Today: $18.53
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons (Paperback)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
Club O Silver

Club O members earn Club O Rewards for writing reviews.

  • excellent
    Verified Purchase

    haven't tried it yet, but my initial review is that it is a diligent and purposeful beginning, it is for my daughter who plans to home school the grand children.

    Read More
    sccarnut April 26, 2017
  • Wonderful!
    Verified Purchase

    This is an amazing book, I used it 30 years ago to teach my children how to read. I had my children reading in less time then the actual 100 lessons. I bought these books today for my grandchildren, and my kids where thrilled to see this book again after so many years. The book is taught using the phonics method of sounding out words. It's amazing and I couldn't recommend it more highly.

    Read More
    dizzydebbie June 5, 2012
  • Excellent Teaching Tool
    Verified Purchase

    This book is an excellent tool for parents wanting to teach their child how to read. My 4 year old daughter responded well from the beginning. I have tried other reading programs without success. She started reading several words after just a few lessons. She gets so excited when she sees words that she can read in the world around her. We are about 1/3 of the way throught the book and she is reading 3 sentence paragraphs. I am not a teacher. I like that this book tells you exactly what to say and how to say it. It also tells you exactly what to say to correct a mistake that your child may make. My daughter has 100% responded to the symbols used and direction the book gives her. My oldest daughter learned how to read using a different method and struggled all the way through 2nd grade. This method reminds me of the way I learned how to read as a kid. I notice that my 4 year old is not having the struggles that my oldest had. When my oldest was at this stage, my 4 year old is reading better than she did. I 100% believe that this has to do with the method that is used in this book. I bought a copy for my friend and she is using it on her 4 year old. She was excited about the book when she looked at it. She had never seen a program like this that tells you exactly what to do and say. Plus, this book is very inexpensive. I was about to purchase a $300 program and stumbled upon this book. I thought, well it is less than $$$ so it is worth a try. I am so glad I did!

    Read More
    jen4444 April 17, 2012
  • Great Book
    Verified Purchase

    My son loves this book.. he's picking up the sounds and recognizing letters by their sounds so fast. He's four and he's picking it up a lot fast than I thought he would. I would suggest buying a kids writting tablet.. I didn't have one but now that I'm ordering a complete home school program for this fall, I'm order one, but I"m sure you can pick one up at walmart. I know were only on lesson 7 but he's already begging to do his school... that shows that he's actually enjoying the learning!

    Read More
    majesticsunspot May 11, 2011
  • Learn to read
    Verified Purchase

    The book took a little longer to get than I expected, but it is just what I wanted. I am looking forward to getting started with my 4 year old.

    Read More
    retta33 July 9, 2010
  • Very Good Book!
    Verified Purchase

    The systematic way of teaching child to read, not just merely memorizing to read a word but how to read a word.

    Read More
    savebygrace April 5, 2010
  • Book
    Verified Purchase

    This book has been very helpful in teaching my daughter to read. I was very impressed with the low price and speedy delivery. This was my first purchase from overstock.com. I will certainly order from them again.

    Read More
    kellyw4 August 15, 2009
  • Teach your child to read in 100 easy lessons
    Verified Purchase

    The shipping was quick and the book easy to follow. So far, I love it! I would recommend it highly. It gives a good opportunity for one on one time with the kids. As a former school teacher and homeschooling mom, I am pleased with it. Seems boring on first glance, but don't judge this book by it's cover!

    Read More
    scrappinmomma November 15, 2008
  • A MUST for learning to read

    I did this book with both my children before they learned a thing at school. My son at 4, my daughter was through with the book before her 4th birthday. They are both excellent readers and have been since doing this program. One of the great things is that children can begin reading actual "stuff" within the first few pages. No waiting to piece it all together after months of struggling with letters. My kids have never struggled with some of the "special" sounds that have to be taught in school b/c they learned what to do with them already from using this program... WONDERFUL is all I can say. No one could believe how well my 4 yr old daughter could read AND comprehend... and I have no other "schooling background" am not a teacher or anything. just a mom who took the time to use this program... 20 minutes/day for 100 days... (actually less, my daughter loved it so much, she sometimes wanted to do 2 lessons a day).. Cannot recommend highly enough!~

    Read More
    victronia June 16, 2008
  • A Must Have
    Verified Purchase

    we are at Lesson 13 in the book and my 6 year old is LOVING it. he likes the fact that after a few lessons, he is able to spell out some words and read them also. For mothers or fathers, before you start the book, spend some time reading the first few pages to get ready for the teaching and to minimize the amount of frustration ith your child.

    Read More
    khoolio97 June 11, 2008
  • Best method to teach reading
    Verified Purchase

    This is the single best method to teach a child to read that exists today. The research is crystal clear and completely in support of the Direct Instruction method encompassed in this book. Do yourself, your child, and your family a BIG favor and use this to teach your child to read!

    Read More
    docrwm1 March 19, 2008
  • lcastelli
    Verified Purchase

    My 5 year old loves this book! She loves to go through each lesson, which only takes about 10 minutes, and is so proud to show her daddy all the work she has done that day. She had trouble with other programs, but this one just seems to make sense. It is easy to go through a lesson with her and she was reading words by the 10th lesson. If you are a homeschooler or someone who wants to take a more active role in your child's learing, this book will be a great asset to your family.

    Read More
    alskdc March 3, 2008
  • Wonderful Way to Teach your child to read
    Verified Purchase

    My daughter is picking up on reading at an amazing speed and she is barely 4 years old. The lessons are the perfect length for her attention span, not too long. This is a great resource for parents wanting to do preschool.

    Read More
    schnigs February 5, 2008
  • a solid approach
    Verified Purchase

    Our 3.5 year-old son has been very interested in reading. This book was recommended by a friend with a similarly-minded son. Other early reading method books are much more expensive. This book is easy to use. Our son is really enjoying his daily (15 minute) lessons. After 20 lessons, he still enjoys it, and gets real satisfaction from what he's learning. He doesn't sit still for his lessons (preferring to jump on the couch and otherwise fidget incessantly), but he gives them his attention and he learns. My wife does the bulk of the teaching, but when I subbed for her, it was easy to follow the scripts and prompts. If your child is interested and/or motivated, this book is great.

    Read More
    xyoob January 16, 2008
  • Teach a child to read in 100 easy lessons
    Verified Purchase

    I am an elementary school teacher and I definitely recommend this book. My 4 year old son is reading and he probably would not be without the help of this proven method. I have recommended this book to many people, and they have found it elsewhere but at a higher price. Overstock's price was the best by far and shipping is always fair and fast.

    Read More
    reb111 January 2, 2008
  • Best reading system ever
    Verified Purchase

    I have taught reading for eleven years and this is the best system I have ever used with a student.

    Read More
    jennywenny October 5, 2007
  • Good idea
    Verified Purchase

    I think it is a great method, but your child has to be able to sit for 15 min which is hard. My almost 3 year old wasn't quite ready yet, but I plan on taking a break and trying again later.

    Read More
    hp0416 June 15, 2007
  • This is so easy, even for delayed learners!
    Verified Purchase

    With twins, & 1 who is delayed, I have found this book to be great! Even when they don't wanna learn, they learn! And they retain! And if need be, the lessons can be repeated, slowed down or sped up at will, making it easier when teaching more than 1 child with different learning levels. There are step by step explanations & the kids usually catch on quickly! Couple it with handwriting lessons and you've got a great, quick lesson program! I have found that the one on one training allows for immediate correction of poor sound pronunciations to avoid mis-learning! A great book for the homeschooled or not!

    Read More
    j1jenn April 29, 2007
Sponsored Links