content. Nice to read. Messages that are not hidden at all. Light on the surface, with much deeper meaning on how to live your life fully. Quick and short. Could be read when down to uplift ones spirits.

    Read More
    hhijk November 18, 2007
  • Not my cup of tea.
    Verified Purchase

    Didn't realize it is a fable for adults. I'm too old for fables. Wasn't that impressed or inspired.

    Read More
    pth985 November 4, 2007
  • The Alchemist
    Verified Purchase

    Good adventure, builds well and culminates into an interesting story.

    Read More
    laf2951 October 29, 2007
  • Could Read It Again and Again
    Verified Purchase

    My Mom suggested this book to me and I am so glad she did. It is a vivid and colorful journey that was both insightful and inspirational. I have read it twice already and have gotten something new out of it both times. Paulo Coelho writes with an easy elegance that is captivating and speaks to the soul of the human experience. A constant page turner that is hard to put down.

    Read More
    altruisticdesign October 26, 2007
  • The Alchemist
    Verified Purchase

    Wonderful book, altho it is more a parable than a novel. Great message, very enjoyable reading.

    Read More
    charlime October 24, 2007
  • Excellent read
    Verified Purchase

    This book was an excellent read, though very "deep" subject matter. Really makes you think!

    Read More
    kimgolfwidow October 18, 2007
Sponsored Links