Spike Jones - Strictly for Music Lovers

by Precision Series
Today: $21.37
Out of stock

Club O Gold Members Earn

$1.07 | 5% Rewards*




5% Rewards

Earn even faster

Free Shipping

Never pay extra*

Exclusive Rewards

Save big-- up to 40%

Exclusive Offers

Straight to your inbox

5% Dining Rewards

Get paid to go out tonight

ITEM# 3116525
    Notify me when it is back in stock!

    Enter your email address, we will notify you if it comes back in stock.

Love this item?

Save it to a list so you can find it anytime!


something went wrong.

Please refresh the page and try again.


ITEM#: 3116525

& His City Slickers. Includes 24-page booklet. Personnel: Spike Jones (vocals, tuba); Beauregard Lee (vocals, spoken vocals); Dr. Horatio Q. Birdbath (vocals, whistling); Del Porter (vocals, clarinet); George Rock (vocals, trumpet); Carl Grayson (vocals, sound effects); Ben Ghost Singers, Dick Morgan, Quartet , Boys in the Backroom, Ina Souez, Luther Roundtree, Paul Judson, Freddie Morgan, Elsa Nilsson, Jimmy Cassidy, Aileen Carlisle, Sir Frederick Gas, Country Washburne, King Jackson, Mickey Katz, Paul Frees, Red Ingle (vocals); Helen Grayco (spoken vocals); Dick Gardner (violin); Tommy Pederson (trombone); Willie Spicer, Mel Blanc (sound effects). Liner Note Author: Joop Visser. Recording information: Los Angeles, CA (08/08/1941-12/23/1947). Unknown Contributor Roles: George Rock; Willie Spicer; Frank Leithner; Mel Blanc. This four-disc set provides the ultimate guide to the musical madness of Spike Jones, the bandleader whose inspired insanity provided comic relief whenever the mainstream musical styles of the day seemed too serious. Along with his City Slickers, Jones specialized in parodic versions of material from the worlds of pop, jazz, country, classical, you name it--no genre was safe from his sonic terrorism. Instead of merely tacking funny lyrics onto a familiar tune, Jones took a comprehensive approach to musical mockery, filling his arrangements with everything from animal noises to shattering glass and revving machinery (was he the first proto-industrial artist?) for a truly unhinged effect. The wealth of vintage (1930/40s) material here, including Spike's deconstructions of "Tea for Two," "The Sheik of Araby," and more, makes it clear that he was the godfather of comedy in music.


UPC 604988990522
Type Boxed Set
Genre Comedy
Sub Genre Music Comedy
Producer Joop Visser
Number of Discs 4
Track Listing Disc 1
  • 1. Barstool Cowboy From Old Barstow
  • 2. Behind Those Swinging Doors
  • 3. Red Wing
  • 4. Covered Wagon Rolled Right Along, The
  • 5. Clink, Clink, Another Drink
  • 6. Little Bo-Peep Has Lost Her Jeep
  • 7. Pack up Your Troubles in Your Old Kit Bag
  • 8. Three Little Words
  • 9. When Buddah Smiles
  • 10. You're a Sap Mister Jap
  • 11. Never Hit Your Grandma With a Shovel
  • 12. Horsey, Keep Your Tail Up
  • 13. Camptown Races
  • 14. John Scotter Trot
  • 15. Love For Sale
  • 16. Moanin' Low
  • 17. Cheatin' on the Sandman
  • 18. Come Josephine in My Flying Machine
  • 19. Sailor With the Navy Blue Eyes, The
  • 20. Der Fuehrer's Face
  • 21. Hotcha Cornia (Hotcha Chornya Russian Folk Songs)
  • 22. I Wanna Go Back to West Virginia
  • 23. Water Lou (Drip, Drip, Drip)
Disc 2
  • 1. Shiek of Araby, The
  • 2. One by Jingo
  • 3. I'm Going to Write Home
  • 4. Hi Ho My Lady
  • 5. I Know a Story
  • 6. St-St-St-Stella
  • 7. Hotcha Cornia (Hotcha Chornya Russian Folk Songs)
  • 8. Down in Jungle Town
  • 9. As Time Goes By
  • 10. People Will Say We're in Love
  • 11. G.I. Haircut
  • 12. It Never Rains in Sunny California
  • 13. Wang Wang Blues
  • 14. My Little Girl
  • 15. Sound Effects Man, The
  • 16. Ragtime Cowboy Joe
  • 17. Vamp, The
  • 18. He Broke My Heart in Three Places
  • 19. Besame Mucho
  • 20. I'm Goin' Back to Where I Come From
  • 21. There's a Fly on My Music
  • 22. Row, Row, Row
  • 23. I Wanna a Gal Just Like the Gal That Married Dear Old Dad
  • 24. Jingle Bells
Disc 3
  • 1. Cocktails For Two
  • 2. And the Great Big Saw Came Nearer and Nearer
  • 3. Red Grow the Roses
  • 4. Jamboree Jones
  • 5. Whittle Out a Whistle
  • 6. Casey Jones
  • 7. At Last I'm First With You
  • 8. Down by the O-Hi-O
  • 9. Holiday For Strings
  • 10. Cocktails For Two
  • 11. Leave the Dishes in the Sink, Ma
  • 12. Serenade to a Jerk
  • 13. Drip, Drip, Drip (Sloppy Lagoon)
  • 14. Chloe
  • 15. Blue Danube, The
  • 16. Black Bottom
  • 17. Toot, Toot, Tootsie Goodbye
  • 18. MacNamara's Band
  • 19. Siam
  • 20. Liebestraume
  • 21. You'll Always Hurt the One You Love
  • 22. That Old Black Magic
  • 23. Mother Goose Medley
  • 24. Hawaiian War Chant
Disc 4
  • 1. Old MacDonald Had a Farm
  • 2. I Dream of Brownie With the Light Blue Jeans
  • 3. Glow Worm, The
  • 4. Laura
  • 5. Jones Polka
  • 6. Jones Laughing Record, The
  • 7. William Tell Overture
  • 8. My Pretty Girl
  • 9. Rhapsody From Hunger (Y)
  • 10. I'm in the Mood For Love
  • 11. When Yuba Plays the Rumba on the Tuba
  • 12. Blowing Bubble Gum, (I'm Forever)
  • 13. Love in Bloom
  • 14. Man on the Flying Trapeze, The
  • 15. Popcorn Sack
  • 16. Our Hour (The Puppy Love Song)
  • 17. My Old Flame
  • 18. People Are Funnier Than Anybody
  • 19. By the Beautiful Sea
  • 20. I'm Getting Sentimental Over You
  • 21. I Kiss Your Hand Madame
  • 22. All I Want For Christmas (Is My Two Front Teeth)
  • 23. Ill Barkio (Il Bacio)
  • 24. None But the Lonely Heart (A Soaperetta)
Format Compact Disc
Spars Coding n/a
Artists Jones, Spike
Dimensions 0

Questions & Answers

Yay! Be the first to ask a question about this product.

Shopping Tips & Inspiration

Shipping & Returns

Contact Information
This product is not yet released, and is expected to ship on Feb. 8, 2000.

This date is subject to change. In order to assure you receive Overstock.com's low price on this item, your credit card will be charged upon order placement. The item will ship immediately upon release.

Standard Return Policy:

Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More Details

FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.