Today: $20.13
Out of Stock

Read All Reviews for Shogun (DVD)

5 Stars
4 Stars
3 Stars
2 Stars
1 Stars

Filter:

All Ratings

Disclosures & Guidelines
Sort By:
Most Recent
  • Rating: High-Low
  • Rating: Low-High
  • Most Helpful
  • Most Recent
  • Coustomer.
    Verified Purchase

    I remember when the book came out, one of my favorites. I was happy when it came on TV & taped it on VHS, I still have it & when I thought it about time I watched it again I bought the disk set from Overstock; good choice. I'm on disk #4 now am enjoying as much as the 1st time. The price was right & I'm glad I now have it in my library.

    Read More
    Darrell C. August 9, 2016
  • Shome the Shogun
    Verified Purchase

    Best deal that I could find on the internet. Had to wait a little bit for them to restock but it was worth it

    Read More
    boworloseurhead October 25, 2012
  • Masterpiece at a master price !
    Verified Purchase

    The quality of this DVD set is better than the original TV series. Sharp, clear images with excellent sound. I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of this masterpiece. And the price was nearly half of what I had found at other sites. I highly recommend this purchase to anyone and look forward to enjoying mine for years to come !

    Read More
    wahoo1947 May 25, 2012
  • Shogun(complete mini-series) (DVD)
    Verified Purchase

    I was well satidfied about the description, sales process and delievery. It was painless. I would recommend the services of Overstock.

    Read More
    rogerhk January 4, 2012
  • 17th Century Japan = Awesome
    Verified Purchase

    This is the mini-series from 1980 that showed on television (admittedly before I was born). I have read that there are some scenes that were not included in this DVD set that had been originally aired back in the day. I don't believe these would have detracted from the story. The whole experience is addictive and phenomenal. I watched all nine and a half hours in two days. While the story is based on a novel of fiction, many of the events and basic information was taken from real life history of William Adams (Anjin-san) who was the inspiration for John Blackthorne (also called Anjin-san). Yes, he was actually the first and possibly the only white Samurai to serve in the old system of Japan before Samurai class was abolished. The story itself, however, is still an interesting show and highly recommended!

    Read More
    lunarcrystal September 8, 2011
  • Shogun
    Verified Purchase

    I watched this mini-series as a kid, when my dad was watching it, and loved it. It is based on the classic James Clavell Novel of the same name. Shogun is a great introduction to old Japanese Culture.

    Read More
    drenddragonspawn June 6, 2008
  • Worth watching again and again
    Verified Purchase

    This made for TV mini-series lends an excellent insight into Japanese culture and is so well done, it's worth watching year after year.

    Read More
    srant January 21, 2008
  • SHOGUN
    Verified Purchase

    This series does without a dought put you into the movie it also takes you on a ride that is unforgetable.NO SHORTCUTS enjoyable pace.When the last seen plays you WILL WANT MORE !!!

    Read More
    ronraven January 13, 2008
  • Shogun (Complete Mini-Series) (DVD)
    Verified Purchase

    I was having trouble finding this item but found it on overstock.com. Shipping time and convience was excellent. Gave item to husband for anniversary. He loved it and it was exactily the one he wanted. Detailed in english with no subtitles and in full screen as described. I will definitely shop overstock.com again in the future.

    Read More
    mannie12345 December 18, 2007
  • excellent
    Verified Purchase

    a very good mini series and was pleased with the background comments by orson welles. delivery was quick and timely.

    Read More
    djay999 November 30, 2007
  • As Good as expected
    Verified Purchase

    DVD is good quality. No problems. Clear and complete series with production information. .Item was Shipped quickly . Great history as well as good story.

    Read More
    vb772 July 16, 2007
  • Shogun
    Verified Purchase

    Just finished watching it today with my dad (we haven't had much time to watch it until this week) and it was great. Even though you can "tell it's old," as my dad put it, and though it timed in at a whopping nine hours and seven minutes, it was really very well made (especially for 1980), the story was great, it dealt with the historical and cultural aspects nicely, and it has Richard Chamberlain along with a whole slew of recognizable faces, Japanese and otherwise. For those who love Japanese period dramas, and who are willing to put up with the rather accurately expressed views of the non-Japanese people of that era as well (racism was quite rampant, even between all the Europeans), this is certainly worth looking into.

    Read More
    mkhz June 23, 2007
  • Shogun a Classic that never dies!
    Verified Purchase

    I am always asstounded by this movie! It shows a side of the japenese culture that is rearly looked upon by outsiders!

    Read More
    greg1111 June 4, 2007
  • Terrific, Picture Quality Better Than I Remember The Original TV Series.

    Read More
    January 30, 2006
  • Great made for TV movie. Stayed with the book, for the most part.

    Read More
    January 30, 2006
  • Overstock.com is the best place to buy movies and dvd's. I am really satisfied with the quality and price of my purchase. Thank you overstock.com !!!!!

    Read More
    January 30, 2006
  • This is one of the great mini-series to appear on TV. It's a great historical event and very entertaining.

    Read More
    January 30, 2006
Sponsored Links